4/17 Lucy PMPS=277;+2=295

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning,

Yesterday's condo

Yesterday
AMPS=166 (0.75u); +1=191; +2=182; +10=130
PMPS=133 (0.75u); +2=166; +4.5=203; +7.5=229

Today
AMBG=218 (skip) DENTAL; +21.5=248; +23.5=254
PMPS=277 (0.75u); +2=295

Thank you very much from the bottom of my heart for your support and vines for Lucy's dental in the past couple of days.
Today has finally come!!!

My plan is this.
We will leave for the appointment in about an hour, and I will have a consultation with the vet.
If they say they'll start Lucy's procedure right away, I may stay there.
Otherwise, I will come home. (I already told work I wasn't coming in today, but I'd have to work from home when I can.)
I'll keep calling them, and when they start Lucy's procedure, I'll go there again and wait there, so that I can be there when Lucy wakes up.
If they want to keep Lucy on IV drip for a few hours after the procedure, I may come home again to check on work.

I can't post from my phone, so I'll update every time I come home.

I've been trying to be as optimistic as possible.
I want me to emit positive energy for Lucy, so I've been trying to have only positive thoughts.
But once in a while, bad thoughts sneaks into my mind and try to replace the good thoughts.
Bad thoughts are so sneaky!!!!
So please help me.
Please picture in your mind Lucy happy and eating well without the ouchie tooth.
Please visualize Lucy doing well after the procedure.

Thank you again.
I really appreciate the LL vines and prayers. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - Positive thoughts please.

Sending healing light and energy to Lucy. I know today is scary for you, but I'm sure she'll do just fine! Sounds like you have an excellent dental vet and they won't let anything bad happen to your sweet girl.
Hands_Of_Light.jpg
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - Positive thoughts please.

Sending prayers for a successful and safe dental procedure for Lucy.
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - Positive thoughts please.

((hugs)) I know how nervous you are .. I was a wreck when mocha went in for her dental .. She had to have 8 teeth extracted but she did FINE!! And I know that Lucy will do awesome too .. it's just super hard on us beanz .. Update us when you can!
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - Positive thoughts please.

Thank you, Chris, Catherine and Devon.
And Thank you, Elise, for your suggestion in the yesterday's condo.

A board certified anesthesiologist is doing her anesthesia, so I'm sure she'll monitor everything including BP, but I'll ask to make sure.
And I'll also ask to keep her warm.

Lucy has sensed something's up and already hiding.
Poor girl.

Here we go.
I'm leaving now.
I'll probably arrive way too early, but it's the commuting time now and I don't know what the traffic is going to be like.
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - Positive thoughts please.

Sending HUMONGOUS positive vines for both you and Lucy and that her dental will go smoothly and she'll be back home safely with a healthy appy. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - Positive thoughts please.

Healthy Dental Vines to sweet Lucy today!

My thoughts are with you both as I know this is stressful.

My civies Loki and Fifi both had dentals last week. Loki had severe gingivitis and I can really tell the difference in his post dental behavior. He is feeling much better without his infection. Fifi had 2 extractions as she had cracked teeth. I was very concerned for her as she is 17. I am happy to say that she flew through the procedure with flying colors soaring. She is eating so much better now. I imagine that cracked or impacted teeth can be pretty painful.

Continued thoughts for you and Lucy. I hope you will both be home soon, resting easy.

Rebekah
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - Positive thoughts please.

Right there worrying with you Mariko...both 'da sugarboyz' have had dentals within the last year, they both did fine. KT lost 11 teeth, Dakota lost one molar and one canine. They're all healed up and doing wonderful now!

Lots of positive thoughts and prayers from here...

HUGS!
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - Positive thoughts please.

Sending more dental vines for Lucy. It sounds like you have everything planned out, now you just need to breathe!

9e4862ecb9e51e0fa523325c75cc3e2f.jpg
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - Positive thoughts please.

Endless prayers coming from us, too! You've planned this out so well, and Lucy is in excellent, caring hands. She'll be back home before you know it!
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - Positive thoughts please.

Sending perfect dental vines to Lucy today.
I am picturing her home and happily eating and purring.
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - Positive thoughts please.

Nom nom nom! That's how Lucy will be after she heals up from the dental. It sure helped Zener's appy to get rid of those bad teeth and it will help Lucy too. Calming vines for you, Mariko, and big hugs!
Liz
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - Positive thoughts please.

Sending positive thoughts and vines to you and Lucy!
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - Positive thoughts please.

Thank you so much all.
I dropped her off, and just came home.

They said that the anesthesiologist usually comes in around noon.
I asked them to call me as soon as they start, so I can head there.
I'll probably leave home again a little before noon anyway, so I'll for sure be there before she wakes up.

I asked everything I wanted to ask.
The dental vet said he doesn't foresee any complication as far as her teeth are concerned.
The anesthesia is more worrying part, but he said that the doctor who's doing her anesthesia is very very good and assured me Lucy's in good hands.
They said they've only had 2 occasions that they had to wake up the patient and cancel the procedure in the past 10 years with this anesthesiologist.

The vet said they'll monitor her BG too.
I said I skipped the morning shot, and told him her morning BG.
He said he may give her just a little bit of insulin, but if he did he'd monitor closely.
I told him that Lucy could drop like a rock when stressed sometimes and asked him to be careful.

Please keep your good vines coming for Lucy.
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - Positive thoughts please.

Piling on more vines and positive thoughts for sweet little Lucy. I hope the procedure goes smoothly and it helps her eat her fuds in the end. Calming vines for you, Mariko. It's going to be a long day, but she'll be home before you know it!
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - Positive thoughts please.

Sending many good dental vines for Lucy and calming vines for the bean. It sounds like you have a wonderful team looking after Lucy, and I just know she'll do fine. Keep picturing in your head how much better she'll feel when all this is over with and she's healed up. We probably won't need to send appy vines to her anymore! :-D

Hang in there, Mariko! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - Positive thoughts please.

Again, thank you very much for your support.
Your kind words and successful dental stories are calming me down.
My heart is finally starting to be convinced that it's going to be OK.

I'm going to leave home in a bit and head for the vet even though they haven't called me yet.
I'm sure they haven't even started yet, but it takes about 20 minutes to get there if the traffic is good.
The vet said the procedure would probably take about an hour, but I don't mind waiting there.

I'll update as soon as we return.
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - Positive thoughts please.

Change of plan.
I just got a phone call from the vet as I was driving out of my garage.
They said that the anesthesiologist wanted to keep Lucy on fluids a little longer, so they won't start her procedure until around 2pm.
So I came back home.
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - Positive thoughts please.

It sounds like they are monitoring her very closely. That should be comforting, Mariko. Sending hugs and more good vines! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - Positive thoughts please.

Hi Mariko, I'm just popping on to see how things are going. I'm sorry the wait will be longer for you, but I'm glad they are being so careful. Good positive vetty dental vines to Lucy, and comfort and hugs to you as you wait :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - Positive thoughts please.

I'm heading over to the clinic now.
I just called them and they said they'll be starting Lucy's procedure soon.
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - Positive thoughts please.

Sending prayers that all is going well with Lucy's dental. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - We are home. Q abt AB

We are home, and Lucy is doing good!!!!!!!

They said the procedure went really well.
She had 2 extraction, one of them is a canine tooth.
She had one extraction (canine) and one crown amputation.
She is alert.
She is wobbly but walking around.
And she was hungry and ate some food at the clinic, and a little more when we got home.
I am so so relieved.
She's doing much better than I expected.

I have a question about AB.
She's supposed to be on AB for 7 days, and I got Antirobe (clindamycin).
The vet didn't think the liquid one has any sugar in it.
It's for veterinary use, so he thought they didn't put any sugar in, but he wasn't 100% positive.
So I got both in liquid and capsule, and the vet said they are interchangeable, so if I can't get one form in, I can use the other.
I am wondering if someone can tell me if Antirobe Aquadrops has any sugar in it?
Capsule is a little too big to hide it in food, so I'll have to pill her by itself.
I'm not sure which one will be easier....
But if the liquid kind has sugar, I'll stick to the capsule.
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - We are home. Q abt AB

I read through this description of the drops http://www.drugs.com/vet/antirobe-aquadrops-liquid-can.html and there is no mention of any sugars. it just says it's in a "palatable" base for cats/dogs.

You could phone the company in the morning and ask.

So glad she's home and doing well.

Go easy on the food - like a teaspoon at a time every 20 minutes until you are sure she won't vomit. Anesthesia can slow down their gut motility and cause vomiting. You might also need to reduce her dose of insulin tonight.

With Clindamycin, you might want to give fortiflora or some kind of probiotic at the same time to prevent diarrhea and bacterial overgrowth. it's a great AB, especially for dental anaerobic bacteria, but it can be hard on the digestive system. i would start the probiotics asap. punkin had a lot of trouble with diarrhea from it and developed c. diff. prevention is easier than curing!
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - We are home. Q abt AB

I'm so glad Lucy is home and the dental went well.
dancing_cat dancing_cat

I'm not sure about the AB having sugar in it, but that's what I was given for Furball after her dental. I don't remember having any problems with it making her BG go up.
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - We are home. Q abt AB

Thank you, Julie!
I'll call the company tomorrow morning unless someone else knows the answer.

I've already started her on FortiFlora since 2 days ago!
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - We are home. Q abt AB

OK, I just took a tiny lick of the drop, and it tastes HORRIBLE.
It was really really bitter and had some really bad taste, and I couldn't even tell if it was sweet or not.
I think I'll do the capsule.
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - We are home. Q abt AB

I checked before leaving the clinic and she was around 240 or so.
I think I'll shoot the regular dose and monitor tonight?
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - We are home. Q abt AB

I'm so happy you are home and things went well! :-D :-D Pawsitive healing vines for Miss Lucy's mouth. Does she go back in a week for a check up?
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - We are home. Q abt AB

make the decision on her dose based upon whether or not she seems to be having a normal appy and is able to eat, plus her preshot number. i was always able to give punkin his regular dose, but many of the non-high dose cats seem to need a reduced dose to prevent low numbers in the pm cycle.

at least some people give a 1/2 dose in the evening after anesthesia.
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - We are home. Q abt AB

Hi Mariko,
I'm so glad that Lucy's dental went well. I was thinking good thoughts even though I was away from my computer all day. Lucy will feel so much better without the bad teeth. Clyndamicin is a very powerful antibiotic. It kills the good digestive bacteria as well as the bad bacteria. Edward had to take it once for an infection and the doctor neglected to tell us that he should take a probiotic, too. He didn't and his digestive tract was in chaos for months. So make sure that Lucy gets a good probiotic. She can also eat plain yogurt with active cultures if she likes dairy.

Have a good evening and give your girl some scritches from us,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - We are home. Q abt AB

I'd also see what her BG does between the clinic and PS time. Neko's BG went up between the operation and PS so I felt confident shooting full dose. But I've seen some cats where the BG came down in the in between hours.
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - We are home. Q abt AB

OK, thank you.
I'll decide based on her appy and number.
It's almost time though.

Wendy, yes we are going back there in a week to make sure everything is OK.
She lost only 2 teeth, but only one was extracted (canine), actually.
With the other one, they just amputated the crown because the roots was not infected and the bone was growing (or something like that), so rather than making a huge hole, they amputated the bad top part.

I want to give huge thanks to everyone for sending vines and keeping positive thoughts for Lucy.
You are all so wonderful. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - We are home. Q abt AB

I'm so happy Lucy is home and safe and eating. I agree with the feeding small amounts and the waiting to make sure on the dose tonight.
I always give the probiotics hours after I give the antibiotics, because if you give the probiotics first or at the same time then the antibiotics just kill the good bacteria that you just gave. At least that's the way I understand it.

I hope you two have a relaxful (if that's a word) and snuggily night. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - We are home. Q abt AB

Yep, liquid tastes AWFUL AWFUL and has alcohol in it. I'd definitely give pills. Clindamyacin is the normal ab given for dental issues. I used the pills but mine were tiny...

SO happy Lucy's home!
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - We are home. Q abt AB

I'm so glad you are home and all is well - YAY!!!! We had the clindamycin pills for Trix when she had her dental/extractions several years ago. Yep, they were tiny pills. Do you think Lucy would go for Pill Pockets?

Sending tons of healing and R&R vines to you guys!!!
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - We are home. Q abt AB

Yea, Lucy is home. I am glad the dental went well and is over.
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - We are home. Q abt AB

I'm so glad Lucy is home and things went well! Good luck with the ABs! Hopefully, her appetite will perk up with a mouth that feels 100%. :smile:
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - We are home. Q abt AB

I'm glad Lucy is doing well. I would base the dose on her numbers and how well she's eating.

There's no sugar in the drops but, like you said, the stuff tastes vile.
 
Re: 4/17 AMBG=218 // DENTAL - We are home. Q abt AB

Oh I am so happy Lucy's dental went well :-D She's going to feel so great eating with her new and improved mouth :-D :-D
Good girl sweetest Lucy!
I'm glad that stress is over for you Mariko :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/17 PMPS=277

Hi, Mariko, I've been thinking about you guys today ~ I'm so glad to hear the dental went well.
Sending vines for a speedy recovery :YMHUG:
Give your precious girl a gentle kiss for me ♥
 
Re: 4/17 PMPS=277

I checked her 30 minutes before PMPS and she was 254, up from the number I checked before leaving the vet.
And I offered some food and she was interested.
At PMPS, she was 277, even higher, so I gave her the normal 0.75 unit.

But I think the numbing stuff is wearing off now.
She was rubbing at her mouth, and she doesn't want to eat any more.
She did finish most of the 1st dinner.
I gave her the capsule. It's small in human standard, but it's much bigger than the other pills Lucy's used to.
She really hated getting pilled, and she struggled.
It's so hard with only 2 hands because I have to hold her head, open her mouth, and throw in the capsule.
It's harder because I'm sure some areas of her gum is raw and I don't want to mess with them.
 
Re: 4/17 PMPS=277

She ate the rest of the 1st dinner. :smile:
I think she was still pretty high when we came home, and now she's just feeling tired.
She's sleeping now, so I want to let her sleep for a while.
She usually gets the 2nd dinner at +1, but I'll delay it a bit.
I'll give probiotic with the next portion of dinner.

She got bupe during the procedure, so I want to wait a couple more hours.
She was still slightly wobbly at PMPS.
 
Re: 4/17 PMPS=277

Did they not send home some pre-filled syringes of bupe?

If she's in pain, she'll not want to eat. Usually they send some home for at least several days
 
Re: 4/17 PMPS=277

Chris, yes, they gave me some bupe.
And I always keep some bupe at home anyway.
I meant I'll want a bit before I give her a dose because she got it during procedure, and I didn't want 2 doses to be give too close together since she was still a bit wobbly. :smile:
Sorry I was not clear!
 
Re: 4/17 PMPS=277

And also, what I meant by the "numbing stuff" is the stuff they used to "freeze" the gum (nerve blocking?) during procedure.
I think that is wearing off, but I think the bupe is still working.....
 
Re: 4/17 PMPS=277

You could put Lucy's name in the first subject line. ;-)

How is Lucy doing eating without the canine tooth? The mouth rubbing could mean she is feeling the loss.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top