4/17 Kitty AMPS 96 - Gum Day Bad PMBG, help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy and Kitty

Very Active Member
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=12165

Okay, we'd prefer to start a little lower, but Jill said, start the trial on the next green pre-shot, and GREEN is GREEN! And in honor of GREEN, we're declaring this SPEARMINT day.

Food is a problem. I have mixed the old and new label FF to half and half -- I really hoped I could wean him onto the new label FF -- but Kitty is not interested. He barely ate this morning -- only what he had to ingest to clean the chicken dust off the top. I have just 8 or so cans left of old-label food. This are DEFINITELY not the conditions I would hope for during a trial. But we'll do our best.

I'm busy this morning going through all the good wishes everyone left us yesterday. The anti-jinx machine held them aside temporarily.

So the chewing begins.... nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
Re: 4/17 Kitty AMPS 96 - WE HAVE GUM DAY #1

Wooo Hooo! I bet you could hear that yelp if you opened your window since it came from just southeast of you here in TN.
Yeah for Kitty! I had your SS open all night so I could refresh it and see if you had a green AMBG, 'cuz I had an idea that today might be the day. Hee, hee!
 
Re: 4/17 Kitty AMPS 96 - WE HAVE GUM DAY #1

Thank you for that "virtual" support through the night, CD!!! Who knows, you could have helped shave those four points that made the difference. I believe!
 
Re: 4/17 Kitty AMPS 96 - WE HAVE GUM DAY #1

dancing_cat Woohooo! Chew Kitty Chew! dancing_cat

So may kitties chewing and partying! Good luck!
 
Re: 4/17 Kitty AMPS 96 - WE HAVE GUM DAY #1

Yay for Kitty.
So happy for you Kathy.
I heard that scream all the way to Canada!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Re: 4/17 Kitty AMPS 96 - WE HAVE GUM DAY #1

Sienne, there would not have been patient shaves without your patient guidance. :YMHUG: We are not naturally patient in this condo!!! bcatrun_gif
 
Re: 4/17 Kitty AMPS 96 - WE HAVE GUM DAY #1

Happy Day 1~! Knew you would make it here!! Chew Spearmint gum!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/17 Kitty AMPS 96 - WE HAVE GUM DAY #1

woooo-hoooooooooooooooo!!!!!

Way to go, Kathy and Kitty!

Good luck!

Remember, even if you see blue, NO SHOOTING until somebody tells you to. Use food as insulin now, if you see a higher number than you like, feed a small amount and test again in 3-4 hours.

Do you need Jill to send you a new pair of handcuffs?
 
Re: 4/17 Kitty AMPS 96 - WE HAVE GUM DAY #1

Yay Kitty!!!

Mr. Squishy...you can totally do this!!!!

Go Kitty Go!!!!

(((((Kathy)))))

I know you're going to need them (and apparently handcuffs????? :lol: :lol: :lol:) throughout this trial.
 
Re: 4/17 Kitty AMPS 96 - WE HAVE GUM DAY #1

Remember, even if you see blue, NO SHOOTING until somebody tells you to. Use food as insulin now, if you see a higher number than you like, feed a small amount and test again in 3-4 hours.

Do you need Jill to send you a new pair of handcuffs?

I can tell my secret now... I still get nervous with every syringe. So no, no handcuffs needed!! Just a fork. :lol: (And some food he likes would be nice. :roll: )

I totally do not understand how food can act as my insulin. But I do not question why. :mrgreen:

He didn't eat much breakfast, so I fed him at +3, and I will test at about +6. And yes, I am allowed to use plusses. It's +mark time.
 
Re: 4/17 Kitty AMPS 96 - WE HAVE GUM DAY #1

Yay Kitty!!!!! I was so happy to see you guys started the trial, wow 96, Kitty likes to live on the edge huh? LOL! Have a great caturday and chew that gum!!!!
 
Re: 4/17 Kitty AMPS 96 - WE HAVE GUM DAY #1

WOOOOOHOOOOO!!!!
Can you believe it?!?!?!
Day ONE!!!! :mrgreen:

Congrats on a wonderful start.
 
Re: 4/17 Kitty AMPS 96 - WE HAVE GUM DAY #1

I am feeling pretty nervous, folks. Not all kitties make it through trial. 96 is kinda high for a starting point. And let's remember, I am a GPW (genetically predisposed worrier).

so...

I plan to alternate fingernails with gum.

nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
Re: 4/17 Kitty +5 91 - spreadsheet help

He ate just a little at AMBG. I fed him at +3. Then he was hungry again at +5, so I decided to test first, and got 91. (phew.)

How should I record these events on the spreadsheet? I'm guessing it's important to state when he eats -- not so simple, since he grazes all day! :lol:
 
Re: 4/17 Kitty AMPS 96 - WE HAVE GUM DAY #1

(((Kathy & Kitty))) :mrgreen:
Happy Day 1 (((hugs))) food issues are soooooo frusturating, we have them here too :YMSIGH:
Congrats on your trial, Spearmint is a mighty fine flavor.. is it sugar free ;-)
 
Re: 4/17 Kitty AMPS 96 - WE HAVE GUM DAY #1

ok..:mrgreen:


Yay Kitty! Congrats On Day 1!!!

Go Kitty, :RAHCAT Go Kitty! :RAHCAT

Just CHEW, Eat, and Chew! that's your job now.

...ok, AND sleep. Eat, Chew, & Sleep!


~betty
 
Re: 4/17 Kitty AMPS 96 - Gum Day Failed, help!

(((Kathy))) no failure here, see if you can play around with flavours, maybe a little tuna juice, you'll want to retest in a about 3-4 hours after the 119 to catch the drop.

It';; be ok, congrats on trial by the way. :-D
 
Re: 4/17 Kitty AMPS 96 - Gum Day Failed, help!

Breathe!

Then feed him and see where he is in the morning (because I'm sure you won't be up to test again in 3-4 hours).

And breathe!
 
I guess this is what everyone meant when they said, if you get blue, feed, then test in 3-4 hours. :oops:

I'll feed him SOMETHING.
 
Re: 4/17 Kitty AMPS 96 - Gum Day Failed, help!

Remember the "rules" -- do NOT concentrate on one number -- especially if it's a number that is still in the normal range. Under 120 is OK. Even a test or two that may be slightly over 120 is OK. Give Kitty a snack and test in 3 hours. See if he brings himself back down.

Go back and look at several of the OTJ kitties SSs. Many of them had blues in the early days of the trial.

And, most importantly, go pour yourself a glass of wine and STOP WORRYING! (And yes, I meant to yell that!) If you stress, Kitty will stress.
 
Re: 4/17 Kitty Fortiflora to the rescue

I have four sample packets of Fortiflora (THANK YOU HILLARY). Never had tried it, but this seemed like time. Fortiflora over one of my few remaining cans of old-label FF and - magic -- he scarfed about 1/3 can.

So NOW what?? How much Fortiflora can I use? Do I sprinkle it over the food or mix it in? And where the heck do I buy it???

I'll wait up 3 hours and test.

"Failure" is over-dramatic (even for me), but I'm bummed.
 
Hi, Jill.

Kitty has eaten about half the usual, and he was starting to reject even the chicken treats -- guess he was leery of what might be stuck to it.

I can't believe that my food supply has dried up at this crucial moment. All I have left to try is some 9 Lives DH picked up tonight at the market. I have Evo and Wellness, but Kitty doesn't like it and turns away from it.

I'm not sure what to do.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Remember the "rules" -- do NOT concentrate on one number -- especially if it's a number that is still in the normal range. Under 120 is OK. Even a test or two that may be slightly over 120 is OK. Give Kitty a snack and test in 3 hours. See if he brings himself back down.

Go back and look at several of the OTJ kitties SSs. Many of them had blues in the early days of the trial.

And, most importantly, go pour yourself a glass of wine and STOP WORRYING! (And yes, I meant to yell that!) If you stress, Kitty will stress.

Hi, Sienne, just saw this. Thank you. I just freaked, didn't I? 119 is high. But of course, it isn't like he started the day at 80.

I am afraid of the next test -- but I have fed him. And I will test. But I think I'll look at the SSs tomorrow and have the wine tonight! :YMSIGH:

p.s. We did NOT shoot. I remembered that much! ;-)
 
until you know how fortiflora affects kitty, i'd use it sparingly. it tends to constipate my kitties, but not all kitties react the same. your vet should have a supply of it. if you buy it online (amazon.com) it's usually less expensive. i read somewhere that the usual "dose" is one packet per day.

all you can do is try the flavors you have on hand. sprinkling food with parmesan cheese works with some. real bacon bits might work...
 
Drat, constipation? I only gave him about half a packet. I'll hold off on that. (He did love it, though.)

I did try to get him to eat all through the day, and he ate some. I just sat and sprinkled chicken dust over his plate, resprinkled when he'd eaten that -- if anything, he got a little too much dust. I probably connived about 3/4 can into him, but that's not much for him.

Could anyone suggest a food goal? He just ate about 40% of a can. How much more should I try to feed, and when?

I'll try the cheese too.
 
You can have the wine any time you want!

I've purchased FortiFlora from both Amazon and PetFoodDirect. Some vets will also keep it in stock. I don't know if any pet food stores carry it. Call around and see. Just be sure you buy the feline version -- it's a white box. I think the canine is black. When Gabby has had liquipoo, I've mixed one packet per day into her food. I don't think it matters if you mix it in or sprinkle it on top. Try it both ways and see what Kitty prefers. You may need only a pinch or two, especially if you sprinkle it on top. I'd let it sit for a minute or two so the food dampens it and helps to activate the smell.

I'd take a look at Dr. Lisa's site. In the obesity section she gives a formula for caloric intake. You can then use that to guide you regarding how much food to give. Janet & Binky's lists have the calories listed.
 
it's going on 11pm... i'd leave food out for him tonight and start up again in the morning.
eating almost half a can may just get things going...
 
I really did panic, I guess. I almost never administer something medicinal without asking first -- I shouldn't have given him so much Fortiflora. But I guess I shouldn't add Miralax to the next meal, huh? Poor Kitty.

Sienne, I was wondering more when his next meal should be. Should I just let this meal settle in until his test, and then feed him? Or leave food out? I'd like to give Mr. P a fair shot.
 
I feel awful that I didn't get enough food into him! I was wary of introducing a new food today, didn't want him to barf or anything, but that would probably have been a better choice.

I guess I'm not allowed to beat up on myself, so I'll go have some wine instead! Thanks for calming me down, everyone. Yes, Jill, we'll start again in the morning.
 
Stayed up, but didn't test -- because he ATE again. This time: FF + 9 Lives. He was so hungry. So it's only about an hour since the last feeding.

He won't be too low, and there won't be anything I can do if he's too high, so we'll wait until morning. I'm feeding a small snack again, and leaving out food. We'll see what happens.

Thank you, everyone, for putting up with my panic. I'm a silly rabbit. :oops: It will be what it will be.

Ni ni
 
I've been using forti flora with my civies to convince two of them to eat wet food. with the half of packet you sprinkled on, you should be just fine. no worries.

glad to hear it helped and it sounds like the 9 lives helped too.

looking forward to your amps.
 
ahh, Gum, brings back such memories! Good luck, relax, and don't fret about the #'s for a while. Just keep on keeping on. :)
Kim & Luck
 
LL HISTORY BULLETIN: Kim was the originator of "GUM" for OTJ Countdown -- She was afraid she'd jinx it if she said OTJ Countdown. :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top