MindyC
Member Since 2019
So Max has been on Lantus for about a week. He’s 8.5lbs, and the vet prescribed a 1U dose. I think we are already stuck in a drop low and I don’t catch it then bounce cycle. I have been gone all day, so have no numbers between amps (242) and +10 (72). I have about 1.5hrs until his shot is due.
I cannot postpone this shot. We postponed a shot over the weekend, then due to the schedule change from that his shot got screwed up again the next day. We’re resetting shot time by moving back either 30min per day or 15min per shot, it all depends on what we’re trying to schedule around. I MUST get him back on schedule, because we’re going to end up missing a shot due to me being at work or at soccer practice.
My gut is telling me 1U is too high for him. He’s only been on this insulin since last Thursday evening. I don’t have enough data to try tight regulation yet. Other than what appear to be bounces, he’s trending lower in numbers with every cycle.
So what do I do with this shot? Give .5U and reduce future shots to .75U and see how he does? Skip this shot altogether? I don’t think he’s going to rise enough in the next 1.5hrs to give a full 1U and not have him go hypo.
I cannot postpone this shot. We postponed a shot over the weekend, then due to the schedule change from that his shot got screwed up again the next day. We’re resetting shot time by moving back either 30min per day or 15min per shot, it all depends on what we’re trying to schedule around. I MUST get him back on schedule, because we’re going to end up missing a shot due to me being at work or at soccer practice.
My gut is telling me 1U is too high for him. He’s only been on this insulin since last Thursday evening. I don’t have enough data to try tight regulation yet. Other than what appear to be bounces, he’s trending lower in numbers with every cycle.
So what do I do with this shot? Give .5U and reduce future shots to .75U and see how he does? Skip this shot altogether? I don’t think he’s going to rise enough in the next 1.5hrs to give a full 1U and not have him go hypo.