4/17 Evey AMPS 117 +11 83 PMPS 94 +1 94 +2 61 +3 52 +4.5 49

I need to learn metric so I can read your sheet easier. ;) With TR I believe you should be able to shoot the full dose. Are you able to monitor?
 
I need to learn metric so I can read your sheet easier. ;) With TR I believe you should be able to shoot the full dose. Are you able to monitor?
There's a another sheet in US mgdl. I keep both so that it is easier for people to read it.

Yes, I am able to monitor her tonight. Is it safe to give her a shot at this low number?
 
Unless there's something I'm missing, with TR we can shoot anything over 50. Let's see if anyone else is around -

@Bandit's Mom

i am aware of that but because both my vet and a local diabetic cat support group said that I should never give insulin if the number is under 108/6. It's very dangerous. I got that idea stick in my head for months now. I am just very afraid and nervous to shoot at a number that is lower than 108. Sorry I kept asking for help when the preshot number is low but higher than 50
 
i am aware of that but because both my vet and a local diabetic cat support group said that I should never give insulin if the number is under 108/6. It's very dangerous. I got that idea stick in my head for months now. I am just very afraid and nervous to shoot at a number that is lower than 108. Sorry I kept asking for help when the preshot number is low but higher than 50
You did that right thing by asking for help! Keep a close eye on Evey to make sure she doesn’t drop too low and have carbs handy if needed.
Have a safe night! :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Evey drop to 52 at +3. I started following what @Bandit's Mom suggested me to do yesterday, feeding her 10g every hour starting at 22:05. I uploaded a file with all the details. I hope I'm doing it correctly so that her BG won't go down too low.
 

Attachments

  • Evey BG 04-17.png
    Evey BG 04-17.png
    188.9 KB · Views: 88
It's good you are feeding a little food every hour. That will help her surf green numbers :D
If she drops below 50 (2.8), try and get a test with a meter?
 
It's good you are feeding a little food every hour. That will help her surf green numbers :D
If she drops below 50 (2.8), try and get a test with a meter?

Yes. I just pricked her paw. Her BG was 2.7 with a meter at +4.5. When should her last meal should be? Can I feed her all meals before +5.5? Since she dropped under 50, I should reduce her dose to 0.25U tomorrow, right?
 

Attachments

  • Evey BG 2024-04-17.png
    Evey BG 2024-04-17.png
    177.7 KB · Views: 84
When should her last meal should be? Can I feed her all meals before +5.5?
There is no fixed time for meals. It all depends on the cat and the cycle. Ideally, you want to feed before the nadir since insulin action reduces after the nadir. However, nadirs can vary from cycle to cycle. In active cycles like tonight, you want to feed till her numbers come up comfortably over 50. Do you want to feed her slightly higher carbs (10-12%) so that you can go to bed at some point?

Since she dropped under 50, I should reduce her dose to 0.25U tomorrow, right?
Yes. Congrats on the reduction! :)
 
There is no fixed time for meals. It all depends on the cat and the cycle. Ideally, you want to feed before the nadir since insulin action reduces after the nadir. However, nadirs can vary from cycle to cycle. In active cycles like tonight, you want to feed till her numbers come up comfortably over 50. Do you want to feed her slightly higher carbs (10-12%) so that you can go to bed at some point?


Yes. Congrats on the reduction! :)

In active cycles like tonight, you want to feed till her numbers come up comfortably over 50.
Her Libre reading was 52 (2.9) at +5. Can I assume her actual BG is 2.7 since last time her Libre reading was 2.9 but her handheld meter reading was 2.7?

Even though nadirs can vary from cycle to cycle, but nadir happens before +6, right?
Is there a picture somewhere that shows what 0.25 looks like on a syringe? I tried to look for a picture but I didn't find it.
 
Her Libre reading was 52 (2.9) at +5. Can I assume her actual BG is 2.7 since last time her Libre reading was 2.9 but her handheld meter reading was 2.7?
I would go by the meter reading rather than the Libre reading. Also, you need to factor in a variance of 15-20% when looking at readings, so there isn't really much difference between 2.7 and 2.9.

Even though nadirs can vary from cycle to cycle, but nadir happens before +6, right?
Not necessarily. In a "normal" Lantus cycle, a nadir is around +4 - although some cats can have earlier or later nadirs. In bounce clearing cycles, nadirs can be much later - even as late as at the end of the cycle. Tonight, it's possible that Evey is close to her nadir and will soon head up from here.
 
I would go by the meter reading rather than the Libre reading. Also, you need to factor in a variance of 15-20% when looking at readings, so there isn't really much difference between 2.7 and 2.9.


Not necessarily. In a "normal" Lantus cycle, a nadir is around +4 - although some cats can have earlier or later nadirs. In bounce clearing cycles, nadirs can be much later - even as late as at the end of the cycle. Tonight, it's possible that Evey is close to her nadir and will soon head up from here.

Her Libre reading is at 54 (3) at +5.5. I think she is heading up. I'm gonna feed her the last 10g and go to bed. Hopefully it is not going to drop again. Thank you for helping me again. You're amazing!
 
Back
Top