4/17 Jupiter PMPS/230 +2/193 +4/147 +5/136 +6/152

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Yesterdays Condo : viewtopic.php?f=9&t=93415


Yuck - thats a pretty high number for AMPS today.

Jupiter is doing really well with the food transition. We have 8 cans of shreds with gravy left - and after those are gone, I dont plan on buying anymore! (and 8 cans isnt too bad considering I mix it with pate and the 3 cats all share the food). He originally ate dry food with the wet canned food (shreds with gravy) as a special treat. The cats got so excited when I opened a can they went crazy! They wouldnt eat the pate though - they would only eat the shreds.

We started out giving the cats the whole can of shreds with a spoonful of pate mixed in. We did that for a day or two and then we added a second spoonful. We kept adding another spoonful every other day until it got to the point that we were mixing in 1/2 can of pate with every 1 can of shreds. I kept them on this ratio for a couple days and then kept adding spoonfuls. After a few days we were mixing in 1 whole can of pate with 1 can of shreds. I was so excited about the progress I had made that I jumped into the next part of the transition a little too quickly - I tried 1 whole can of pate with a half can of shreds - They wouldnt eat it - instead they meowed for more food - and wouldnt eat it at all. I got a little discouraged but Dian (and thanks for this Dian!) told me something like - go back to the old ratio and just keep doing the transition slowly - dont rush it (dont know how she worded it but I think it was something like that). So I went back to the old ratio of 1 can pate: 1 can of shreds for a few days. Once they were eating and enjoying it again - I started removing one spoonful of shreds every other day. We feed them the fancy feast pate now with the friskies shreds mixed in - and I mix atleast 4 (3oz) cans of that in with the 1 (5.5 oz) can of friskies. And with some flavors I use 6 cans of the fancy feast and mix that with 1 can of friskies. There are some flavors of the pate that Jupiter will eat without any shreds at all mixed in (ocean white & tuna, salmon, beef). He will occasionally eat turkey and giblets pate plain as well - but other times he will meow for me to get him food.

I am really happy with the progress we have made!! I really hope he will be completely transitioned off the shreds by the time these last 8 cans are gone. I dont even understand how he notices the difference as it is such a little amount! Jupiter and Ieleiana both love the freeze dried chicken treats but I cant get Little Rosette to eat them, or turkey freeze dried treats, or the tuna flakes. Next, I got to work on finding treats that she will eat!



Todays Numbers:
AMPS - 327
+2 - 318
+5 - 276
+7 - 306
PMPS - 230
+2 - 193
+4 - 147
+5 - 136



Recap of yesterdays numbers:
AMPS/239 +3/292 +4/311 +6/304 +9/272 PMPS/326 +3/259 +6/305
 
Re: 4/17 Jupiter AMPS/327

Very good progress, indeed! Dian is right. You can't rush into transitioning a kitty to a new food too quickly, otherwise they'll protest just like yours did. Also, to transition quickly to a new food may result in diarrhea, and that's something nobody wants. :lol: It's also easier on their systems, too. Hoping that his #s come down in the coming days, and I hope that he at least gives you a nice surf in the :mrgreen: #s. Have a great day!
 
Re: 4/17 Jupiter AMPS/327

I actually got him to eat some chicken pate without shreds mixed in - just sprinkled some of the freeze dried treat crumbs on top and he loved it! When the bag was almost empty dumped all the little crumbs left into a little container
 
Re: 4/17 Jupiter AMPS/327 +2/318 +5/276

Happy to see atleast a yellow number today. His numbers have been high for quite a bit now..
 
Re: 4/17 Jupiter AMPS/327 +2/318 +5/276 +7/306

Jupiters numbers have been high again for a while.. wondering when the next dose increase will be? Or does this dose still need more time?
 
Re: 4/17 Jupiter AMPS/327 +2/318 +5/276 +7/306 Dose Question

It looks to me like Jupiter hasn't cleared the bounce yet. A bounce can take in the neighborhood of 72 hours to clear. Some cats take a little longer. Once Jupiter gets used to spending time in lower numbers, the bounces should take less and less time to clear. It looks like today, he bounced off of yesterday's blue numbers. So, for now, be patient. As the bounce works its way out, you'll have a better idea of what this dose is doing. It's already brought Jupiter into green numbers and 72 hours later, brought him into blue.
 
Re: 4/17 Jupiter AMPS/327 +2/318 +5/276 +7/306 Dose Question

Thanks, Sienne. So Im assuming theres a possibility his numbers will go lower again tonight or tomorrow? I really hope he quits all this bouncing soon!! I will remember to tell him later that hes not a kangaroo. lol
 
Re: 4/17 Jupiter AMPS/327 +2/318 +5/276 +7/306 Dose Question

Pssst! Whole Life Freeze Dried Fresh Chicken Livers. My civvie Delta wouldn't touch the freeze dried chicken at first, so I tried the liver. She loves it! Once she realized that those dried things could be yummy, she has also decided that the freeze dried chicken is good too.

Hoping Little Rosette likes the freeze dried chicken liver treats.
 
Re: 4/17 Jupiter AMPS/327 +2/318 +5/276 +7/306 Dose Question

Oh Jupie-poopie ;-) acting like that crazy kangaroo again are you?

Well the great news is that your food transition is going very well. I know it's been a long road with the food, but I think you're almost there. Another one of those awesome accomplishments you'll be able to check off the "I GOT THIS" list! :-D

I hope you have a smooth night with Jupiter and he decides that late tonight is the perfect time to clear the bounce - let's keep paws crossed for daytime on that one. :-D

Sending you anti-bouncy vines today and pro-green vines too. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/17 Jupiter AMPS/327 +2/318 +5/276 +7/306 Dose Question

Do you know where I might be able to purchase those treats? I dont think Petco had that flavor.. I really hope that if I can find those treats - that she will try them and like them.
 
Re: 4/17 Jupiter PMPS/230

I ordered mine online from Chewy.com but I know that Amazon also has them. Wag.com and petfooddirect.com also stock them. Shop around for the best price.

They crumble really easily so I break them up over a food dish. I also sprinkle some on the canned food when Wink is being a picky eater.
 
Re: 4/17 Jupiter PMPS/230 +2/193

Deb - Thank you very much for your suggestion. I am going to order some (hopefully tomorrow) and I am really hoping Little Rosette will try them, and like them.

Sienne, Thank you very for your advice. Looks like it was great advice once again! His numbers are going back down a little tonight!
 
Re: 4/17 Jupiter PMPS/230 +2/193 +4/147

His numbers arent too low yet- but still worried about the decreasing numbers tonight. Retest in 1 hour or 2 hours?
 
Re: 4/17 Jupiter PMPS/230 +2/193 +4/147

Hi Jamie!

Looks like it's you, Jupiter, and me again :-D

And I think he wants to clear his bounce :-D :-D

If you feel like staying up for a +6, that's probably a good test to get ...or if Dane can grab it. If you need to get some sleep, you can test at +5 and then we will see where he is...you might be able to lie down for a couple hours.
 
Re: 4/17 Jupiter PMPS/230 +2/193 +4/147 +5/136

I think you can give him until +7.

No hurry, Jamie, but when you get a chance, if you could do a Profile and post it in your signature block, that would be great.

Thank you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top