? 4/17 Bubby what is this roller coaster AMPS:414 +2.5/241 +5/287 +6.5/425 +8/348 PMPS/346 +1/278

Status
Not open for further replies.

LisaStew

Active Member
Bubby hasn't been feeling well yesterday and still today. I'm not sure if it's his ears or a herpes flare up or what, he just wants to sleep sleep sleep, but at least he is still eating. I bought some Zymox for his ears and it has .5 hydrocortisone in it. I until today when I looked it up didn't know hydrocortisone is a steroid. I haven't started using this Zymox yet but the soonest I can get the one without hydrocortisone delivered is Wednesday. I feel so bad to make him wait 3 more days when I know his ears are really bugging him. Does anyone here have any thoughts about using this product until the other one comes. I can't seem to get his BG down into the hundreds and I'm wondering if it's because he's feeling crappy or just need to raise his dose again.
 
The Hydrocortisone in the ear drops being topical is less likely to affect BG than steroids taken orally. Systemic absorption from the drops should be minimal (ie not much should get into blood stream and therefore not as likely to cause a problem with BG in theory) .

Hopefully some folk with experience with zytox will pop round soon.
 
It seems like It has been quite a while since we had a red this early in the day. Poor guy already feeling under the weather now 425 @ +6.5. I still haven't used the hydrocortisone ear drops hoping more people would chime in. It is a down day for us as on top of this I hurt my back while sweeping cat litter this morning. At least I can go to the chiro tomorrow for me but not sure how to help Bubby. ☹️☹️☹️
 
You can use the Zymox with hydrocortisone, but it may raise his BG. If his ears are really bothering him, you can start it until the other arrives and raise his insulin if it makes his numbers go up. Some cats are more sensitive to things than others. Unfortunately you won't know if it will raise his BG until you try it. I'm sorry he's feeling so bad and you hurt your back. Sending prayers.
 
You can use the Zymox with hydrocortisone, but it may raise his BG. If his ears are really bothering him, you can start it until the other arrives and raise his insulin if it makes his numbers go up. Some cats are more sensitive to things than others. Unfortunately you won't know if it will raise his BG until you try it. I'm sorry he's feeling so bad and you hurt your back. Sending prayers.
Thank you Carla. His ears have been getting worse over the last couple weeks. I had suspected a herpes flare causing him to want to sleep as he has been swallowing a lot, and he just had a sneezing spell. I think I will go ahead and treat his ears hopefully his BG won't go up much as it is already quite high today. Fingers crossed.
 
@Woodsywife
Paula do I remember right that Smokey has ongoing ear issues, perhaps you have some advice for Lisa and Bubby.:)

Sorry just seeing this now. Smokey and my other Tripper have had gunky ears for years . Tripper scratches to the point of bleeding. Vets always said just dirty gunky ears. Always negative for mites and bacteria. I've been cleaning them once a week with ear cleanser. When I took Smokey for his ultrasound at the ER I asked them to check his ears. They said it was yeast. Gave me the ear drops Tresaderm. Smokey one ear cleared up, the other still has a problem but so much better. He isn't shaking his head or keeping the ear folded over. Tripper I'm still giving it every 2 days now and then cleaning. She isn't scratching much at all now. I do not see these drops affecting Smokey BS. When I finish the bottle I will try the drops Carla mentioned for ongoing maintenance.
 
Sorry just seeing this now. Smokey and my other Tripper have had gunky ears for years . Tripper scratches to the point of bleeding. Vets always said just dirty gunky ears. Always negative for mites and bacteria. I've been cleaning them once a week with ear cleanser. When I took Smokey for his ultrasound at the ER I asked them to check his ears. They said it was yeast. Gave me the ear drops Tresaderm. Smokey one ear cleared up, the other still has a problem but so much better. He isn't shaking his head or keeping the ear folded over. Tripper I'm still giving it every 2 days now and then cleaning. She isn't scratching much at all now. I do not see these drops affecting Smokey BS. When I finish the bottle I will try the drops Carla mentioned for ongoing maintenance.
Thanks for letting me know what you are using. Bubby's ears are clean and don't smell they are a little pink looking. I went ahead and used just a little of the hydrocortisone drops in his right ear just to see what would happen. It was maybe a half dose. Always a good idea with him as he's had several bad reactions to food and drugs. It certainly didn't make his BG go up. I gave the drops at +9. Since then he's had two snacks and his PMPS was down. I don't know what to make of this 400 in the middle of the cycle.
 
Eleanor has had several ear infections, bacteria and yeast. The Quadritop ointment the vet prescribed for the yeast has a steroid in it and it raises her bg after the third or fourth application. Vet prescribed antibiotic drops for bacteria, no problems with that. I clean her ears now 2-3 times a week with EpiOtic Advanced to try to keep these ear infections at bay.

Eleanor's ear infections are sometimes triggered by allergy. Also she has a chronic calici or some kind of upper respiratory thing, only symptom is runny eyes, don't know if it affects the ears.
I tried Zymox in one of her ears once and she cried and her ear turned bright red. ECID though!
 
Thanks for letting me know what you are using. Bubby's ears are clean and don't smell they are a little pink looking. I went ahead and used just a little of the hydrocortisone drops in his right ear just to see what would happen. It was maybe a half dose. Always a good idea with him as he's had several bad reactions to food and drugs. It certainly didn't make his BG go up. I gave the drops at +9. Since then he's had two snacks and his PMPS was down. I don't know what to make of this 400 in the middle of the cycle.

Welcome. For years my babies were bothered and they don't smell. Although I kept asking vets kept telling me it's just dirt and you can't treat dirt. Well when I clean them sometimes I swear I'm getting potatoes out. So much crap on the ends of the qtips and I can go through a dozen per ear. It is definitely better with the drops. Hopefully soon all the yeast will be gone and can just give maintenance drops. The ER Vet said Smokey one ear was pretty packed and deep with it, and could take awhile.
 
Eleanor has had several ear infections, bacteria and yeast. The Quadritop ointment the vet prescribed for the yeast has a steroid in it and it raises her bg after the third or fourth application. Vet prescribed antibiotic drops for bacteria, no problems with that. I clean her ears now 2-3 times a week with EpiOtic Advanced to try to keep these ear infections at bay.

Eleanor's ear infections are sometimes triggered by allergy. Also she has a chronic calici or some kind of upper respiratory thing, only symptom is runny eyes, don't know if it affects the ears.
I tried Zymox in one of her ears once and she cried and her ear turned bright red. ECID though!

That's the cleanser I use. Then wait 24 hrs before using drops. Then do drops for 3 days, clean, repeat.
 
Eleanor has had several ear infections, bacteria and yeast. The Quadritop ointment the vet prescribed for the yeast has a steroid in it and it raises her bg after the third or fourth application. Vet prescribed antibiotic drops for bacteria, no problems with that. I clean her ears now 2-3 times a week with EpiOtic Advanced to try to keep these ear infections at bay.

Eleanor's ear infections are sometimes triggered by allergy. Also she has a chronic calici or some kind of upper respiratory thing, only symptom is runny eyes, don't know if it affects the ears.
I tried Zymox in one of her ears once and she cried and her ear turned bright red. ECID though!
Bubby also has either calci or herpes virus, upper respiratory flares. Mostly he swallows a lot, occasionally sneezes, his eyes get a tiny bit runny but everything is clear no goopy, some squinting and sleepier. The head shaking started at the same time as all these other symptoms back in early Febuary. Every time I would ask the vets they would say his ears looked fine and he never shook his head when he was at the hospital. But weather it's allergies or bacteria or yeast. Something is making him shake and scratch so I guess I'll try to find something to stop it myself. I heard of the Epiotic somewhere else as well. Glad it's all working for you.
 
Usually when a kitty needs a med for a condition, that becomes the priority and the insulin dose is adjusted to compensate. You're doing SLGS, so you would hold the dose for a week even if his blood sugar increases from the meds.

Good luck! I hope the meds help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top