4/17-18 Hershey - PMPS(372) +4(179) +6(204)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
04/17/12
AMPS (348) +13.25 - Shot .8u at 4:30 - Double alarm clock. Set one and turned the other on :roll:
+4 (205)
+6 (184)


PMPS (336) +12.33 - Shot .7u at 4:50pm
+4 (244)
+6 (299)

Still don't understand why +11, +12, +13 doesn't really change PS we're shooting into...

Initially planned to hold this new scale for 5 days before increasing. We've just finished 4 days and I'm seriously considering going up by another .1u as of AMPS... Thoughts??

04/18/12
AMPS (324) :50 shy of +12 - Shot .7u at 4:00am - Decided not to increase dose since shooting almost an hour early is already like an increase
+4.5 (164)
+6 (156)


INCREASING SCALE by .1u each range
350+ .7u
300-349 .8u
250-299 .7u
200-249 .6u
180-199


PMPS (372) +11.75 - shot .9u at 3:45pm
+4 (179)
+6 (204)

****************************************

Ten years ago, a stray kitty found her way into my mother-in-law's yard. The grandkids were outside playing and we all thought this stray sure did look like one of Grammy's kitties, only thinner. We talked Doug's older brother into taking the cat home with him only to learn that she was pregnant. He said the only way he'd keep her was if we all agreed to take a kitten. My sister-in-law's friend took one, my other sister-in-law's co-worker took one, my mother-in-law took the only girl (Gracie) and we took Hershey. (Brother-in-law ended up giving the mother cat away because she wouldn't stop peeing on the furniture!)

Anyhoo - took this picture of Gracie at Easter. Including one of Hershey for comparison. I was in the next room taking this picture, wish I had had a better reference for size, but I think you get the idea -
 

Attachments

  • IMG_5307 forum.JPG
    IMG_5307 forum.JPG
    119 KB · Views: 471
  • IMG_5310 forum.JPG
    IMG_5310 forum.JPG
    499.8 KB · Views: 463
Re: 4/17-18 Hershey & Pix of him and sister

OMG, isn't Gracie just a full figured girl! She's absolutely adorable though.

Libby, on the +11, 12, 13 thing...
When is the last time he would have eaten prior to +11? It could just be that the BG just hangs around the same number because there's no fuel adding to the fire?
Today's AM cycle was nice. Don't get the PM cycle...
Carl
 
Re: 4/17-18 Hershey & Pix of him and sister

Oh Gracie is so pretty! She is a big gal. How much does she weight?

Hershey's coat is so shiny. He is beautiful!
 
Re: 4/17-18 Hershey & Pix of him and sister

Carl - Hershey always eats at shot time and +6. Yeah, Gracie's...'full-figured' ;-)

Jenn - I have no idea how much Gracie weighs. I don't DARE try to lift her! :lol: She can still jump from the floor to the seat of a chair :o Thanks for the kind words about Hershey. I was so sad when he had stopped grooming and was so greasy. I had forgotten how soft and beautiful his coat used to be
 
Re: 4/17-18 Hershey & Pix of him and sister

FINALLY caught him going! Neg ketones

Weight: 10.6 lb, up from 9.8 lb 3/28 :cool:
 
Re: 4/17-18 Hershey & Pix of him and sister

Awesome on the ketones! And on the weight gain. :smile:
Now if we could only figure out the numbers....

If you can test tomorrow, I think I'm with you on the .1 increase, Libby.

Carl
 
Re: 4/17-18 Hershey & Pix of him and sister

04/18/12
AMPS (324) :50 shy of +12 - Shot .7u at 4:00am - Decided not to increase dose since shooting almost an hour early is already like an increase.

Need shot time back at 2am by Sunday AMPS -

I was pretty tickled to finally get a ketone test. It'd been 3 weeks. :o Hope he keeps the weight on him this time. He had gained some - weighed 11.4 on 3/3, but was down to 9.8 by 3/28. Wish I knew what happened so hopefully can keep it from happening, again...
 
Re: 4/17-18 Hershey & Pix of him and sister

Hi Stranger!

Gracie is BEAUTIFUL! She looks a lot like my Nicki (Paulo's mommy). .... and to quote a sign from the locker room of the gym I used to train at "Ewe's not fat, ewe's FLUFFY!" :lol: My big boys Peaches and Stanley (20# +) still jump - always afraid they'll dent the furniture, but they do very well, and they make her look average weight!

As for the weight differential - keep in mind that at +/- 10#, bathroom scales often read differently - as do the ones at my vet's office. When he was at my house, he was on a baby scale that went 0-22 pounds. I've weighed several of mine before going into the vet, and if we use one exam room, they are w/in .1 pound. Does he look like he's gained or lost weight? Grayson actually looks like he's FINALLY starting to fill in a little... although he still has a skinny little waist! Clearly doesn't take after me! ;-)

So glad to hear you got the ketones tested. What a relief that always is to get a NEGATIVE! Hershey looks handsome in his shot too - and his coat does look REALLY good and shiny! Maybe once they're feeling better, they start taking care of their coats again. The other day Grayson sat and groomed for probably 15-20 minutes! I was so proud of him! We gotta celebrate those little milestones!

Give him a pat from Auntie Lu! (if I'm not in trouble cuz MY kid incited the outing to IHOP!) :lol:

Lu
 
Re: 4/17-18 Hershey & Pix of him and sister

+6 (156)

Maybe we should shoot at +11 more often...wouldn't that be chaotic?! :lol: :lol: Time to feed, then off to Lowe's and Walmart.
 
Re: 4/17-18 Hershey & Pix of him and sister

PMPS (372) +11.75 - shot .9u at 3:45pm

kind of nervous about shooting that much (Last .9u was 3/7) but also tired of playing

Internet out much of the day. Told it's widespread for the area, so I don't know how long we'll have it back :sad:
 
Re: 4/17-18 Hershey - Q about INCREASING SCALE

INCREASING SCALE by .1u each range
350+ .7u
300-349 .8u
250-299 .7u
200-249 .6u
180-199

I've never shot into a number less than 200. Was okay increasing that range, even up to .4u, but .5u?? Should I leave that range a little lower, like say .3u or .4u?? until I actually get an opportunity to shoot into that range and see how/what he does??
 
Re: 4/17-18 Hershey - Q about INCREASING SCALE

Hi Libby, I'm checking in, looks like you are having a great day.

I wouldn't increase that level until you have some experience shooting into the lower numbers so your confidence is there.

Take care,
Robin
 
Re: 4/17-18 Hershey - Q about INCREASING SCALE

Thanks, Robin. That's what I was thinking, but didn't want to be a total chicken, either. :-D

Good to hear from you
 
+6 (204)

Was hoping he was going to drop a little more. But, really can't complain about the day we've had. Now, if we could just get those PS's down...maybe he'll settle in (and down) a little more over the next few cycles. Hoping going to the beach this weekend won't mess him up too badly...
 
How could going to the beach mess any kitty or bean up??? It's the BEACH!!!! :-D

Apparently Hershey has made the unilateral decision that his nadir will now happen prior to +6 most of the time. That's okay, as long as you expect it. I know the study I've read on Prozinc showed that the nadir does change as time goes by.
The time of the blood glucose nadir varied between cats, ranging from 1to9 hours throughout the study,and the time interval
from PZIR administration to blood glucose nadir was significantly (Po .05) shorter at day 45, compared with days 7, 14, and 30 (Table 1)

Time of blood glucose nadir:
Day 7 5.4 +/- 2.5 hrs
Day 14 5.4 +/- 2.5 hrs
Day 30 5.2 +/- 2.5 hrs
Day 45 4.6 +/- 2.2 hrs

The study only ran for 45 days. The purpose of this study wasn't to see how well Prozinc worked, per se. It was to determine if Prozinc would compare to the discontinued PZI Vet when it was announced that it would no longer be made. The answer once the study was concluded was "yes".


Carl
 
Libby,

Love those Blue's that Hershey is getting! You kitties are SOoooo adorable!

Glad to see you doing so well. Maybe OTJ soon?

Looking forward to the updates.
 
Hi Libby,
looks like Hershey is doing vry well! so glad to hear it!
Gracie looks just like my Lucy, except my Lucy has long hair!
They are both beautiful!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top