4.17 Frankie AMPS 190 +3 169 +6 95 +9 98 +12 77

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jay

Active Member
Oddly enough, his AM was relatively low, given the 1/2 can of Hills CD I gave him last night, which is really high in carbs.

Today we go shopping for a laxative (going to pick up Vaseline, he used to lick that stuff and I'd stop him when I caught him doing it, now he can have a little field day), Miralax and Lactulose.

Then to deal with the food issue so I can prevent him from or mitigate Frankie's propensity to develop chrystals in his urine.

Although the high carb food he last night when I brought hiim home, didn't send his bg's skyrocekting like the space shuttle.


viewtopic.php?f=9&t=12192
 
Re: 4.17 Frankie + 11 178

Jay,

I'm so glad you have your Frankie back home with you. My sister in law has a cat with the same problem. She had to hit upon a happy medium with all the stuff to keep things moving.

But I'm so glad he's back with you and his # isn't that bad considering all he's been through.

Hope he feels better.

jan and sara
 
Re: 4.17 Frankie + 11 178 +12 168

Good morning Jay and Frankie! Jay, I'm glad Frankie is home and I know you sure are!

I don't have to much to add to what was written in yesterday's condo, except I also use Miralax for Spot, however, I use a little more than 1/8 tsp. a day. He now get's 1/8 tsp. twice a day. Spot is a constant groomer and he get's constipated very easily. I find that this really helps him out and I haven't really had any problems with his bowel movements lately. I also give the civvies Miralax since I noticed their poo was a bit on the hard side, and it has also helped with that.

Hope you guys have a good day....along with those good numbers!
 
Re: 4.17 Frankie +12 168 AMPS 190

WHooHOooo!! Frankie"s Home!!--That is a good number today!
My anti constipation protocol: 10 drops olive oil mixed into am food plus 1/8 tsp miralax mixed in too-Food on top, mix well!!
6-8 drops vitacoat(omega 3 oil for cats) in pm food.
Oil keeps them moving, miralax really helps the constipation--my civvie also had a time with constipation last year..
Hope you find the right thing for Frankie--Good numbers today--If you are home..spot check :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4.17 Frankie +12 168 AMPS 190

Glad your boy is back home...don't forget to add the extra water when you use Miralax...I know you will be and keeping an eye out in the future to makes sure he is regular....good AMPS for him too, all things considered. So happy that he is home with you.... :thumbup
 
Re: 4.17 Frankie +12 168 AMPS 190

Roni and Moonie said:
WHooHOooo!! Frankie"s Home!!--That is a good number today!
My anti constipation protocol: 10 drops olive oil mixed into am food plus 1/8 tsp miralax mixed in too-Food on top, mix well!!
6-8 drops vitacoat(omega 3 oil for cats) in pm food.
Oil keeps them moving, miralax really helps the constipation--my civvie also had a time with constipation last year..
Hope you find the right thing for Frankie--Good numbers today--If you are home..spot check :mrgreen:
do you have any ideas on a low carb
substitute for Hill C/D which the vet made me buy to control Frankies propensity for crystals in his urine?
Brands and flavors are what I'm looking for
 
Re: 4.17 Frankie +12 168 AMPS 190

Keep an eye out on his numbers. Constipation can push numbers high and now that he is cleared out they could drop.
I think Frankie is starting to work very nicely with Lantus -- keep a look out for another decrease.
 
Re: 4.17 Frankie +12 168 AMPS 190

The only other food made specifically for crystals in the urine (probably more so than Hill's C/D), is Royal Canin Urinary S/O, although neither would be given the 'thumbs up' here :). On Janet and Binky's food charts it says that it's low in carbs but each time I've given it to Alex It's raised his bg's. The 4th ingredient is corn flour unfortunately because it did work well for Jackson and for other people that I know but I can't use it for Alex. So the key to trying to keep them(crystals) away from Frankie might be LOTS of water. Flood his food with water. You could talk to vet about S/O, it's an RX food also but could be that he just recommends Hills. It's only 4 carbs on the charts. It may NOT do anything to Frankies bg's at all.

Jackson has taken lactulose every day for years and it works great for him. And now that he's on the same diet as Alex i soup up his canned food with water which of course can't hurt anything for any cat.

Glad Frankie is back in the line up :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4.17 Frankie +12 168 AMPS 190

Nice numbers for Frankie.

In addition to relief from constipation bringing his BG down, I was wondering if he received fluids while at the vet. If he did, that can also bring numbers down for a bit afterwards.

I'm sure he's as glad to be home as you are to have him there. I know he's getting lots of extra scritches, that's powerful medicine in my opinion.

Gee, spell checker never seems to like the word scritches and I use it all the time. Do you think in time it will learn that's a real word? Okay, give Frankie some head butts. Hmm, THAT word it likes.
 
Re: 4.17 Frankie +12 168 AMPS 190 +3 169

It's great to see that Frankie is home! I don't have advice on the food or remedies, but it sounds like you got lots of good advice already. Have a great weekend with your boy!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 4.17 Frankie AMPS 190 +3 169 +6 95 +9 98

Here we are a +9 and he Frankie is having a good day (so am I finally, although I still keep flashing on Chubby) .
He did pass his stool earlier with no apparent issues...YIPPPEEEEE

As we head into the last 1/4 of this cycle, he will probably be too low for me to shoot at +12 comfortably (its not his comfort level at that BG but mine, I told you all I'm chicken)

I wont be going out tonight and I have been thinking that I should reduce his dose yet again and shoot a lower number. This monring I dosed him as he was on his way up +13 at 190 (2.5). As I am going to be around to keep an eye on him till I crash out, I am beginning to think that I should shoot lower then 190 (assuming he is rising), the real question is though, How big or little of a dose to shoot, if I catch him at 170 and rising?

As you can see, until I have a sense of how he reacts with a dose at lower numbers, I am willing to shoot at moderately lower levels (20 point intervals) till I get some history. Then keep on shooting at lower levels, while continually reducing his dose (or maintaining it as may be necessary)

For tonight the question is really ( he will be low at +12 and if he gives me any duration, as he has in the past, I am looking at dosing at maybe 9PM or 10PM, +14, +16 at 2.5) do I play with the time and wait for him to be in my comfort zone and shoot a reduced dose then, or do I shoot a reduced dose at +12 and how much of a reduction should I be looking at.

This is confusing I know. I am not a protocol zealot and I know that either I can wait to shoot as opposed to shooting at +12 on the button and catch him a much higher BG and give him his 2.5, or I can shoot at +12 at a much lower BG (assuming its not too low for my comfort) at a much lower dose. To do the latter I need a much lower dose, I think. (nah I know)

Any thoughts
 
Re: 4.17 Frankie AMPS 190 +3 169 +6 95 +9 98

I have been feeling the dose reduction coming. I'm trying to figure out the +hrs you are thinking about. You wrote them fine -- it's MY brain that fizzled ....
Can you write them like like a multiple question test for me? :roll:
+12 with a reduced dose
+12 with regular dose
+11 with reduced dose
etc.
 
Re: 4.17 Frankie AMPS 190 +3 169 +6 95 +9 98

Hi Jay,
You have seen what happens when you shoot nothing at these lower numbers. He goes waaaay up, right? What would you think about shooting a big chicken shot at +12, if its still too low for comfort instead of stalling? As you continue to hopefully see these lower pre shot numbers, your big chicken shot might go up a drop at a time until you collect more data.

When you shoot hours late (imho), I think it just messes things up more...mostly my schedule :lol: ...because you need to shoot @ +12 the next cycle and/or slowly make up time so you can get back on your schedule and with your life a little.

Of course, for comfort reasons, keep make sure you also have hc food (sounds like you do now), karo, and strips.

What do you think?
 
Re: 4.17 Frankie AMPS 190 +3 169 +6 95 +9 98

I should also add, you probably want to see he is going UP...so maybe catch a +11 and +11.5
 
Re: 4.17 Frankie AMPS 190 +3 169 +6 95 +9 98

Hi Jay. I just wanted to say I'm glad Frankie is home. And I'm sure he is most glad of all to be home. Great #s today. Keep up the good work.
 
Re: 4.17 Frankie AMPS 190 +3 169 +6 95 +9 98

D and Noisy said:
I have been feeling the dose reduction coming. I'm trying to figure out the +hrs you are thinking about. You wrote them fine -- it's MY brain that fizzled ....
Can you write them like like a multiple question test for me? :roll:
+12 with a reduced dose
+12 with regular dose
+11 with reduced dose
etc.


Its really too early to lay this out as I'm not going to test again for another hour.

If you think in these terms is might be a bit clear
Holding the dose constant at 2.5, should I wait till he is at a number that I am comfortable shooting at..like 170 and above, regardless of the time it takes to get there, or

Hold the time constant and shoot a much lower BG (which I probably wont be comfortable with), In this scenario is the dose that will be the variable. But, how low of a dose.

Does that make more sense?

He's been whimpering. Its obvious he misses his brother as he did pass his stool today without any issue. He's in my lap as I write this and as soon as I picked him up and put him in my lap he stopped crying. Amazing.
 
Re: 4.17 Frankie AMPS 190 +3 169 +6 95 +9 98

carolynandlatte said:
Hi Jay,
You have seen what happens when you shoot nothing at these lower numbers. He goes waaaay up, right?

The past few times that I had missed a shot becasue he was too low for my comfort level at 2.75. we didnt bounce very high nor very quickly.. Like 18 plus hours and from the low 100's to the mid 200's at his next scheduled time.

What would you think about shooting a big chicken shot at +12, if its still too low for comfort instead of stalling? As you continue to hopefully see these lower pre shot numbers, your big chicken shot might go up a drop at a time until you collect more data.

A chicken dose to me, is like 1 unit. But even shoot that dose at a very low BG (150 and under) is still unsettling to me.

When you shoot hours late (imho), I think it just messes things up more...mostly my schedule :lol: ...

mine too, which is why I'd skip the dose and start to get him back on track the next cycle

because you need to shoot @ +12 the next cycle and/or slowly make up time so you can get back on your schedule and with your life a little.

Of course, for comfort reasons, keep make sure you also have hc food (sounds like you do now), karo, and strips.

I have the same dry food, HC in a tim that is now maybe 4 or 5 years old. It only comes out when he is in trouble.

What do you think?

I've been trying not to think as I have been getting really bad headaches since I took Chubby to the Vet.
 
Re: 4.17 Frankie AMPS 190 +3 169 +6 95 +9 98

Well, Im not saying shoot or dont shoot.
BUT, I will say that this IS a potential opportunity - tomorrow is Sunday, no commitments?, got food? got strips? Couldnt be a better time...well okay, maybe during the day!

A bcs does not have to be 1 u. It can be anything more, or anything less. You could do a .25 or .5 even. Your choice!

Most importantly you need to do what you are comfortable with. Im a big chicken when it comes to shooting low. And my BCS are BIG....or rather should I say small.

You will make the right decision when it comes time.

Frankie sounds sad, like you. Im very sorry. Im glad you have each other and neither of you are alone.
 
Re: 4.17 Frankie AMPS 190 +3 169 +6 95 +9 98

carolynandlatte said:
Well, Im not saying shoot or dont shoot.
BUT, I will say that this IS a potential opportunity - tomorrow is Sunday, no commitments?, got food? got strips? Couldnt be a better time...well okay, maybe during the day!

Which is exactly why I posted the question 3 hours prior to his next shot. I know this is an oppty to try and shoot lower, and I dont want to really blow it, nor do I want to get totally focused on testing. We have been through a lot of stress, and anxiety the past 10 days as you know. He is whimpering looking for his brother. When I pick him up he is fine, He passed his stool earlier so his whimpering isnt from pain. Amazing right



A bcs does not have to be 1 u. It can be anything more, or anything less. You could do a .25 or .5 even. Your choice!

Most importantly you need to do what you are comfortable with. Im a big chicken when it comes to shooting low. And my BCS are BIG....or rather should I say small.

You will make the right decision when it comes time.

Frankie sounds sad, like you. Im very sorry. Im glad you have each other and neither of you are alone.
 
Re: 4.17 Frankie AMPS 190 +3 169 +6 95 +9 98

You know Jay, after my last response I was thinking about it as I was doing dishes. You two have been through so much lately. You are the best judge as to whether or not you and Frankie are ready for this opportunity. If not, there WILL be others.

You know your options and you know what is best for you two tonight. No pressure, or judgement with whatever decision you make.
 
Re: 4.17 Frankie AMPS 190 +3 169 +6 95 +9 98

carolynandlatte said:
You know Jay, after my last response I was thinking about it as I was doing dishes. You two have been through so much lately. You are the best judge as to whether or not you and Frankie are ready for this opportunity. If not, there WILL be others.

You know your options and you know what is best for you two tonight. No pressure, or judgement with whatever decision you make.


As if I have options...hehe...he is at 77 (20 points lower then +9) and been sitting under 100 most of the day. Its going to take a very long time even after food, which he is going to get now, before I would even think about even a token dose..This is wierd. Even wierder as this with eating Hill C/D which is loaded in carbs

Lately the last few hours of the cycle he has always been dropping +10 and +1. Its wierd.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top