4/17/14 Jose update after dental and 4/24 update

Status
Not open for further replies.
previously

Well Jose's cycles this week continue to look good. He had his dental done yesterday and unfortunately needed 4 more teeth pulled one being a canine. His last dental had been two years ago and he needed 9 teeth pulled then. So he doesn't have many left. I cried when I picked him up. I don't understand why his teeth are so bad! I know of many cats that have never had dental work and they're teeth are just fine. Why are Jose's so terrible? :(

Before the dental they did a full blood screen and his white blood cell count came back high indicating and infection. With the high WBC count and the extraction of a canine they wanted Jose on a stronger antibiotic so he's on 22.7mg of Orbax every 24hrs for ten days. He's also on 6mg of Onsior for 3 days for pain.

Before the appointment I fed him 1/4 of his breakfast and have 1/4 the amount if insulin I would normally have given with a AMPS of 191. My mom tested him before she left and he was 108 at +3. The vet tested him with an AlphaTrack at +5 and he was 136. When we got home I tested him and got 463 for his PMPS. I fed him 1/4 of his dinner and dosed .6 units. At +3 he was 263. His AMPS this morning was 126 so I gave him no insulin with half the amount of his usual breakfast. 5 hours later he was 101 which means his pancreas is working! He was fed 3/4 of his usual lunch an hour later and then his PMPS was 214 and I gave him 1.2 units after feeding his usual sized dinner.

Overall he seems to be recovering well so far. He will be going in for a recheck within the next two weeks.
 
Re: 4/17/14 Jose update after dental yesterday

I'm glad it went well, Rebecca. Maybe his bg levels will come down more after the infection clears. I think there are quite a few cats on the forum with no teeth at all. Luckily wet food works well for them.
 
Re: 4/17/14 Jose update after dental yesterday

I'm glad to hear Jose's dental went well! I'm excited to see if his already-very-small insulin needs go down with the bad teeth gone and with the infection taken care of. :smile:
 
Re: 4/17/14 Jose update after dental yesterday

Thank you everyone for the encouragement and well wishes! I too am excited to see how his numbers look after he is completely healed. I will be posting updates.
 
Re: 4/17/14 Jose update after dental yesterday

Sometimes it's a pesky infection that is affecting the BGs. Hoping the Orbax is a good fit for Jose - it was a godsend to some of mine after dentals.... not to mention I like the once a day ABs!

Grayson had a pesky staph infection in his left ear. There is NO DOUBT WHATSOEVER that that was a huge obstacle in his numbers. Cleared it up, started seeing improvement! Never underestimate how something so small can wreak such havoc!

LOTS of "toofless toms" out there. Why one and not another? A question for eternity. Jose is lucky to have your love and care for his well-being. Here's to even better numbers to come! party_cat
 
Re: 4/17/14 Jose update after dental yesterday

I wouldn't be concerned about the numbers going a little higher. Every time G has been on ABs, he's been up. Once they are finished, they come back down.
 
Re: 4/17/14 Jose update after dental & 4/24 update

I was just about to post something about how high Jose's preshot numbers have been the last few days. They have been in the low 300s in the PM. So this could be because of the antibiotics? He only has two days left of his ABs after today. I have been increasing his doses to bring him down from the high numbers but then he is still getting those higher numbers. I was thinking that maybe he was bouncing so last night I tested early to see if he was going lower befor his usual nadir and sure enough he was. I'm confused on how I should handle the higher PS numbers.. Today he goes in for his dental follow up appointment so hopefully everything is looking good.
 
Re: 4/17/14 Jose update after dental yesterday

It could be partially due to the antibiotics, but definitely he is low enough midcycle to bounce. Maybe once he gets the all clear and is off antibiotics, lower the scale a smidge and see if the bounces level out?
 
Re: 4/17/14 Jose update after dental yesterday

Hoping all goes well for Jose. Simon's dental wreaked havoc with his BG but most others come out fine on the other end.
 
Re: 4/17/14 Jose update after dental yesterday

Jose was doing so well for a fairly long time on +/- 1u. From my own experience, I expect the AB is a big influence, and, just like a bounce, I'm inclined to tell you not to shoot that higher dose. Once the ABs have fully kicked in, and been completed, you may be in for a significant and fast drop. Please be careful.
 
Re: 4/17/14 Jose update after dental yesterday

Thanks everyone for all the responses. The vet said the canine that was pulled isn't healing as fast as she had hoped so she gave me more antibiotics and that there is still an infection lingering. I have to bring him in again next week to get everything looked at again.

So should I give him a typical dose even though his PS numbers are high? I shouldn't increase for higher PS numbers?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top