JoyBee&Ravan
Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...3-331-8-260-pmps451-3-321-6-391-8-525.194214/
Looks like a repeat of the last increase?
Looks like a repeat of the last increase?
Last edited:
I wouldn't hold the dose longer than the 10 cycles. The more time a kitty spends in high numbers the more he/she gets used to it and the harder it is to break through it. I speak from experience having done that with Boomer after a dental last year. You test enough that you could be following TR, at least for a while until Ravan's numbers are lower.Does that mean to keep the dose the same for a Longer amount of time?
Yes...this! I couldn't think of the name for itInsulin resistance is something we see around here, but Ravan’s dose is too low that we would be concerned for anything like that just yet.
Glucose toxicity is a bigger concern. If the numbers are high and you hold the dose too long, you risk having a lot of trouble with anything changing on the next increase because it’s been set in as the new normal again. This can create a situation where you have to eventually give a higher dose of insulin than you would have if you increased as soon as you could on a dose that’s getting him nowhere close to where he needs to be. You’ll really want to consider getting ahead of that.
Poor word choice on my part. I was referring to the effects of glucose toxicity that create a lack of responsiveness to the insulin. Thanks, Stacy.Insulin resistance is something we see around here, but Ravan’s dose is too low that we would be concerned for anything like that just yet.
Glucose toxicity is a bigger concern. If the numbers are high and you hold the dose too long, you risk having a lot of trouble with anything changing on the next increase because it’s been set in as the new normal again. This can create a situation where you have to eventually give a higher dose of insulin than you would have if you increased as soon as you could on a dose that’s getting him nowhere close to where he needs to be. You’ll really want to consider getting ahead of that.
@Stacy & Asia
@Judy and Boomer
@Kris & Teasel
"This generally resolves with time using consistent dosing"
"inadequate duration of insulin is the underlying cause"
What are they referring to in this study? "consistent dosing " and "inadequate duration" ?




These don't work well in cats and, from what I've read here, can put undue stress on the pancreas by forcing insulin production (or similar - apologies if I have that wrong).Has anyone used insulin sensitizers or metformin? It stated these medications will improve glucotoxicity without elevating endogenous insulin or amylin.
2. Use of newer medications to decrease glucotoxicity without elevating endogenous insulin or the amyloidogenic amylin
Not sure where you've read this. It's true that very high dose cats have other medical issues like acromegaly driving their need for a lot of insulin. Those conditions take a toll on the whole body and I imagine the heart can be part of that.A lot of the cats I've read about with high doses get heart problems.
Right now his body is under stress because his BG levels are too high.So now to continually increase the dose seems to be putting his body under a lot of stress also
@Kris & Teasel
In June of last yr Ravan had blood work His Glucose was normal . THe following January blood work showed High glucose 500. He was started on Lantus within a week. (Ravan had not been in a car or to a vet in nearly 15 yrs The car & exam were "Extremely" stressful for him. I'm sure it raised his bg at that time of the blood test.
It's been 10 1/2 weeks that he's been on Lantus. It did seem in the beginning he was having a good response, some blue. His bg went up to 500 when I increase the dose.
So now to continually increase the dose seems to be putting his body under a lot of stress also. A lot of the cats I've read about with high doses get heart problems.
Has anyone used insulin sensitizers or metformin? It stated these medications will improve glucotoxicity without elevating endogenous insulin or amylin.
2. Use of newer medications to decrease glucotoxicity without elevating endogenous insulin or the amyloidogenic amylin






They used to tell you to shoot blindly for a couple of weeks, then come in for a curve. I think what we do is a better way.Did anyone ever think just because this is the way it's been done for a long time that maybe there's a Better way?
It's extremely common for cats to have an initial good reaction, then have it poop out. We have seen this dozens if not hundreds of times. Insulin is a hormone, not a drug. You have to keep increasing until you get to a breakthrough.It did seem in the beginning he was having a good response, some blue. His bg went up to 500 when I increase the dose.
I understand the stress; I totally do! When Boomer was first diagnosed we were 4 weeks away from a 2 week vacation. I had no idea what we were going to do and I was envisioning my boy having a hypo with no one around to help him since our cat sitter was only coming in twice a day. I was so stressed that I started having health problems.@Judy and Boomer
Thanks judy, i don't think I could handle the added stress of his bg dropping to hypo levels At this point I'm also worried about my health. If something happens to me no one is here to take care of my cats.
I'm Ok with increasing the dose every 5 days if that's required, I just want to help him & not make everything worse!
I know and I totally understand.@Judy and Boomer
I'm with ravan constantly. I love him! He has slept in my bed all his life. Now he sleeps downstairs ,alone. It's very upsetting for me to see him like this.





Did anyone ever think just because this is the way it's been done for a long time that maybe there's a Better way? The medical profession is like that. They stick with the same way they were taught & often refuse to even look for a better way. (If it worked for all these years for hundreds of people it must be OK.) Then someone comes along & finds a better answer. I don't know where to look but do you think there might be someone out there that is working on this? I'm not real good with the computer so I don't know how to look things up like that.

How long until shot time? That guideline says a reduced dose MIGHT be wise if the PS is above 200 but lower than you're accustomed to seeing. You've had yellow PSs and didn't reduce the dose you were at then. I wouldn't reduce tonight. You really do have to push out of your own comfort zone a little bit in order to get Ravan's BGs down. The negative effects of him staying too high outweigh the slim chance of you getting a low dark green number that frightens you. That dark green number is what you want. No one looking at your SS would say you're rushing the process.@Sharon14
I think I get most confused when i read the sticky's & SLGS states Hold the dose for at least a week:
Don't be tempted to rush the process along by increasing the dose more quickly or in larger increments-- no matter how high your cat's blood glucose is! Rushing towards regulation will cost you time in the long run, because you may shoot past the right dose.
Then several people say "you need to increase the dose now(5 Days) " After I read the sticky's I had my mind clear on what to do. Now I'm confused again!
My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
- Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
Ravan's bg is 198 now it might go back to 400 by shot time If his pre shot bg was 300 tonight According to the "Guidlines" I should REDUCE the Dose CORRECT?
we figure he was about 13 when he crossed the rainbow bridge. He was kind of “high mileage “ a neighborhood stray, intact male, about 5 yrs old when we took him in. FIV+ as well.