4/17, Cashew AMPS ~ 326

Status
Not open for further replies.

cashewsmomma

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=12105

Good morning everyone,

I tried to do a blood curve throughout the night for Cashew and saw some interesting drops (please see SS). I think we may be in for a PM dose increase.. Also, I wanted to point out I have to give him a treat when testing his blood, normally it is a bit (smear?) of his wet food so he is busy with it while I do my work.

Anyway, I explained to the vet that the first meter seemed faulty and therefore I have reduced his dose for now and would like to collect more data before we started increasing. Even then,I would like to increase by 0.25 or 0.50 units etc - her initial response was that the difference between the old and new meter was not that much and based on his curve last week his dose should be increased. I sent her another email late last night on how I would like to collect more information before I do any changes and would like to come in and show them the kestone strip.

I tested his urine a 2nd time last night (put it right under stream) and it turned the lightest shade of pink on the bottle (so I am assuming this means he has traces of kestone) but later this colour went to beige (i.e. negative). The reason why I am asking is the strip kind of looks pink to begin with so I am not even sure if I am reading it properly (i know i feel like a dummy who can't even read a colour coded strip!!)

I am adding water to his food now, Cashew seems to be doing fine.I only got 3 hours of sleep last night so had my eye on him. He seems totally fine...

thanks you guys.
 
When I started testing Nova for ketones.. I kinda freaked because I thought she had them.. it was so hard for me to read.. then I went and tested a strip on myself (they are human strips after all ;) ) and the strip did the same thing.. so drink lots of water and experiment! :)
 
Please get another ketone test. You need to check the strip and compare it to the color code on the container 15 seconds after you test. Going back a while later will give you a false result. The instructions on the box/container should be very explicit in this regard. Ketones are not to be messed with. They can get very serious very quickly. Please increase the amount of water you put in Cashew's food or add tuna juice, chicken broth, etc. that he will drink. I really can't underscore how problematic ketones can be. Are there any other medical problems?

I'd also encourage you to continue to get spot checks today and to increase Cashew's dose to 2.25u tonight.

Also, could you please complete a Profile on you and Cashew? The info is in the Tech Forum.

I don't think the link to yesterday's condo is working.
 
I find the keytone test strips hard to read too. I couldn't tell if Boomer had traces or not so I tested myself and we were the same color!
 
That's a good suggestion, to do a ketone test on yourself to see if it's the same color as Cashew's. And please try to get another ketone test for him today too. It's really important to know if he has ketones or not, and how much.

My inclination with dose is to say that since you went ahead and reduced to 2 units, we might as well give that dose at least 6 cycles to settle in and see what it does. We can always increase from there if needed (it probably will be). However, if you get another positive ketone test, we'll have to re-evaluate that plan.
 
hi again,

I did the kestone test again just now and immediately went to stand in the sunlight so I could read the colour properly.I would say it is beige and NOT the pink colour (which meant traces of ketones). I am of course going to continue adding water to his food and test him whenever I can. Poor guy I just dropped him in the litter box to see what he'd do and he started to take a whizz.

Also, question about the strips- it says to shut the bottle asap after and not leave it open but if i am trying to get ONE strip out of the bottle without dropping anything, or touching the sensitive part and making sure i don't miss out on his stream! I am afraid I can't close the bottle asap. it will take maybe 10 seconds (is this a biggie)

What do others say about increasing his dose to 2.25? Do I do it now or wait it out. I don't expect the vet clinic to call back, the lady I spoke to seemed really short. I know my doc had been very busy as well so they must be just stressed out of their minds there right now but in the meantime i would like some more advice...*thank you*
 
I would wait until after the 4th cycle to increase. I think I misread the number of cycles. Cashew's numbers are still high and an increase is warranted. The concern is that if ketones are present, you don't want to reduce insulin.

A short interval like you described shouldn't effect the strips. I suspect the concern is more that you don't leave the container open for a couple of hours.
 
hi again,

thanks. No, he is on Day 2 of insulin dose being 2 units. So, I will wait a few more days and consider next increase. Hopefully, I would have spoken to the vet by then as well.

thx again

xo
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top