4/17 Kasha AMPS 296, +2.5 54, +3 48, +4 46

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Very Active Member
She didn't have much of a nadir last night - lowest number I saw was 129 and that was at +1, so not really a nadir I don't think. She was fairly low at her PMPS (144) and after that initial dip to 129, she just slowly rose all evening (until I passed out cuz I was so tired after a horrendous week). I didn't suspect a fur shot, but I'm wondering now...

She wasn't terribly interested in eating this morning, got about 1 1/2 Tbsp wellness into her (with much encouragement), but then ate up a Tbsp of FF Mixed Grill after her shot (treat).

I'm going to lie down for a while - got to take one of the other kids to the vet for a prednisone injection in a few hours. The vet is only 5 minutes from my house but I need to rest up prior to that 5 minutes of screaming and moaning in the car...
 
Re: 4/17 Kasha AMPS 296

Your cat's nadir(midpoint in the cycle) looks like it's between +5 and +6...These are very nice numbers for a newbie!
Here is a chart of the typical BG curve:Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
It would be helpful if you could get some +3, +6, or any spot checks on the day you are off, as having this data will help you see where Kasha's numbers go during the day--OK? Have a good caturday! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/17 Kasha AMPS 296, 54 @ +3.5

I've been noticing she seems to hit her low pt around +4, unless I'm wrong. By +5 she seems to be rising again, at least on some days. Today, at +3.5 she's at 54. Whatever. Where did that come from? Nice to be back in green, I guess. I'll check again before I leave for the vet (for another kitty). Did someone say something about a day off? Ha - what is that?
 
Re: 4/17 Kasha AMPS 296, +3.5 - 54

Please give Kasha a snack. There's a good bit of momentum behind that drop. I'd also suggest re-testing at +4.
 
Yeah - I had 2 minutes to show her food and she licked it and went back to sleep. Then I had to go to the vet. She's done this before and always maintained well, so I knew I'd be back w/in 1/2 hour. On the way back from the vet I realized that her 54 wasn't at +3.5 - it was at +2.5. So, that was a bit of a shock, but I'm watching her now. I want to see what happens without intervention before I shove a snack in her face, since if it was a work day, I shoot and go to work just after. Any other day no one would be here to see this happen.

Question - I've been feeding and giving her a shot about 1 hour after to make sure she eats and keeps the food down. She will easily walk away from her food and go sleep if I'm not there to bug her. Is that a good plan or should I shoot closer to her feeding or...? I don't have time in the morning to stick around and check her +1 or +2.
 
Here's my thinking. I'd shoot and feed almost simultaneously. If you have that hour before you leave for the day, you can then get a +1 test.

I would encourage you to give Kasha a snack. Having your kitty surf in the 50s or 60s is a better place for surfing than the 40s. This is early in the cycle and numbers could continue to drop fast.

A drop into the 40s earns a dose reduction by our modified protocol. Or, if you want to follow the Tilly (Tight Regulation) Protocol, this would be your first of 3 below 50 readings to earn a reduction.
 
+4.5 - 56. I've seen this happen before with her - around +4 the number started to rise the other times I've watched. She's back in the 50s now on her own.

It's not that I'm trying to be a bad mom - I just wanted to see what would have happened if I weren't here. Since most of the time I'm not here. And since I could afford to watch her, if she'd gone below 45 or so I would have probably forced a snack, but it's nice to see that she stabilized on her own. Makes me feel a little better about all the times I'm not around to monitor her. I'm just not sure why she went so low today after surfing the 100s yesterday and having a higher AMPS. I'm thinking of keeping the same dosage this weekend when I can watch her, to see if it happens again. If it does, I'll reduce her dose definitely for the work week.
 
Just a question from your SS comments:

Kryscat said:
...I think I'm consistently giving the same amt. 54 at +2.5

Do you mean that you're shooting at +2.5? All times are measured from your shot time. So, +1 is one hour from when you shot.

Syringes in 1/2 unit increments will help you to be consistent. Or, you can set up one syringe as a template and measure the amount of insulin against it.
 
No - those were 2 different statements. I just wrote the "54 at +2.5" so that I would have that noted, since I originally put on the SS that it was at +3.5. I'm shooting at +0...
 
I created my profile! Even though it was easy, I'm still unreasonably proud of myself... LOL
 
Thanks for the clarification about the times and numbers!!

Great job with the profile. Now, if you could link it to your signature the same way you did with your SS, we could all see it and stop pestering you with questions. (OK, so I can stop pestering you with questions!!)
 
Ok - I think I linked my profile with my signature - does that look right? Are you happy now? lol...

Jeez - I didn't know this would be so much work, this forum. To think I spent almost a month just lurking when I could have been doing all this fun stuff!!!
 
looks like Kasha plans to cruise in for a nice PMPS.

Great job getting everything set up, it makes it a lot easier to keep track of where everybody is. :smile:
 
Re: 4/17 Kasha AMPS 296, PMPS 182

Oh, she was feeling so good today. She came into the living room to bug me for food a few hours ago, after stealing some food from another cat's bowl, and I was trying to "ignore" her so she'd stop begging. I knew if I gave her a snack, she'd never eat dinner. So, she walked over to her box that has one of the beds in it and was rubbing her face on it. All of a sudden, I heard a thump - and looked up from my reading, startled. She was lying on her side, looking at me. I thought, "oh no - what's wrong with her? ". She then proceeded to attack the box, jump up and run across the room. She hasn't done that in a LONG time. I followed her to yet another bed and she stood for a moment and then LEAPED over the bed into the kitchen (where she was leading me, of course). She hasn't done much leaping the past few years either, so that was pretty good to see.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top