4/17/20 Nermal 242 Failed reduction, or wait it out? +6=408!

Robin1

Member Since 2020
What is the actual definition of a failed reduction? We had a big bounce that seemed to start to break after 3.5 days, but we are still high. The last time that she was on .5U it took 6.5 days to get to normal BG, but in my naïveté, I overreacted and fed her at 80, then gave her honey at 62. I had a misunderstanding of what were good numbers. She has been on .5U for 12 cycles. Any thoughts?
 
Since you're on TR and you reduced 10 cycles ago, it's time for an increase. With TR you can increase every 6 cycles if you don't see any greens or nadirs below 200. Time for an increase on the next injection. Sometimes kitties will do this...Luci was a bad one for that...she would be going along and then take a quick dive on me...below 50 and 'lose her dose' that's what I called it. Then I had to reduce for safety's sake, and then her numbers were terrible...so back up we go. It takes time, but you'll get the hang of it.
 
Definitely get that increase in tonight. Please check those ketones again as well. Any trace of Ketones is worrisome and you don't want to ignore that.

Is she eating/drinking ok? History of Ketones previously?

Please be sure to check the TR methods and increase as soon as 6 cycles when not seeing any better numbers. You can post again in 6 cycles (3 days) to ask about increasing again as needed.
 
She was diagnosed with DKA when I first took her to the vet because she was lethargic and not eating. That is when I found out that she is diabetic. So the Precision Xtra should ideally read 0? I thought that ketones don't spill into the urine until around 2 on the meter. Is that incorrect?
Also, I don't know how to add the url of the last post. I am not very technically inclined.
 
Let's see if we can get some others with more experience with Ketones to look at Nermal's SS...
@Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie @Olive & Paula - do you guys have suggestions as to who else might be able to chime in on the ketones question.

As for the posting of the last url to the current post:

If you look at the very top of your browser screen you'll see this in the little box up there: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...all-the-time-please-help.228191/#post-2555590

Highlight it by clicking in it once, use the keyboard to click 'ctrl' 'c' (that's control/copy) and then move your mouse to the inside of your posting area - the whitespace and then click 'ctrl' 'v' (that's control/paste)...and don't ask my why it's not ctrl/p...I just don't know :rolleyes: that's the easiest way...

as you become more proficient you can use the little link symbol that's displayed here in the top box of every post to copy and paste with...if you type something like 'Thursday' and then highlight that link symbol, you'll see it open a box - and then you can paste this into it: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...all-the-time-please-help.228191/#post-2555590 and it'll make the word 'Thursday' into a link to the last post...I hope this is helpful..and not too confusing...
 
Any help would be greatly appreciated. I will try to figure out the tech stuff a little later because I have to go to an appointment soon. Thanks again for your assistance!
 
First, I’d like to make a correction for you. On a failed reduction you should not wait six cycles to increase the dose if it is apparent before then that the reduced dose is not working. How do you know that? If she bounces after you reduce the dose, the bounce clears, and she doesn’t come back down to green. Can that take up to six cycles? Yes, it can. But, if it only takes four, don’t wait six. And certainly don’t wait ten especially with a cat with a DKA history. Because she’s on a FS Libre, you have so much immediate data, and she’s post DKA, I probably would have been a bit on the aggressive side and taken her back up after four cycles of just pinks with no sign of the bounce even trying to clear. Please note that this advice is strictly for Nermal with her history of DKA.

Here is the info on blood ketone meters and when ketones start to show up on them but for quick reference, it is about 2.4. Paws crossed that all is well on the appointment.
 
Back
Top