4/17 Chi Chi AMPS 348 (Questions) +11 199 PMPS 233+ 2.5 286

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura&Chichi (GA)

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=117311
It has been 5 days since I saw a blue from her and 6 since a green. Its as if she is still bouncing or my insulin is bad. I have a question. If I get a new vial today and start it tonight, do I give same dose 2.5(she went low first dose see SS) or smaller, since insulin may have been bad last few days and I don't want her to get too low again? Should I give it another day or two before new insulin? I still have about 1/4 or more vial in this one. I tested for ketones and negative this am. I just bought these strips and first time using. Also I just opened new test strips 3 days ago. could they be bad? Im just wondering a lot and want her to come down! Any advice is appreciated, thanks.
 
Re: 4/17 Chi Chi AMPS 348 Questions

You can do a number of things, really...

1. Get the new vial, and wait to use it, and continue to use the old one (since nobody really wants to waste it, not even myself) to see if it continues to give you weird #s, or lower the #s.

2. IF you get the new vial today and start it this evening, it is recommended that you continue to give the current amount of insulin that you've been giving (the exception to that rule is if Chi Chi gives you a # below 50 (if you're a newbie, or 3 #s below 50 if you're a long term diabietic), or a # below 40, which is an automatic dose reduction by 0.25u). Use the new vial for a few days at least to give the new insulin some time to work in Chi Chi, and to see if Chi Chi's #s improve. IF not, then a dose adjustment may be required.

3. Check the bottle that the new strips are in. There should be an expiration date on the bottle somewhere. Normally, the strips are good for quite a few months, and shouldn't go bad that quickly. They can even be used past the expiration date.

4. Always be consistent with doses, and with feeding at the scheduled times. Abnormalcy may cause wonky #s, and much frustration. Just remember that whatever you change, be it food amounts, food times, different foods, different amounts of doses, etc., everything may make the #s go wonky, and you'll experience bouncing.

You also need to keep in mind that it takes a very long time for regulation to be achieved. Sometimes, and it's not that often, cats can get off the juice quickly. Sometimes they don't. Shawna's Davidson is one of those ones that is already heading in that direction, and I don't think they've been here for more than year, if that. My Blackie, who was diagnosed March 13, 2010, has been here for over 4 years. I'm NOW getting her #s to where they should be. I've been doing a lot of experimenting over the years. I have since learned that after watching her weight, and adjusting her food amounts, and times, that her #s are starting to improve.

Regulation of a diabetic kitty never happens overnight. A lot of us wish it did, believe me. If it happened, there'd be a lot more kitties going into remission. :lol: Patience is your friend... Not your enemy.

I hope that helps. Good luck!
 
Re: 4/17 Chi Chi AMPS 348 Questions

Hi guys .. Angela has some great suggestions for you .. I don't have any myself but will cross all fingers and toes that chi chi comes down and stay's down for you! I'm heading out of town today so have a great weekend!
 
Re: 4/17 Chi Chi AMPS 348 Questions

Laura --

Angela's points are well taken. Looking at Chi Chi's SS, you've been at this dose since 4/5. That's a long time at a dose that's not putting the nadirs in a range that you like. One of the benefits of the TR Protocol is that you evaluate the dose every 3 - 5 days. If the nadirs aren't in a good range, in most cases, you then raise the dose. Unless you see "floaties" in the vial, I might try a dose increase prior to starting new insulin.

I don't see where Chi Chi went low when you increased the dose - unless you mean back in March. Chi Chi hasn't seen that much green which is suggesting, at least to me, that more insulin is needed.

FWIW, holding on to a dose that isn't bringing numbers into a good range can allow glucose toxicity to develop. What this means is that Chi Chi's body treats the higher numbers as the new "normal." This can make it harder to bring the numbers down or may create a set-up for bouncing.
 
Re: 4/17 Chi Chi AMPS 348 (Questions) +11 199

Thanks for the advice and information! I was all set to see another pink tonight and I did sneak away from work an hour early to run home and test..I was so anxious! When I got home I looked at her and just could tell she wasn't too high because her fur looked good, not "greasy" and all smooth. My mom said she spent some time out by the pool which was another indicator she felt better. I also told my mom this am before I left, to stick to the same feeding schedule as normal and not to add extra meals( I had told her to feed extra, and smaller meals during the day thinking if she was going too low it would keep her safe. I thought for sure I would be going to refill the rx tonight. After several attempts, I got a 199, so I was pleased she wasn't too high. I am going to try and start teaching my mom to test once at 1:30pm, which seems to be her usual nadir. I told her this could be a huge help if she could manage it. She agreed to try! I have been using the lancet pen as it is supposed to be used lately instead of freehanding and it is much easier and I feel safer, since a few times she jerked her head and I was afraid I would rip her ear. Mom feels she could manage it also with the pen easier. So I will start tonight teaching her. One thing though is that Chi Chi isn't as accepting of my mom petting and handling her as she is with me. She will pretty much let me do anything to her! So baby steps and hopefully mom can be the key here with getting the missing data I so badly need! Wish me and mom luck! :smile: Oh, and I checked the dates on the strips and they expire 5/15
 
Re: 4/17 Chi Chi AMPS 348 (Questions) +11 199

it's usually not the insulin when we see higher cycles, although i think all of us suspect it sometimes.

one trick you can share with your mom - if chi chi wants to dash off after getting poked, once the blood wells up, your mom can move it off onto her fingernail and then take her time testing it.

we used the lancet device - i really liked it. I never did master free-handing. I read somewhere (i think the literature with the device) that if you have trouble getting the blood to well up, hold the lancet cap firmly against the ear for about 5 seconds before poking, then keep it there for another 5 seconds before removing it. that really did help.

i'd encourage you and your mom both to vary the times of the tests. instead of always testing at pm+3, sometimes get a +2 or +4. It helps a lot when we don't have large white areas in the spreadsheet. if you think her nadir is at 1:30, sometimes check at 11, sometimes 12, sometimes 1:30. it's better for data if it's not the same every day.
 
Re: 4/17 Chi Chi AMPS 348 (Questions) +11 199 PMPS 233

Thanks for the tips and advice Julie! I will def use the tips on the lancet device too. I am certainly not gonna hold my breath on the mom testing, but I can hope. She gets very frustrated and upset easily, has little to no patience and I was surprised she agreed to try. I know its going to take some time for her to probably get the first one alone without my help, and I cant force her or hurry her. She gets nervous watching me test. I will see how it goes and then if it works, will have her vary the test times, and I will do the same. My work hours are in my sig, so you can see my availability for daytime testing rather stinks! I know I must do better with the pm testing as well, but getting daytime test from my mom will be great too. I assured her we will go at her own pace and no pressure from me absolutely. She also has to start petting and touching the ears occasionally to get her used to my mom handling her. Thanks again everyone!
 
Re: 4/17 Chi Chi AMPS 348 (Questions) +11 199 PMPS 233

we started out with me doing all of it and my husband just helping to hold punkin. it wasn't too long before he agreed to try it, and before long he was an equal partner in all the care. well, except for the litter box! :lol: that's always been my job.

hopefully as your mom sits next to you, watches and pets Chi Chi, she'll get comfortable and be willing to give it a try.

i know you work long hours, i just mean when you are able!
 
Re: 4/17 Chi Chi AMPS 348 (Questions) +11 199 PMPS 233+ 2.5

good luck laura, chi chi, and mom! how precious to have ur mom help. very sweet. :) hope it goes well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top