4/16Max AMPS 237+5.5=257PMPS330 dose increas+4=268

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S #S
AMPS 301 +4=306 +6=323 PMPS 323 +4=312

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=117273

Thanks for the encouragement Julie and Shelly.

Tina, Max does get small meals every few hours during the first 1/2 of each cycle. I am back to feeding him as late at night as I am up as well to avoid his trying to vomit inn the morning. He is a grazer and even more so since pancreatitis when my vet said to feed lots of mini meals. It's hard not to feed him the two hours before the morning test because he gets really hungry then. If he won't let up with the meowing I now give him some chicken. He only eats fancy feast, a small amount of Stella & Chewy's, baby food, a small amount of pumpkin, and his freeze dried chicken daily.

He was very thirsty his morning, maybe, hopefully from more freeze dried food and less ff yesterday and not from his high numbers.
 
Re: 4/16 Max AMPS 233

Hi guys .. not a bad start to the day .. low yellows can lead to blue! I think the mini meals for mocha really helped her .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/16 Max AMPS 233+3.5=257

Thanks for visiting Devon. The +3.5 was influenced by food but usually doesn't cause much of a spike based upon when I've tested when he went green. I'll test again around +6.5-7 to see if he hits blue.
 
Re: 4/16 Max AMPS 233+3.5=257

Paws crossed for a touch of blue today.

Your link to the previous condo isn't quite working. You need to remove the words "LINK:"" and then the rest "http:// etc" gets put inside the URL wrapper. So it should look like "[url ]http://www.felinediabetes...%20etc"[/url]". After you finish creating your post, if you select the Preview button down below the text box, you can take a look at what you've done. If the link isn't blue and underlines, then it needs fixing.
 
Re: 4/16 Max AMPS 233+3.5=257

Hi Elise,

What kind of chicken are you feeding Max? Is it one that you have cooked yourself?
 
Re: 4/16 Max AMPS 233+3.5=257

He is getting Honeyville freeze dried human chicken which is 100% chicken only and doesn't even include salt. It is a great product as 1lb 7oz is around $33 including shipping. I used to pay about $16 for a bag of Whole Life that was only about 2.5 oz I think.

It's fixed, Wendy.
 
Re: 4/16 Max AMPS 233+3.5=257

The link is working great! :-D

I know that Max's bounciness can sometimes be disheartening, but I wanted to point out Leo's SS to you. Lisa just posted a Leo one year OTJ condo today. :-D We affectionately knew him as the Rainbow King.
 
Re: 4/16 Max AMPS 233+3.5=257

Great to hear that. I was worried that it might have salt or iodine in the chicken.
 
Re: +5.5=2574/16 Max AMPS 233+3.5=257+5.5=257

Thanks for the concern about the chicken, Tina.

I've been reading Tina's condo on failed reductions. If Max doesn't have green numbers tonight, do I increase tomorrow?

I ordered the calipers and they have shipped. I was too lazy to drive to get them but they should be here by Friday, I think.
 
Re: +5.5=2574/16 Max AMPS 233+3.5=257+5.5=257

Hi Elise,

Sorry to see Max is surfing more yellows today. I was really hoping he would come on down for you.

No dosing advice from me, but I wanted to ask about the type of syringes you're using. I know I've read about it before, but I can't remember. I was thinking you were using Monojects, but I may be way off base. The reason I ask is because I tried (briefly) to figure out how to use the calipers with the Relion syringes we were using. The Relions had a "lip" on them that I couldn't quite figure out how to work around. I had mentioned that in one of my condos, and Wendy replied with this:

When you get a breather - you might want to post and ask for help with dosing with calipers and the Relions. I'm pretty sure there are a couple people here using them with calipers but I can't remember who.

We ended up going into our trial without having time ask for help. I just thought I would mention it to you in case you wanted/needed to start gathering advice before the calipers arrive Friday.

Good luck with whatever dose changes you make (or decide not to make)! Hang in there! :YMHUG:
Shelly
 
Re: +5.5=2574/16 Max AMPS 233+3.5=257+5.5=257

Thanks, Shelly. Yes I currently use monoject. I have an almost complete box of 100. When I am finished with them I will use the Terumo that I bought. I also have BD, Relion and some Terumo with a bigger gauge and longer needle. Most I bought when I was giving epogen and B12 to Tiffany and some were given to me. I had no idea that the brand mattered nor that all U100 weren't the same. I'm sure my vet doesn't know either.

Max is not making this easy for me. I am fortunate that he doesn't fight ear pricks or injections however. That was a big fear for me because when they did the curve at the vet's, he earned a sticker for being aggressive. He's always been so easy to handle my vet and I were shocked. My vet was off that afternoon so he didn't see what happened either.
 
Re: +5.5=2574/16 Max AMPS 233+3.5=257+5.5=257

I can't believe I actually remembered the Monojects! :shock: If that's what you're using, I'm thinking the calipers will be much easier for you. Yay!

I'm really hoping the calipers will allow you to dial in on a dose that will just "click" with Max. There were many times I wondered whether that would happen for Jersey. When things clicked, though, they really clicked. I'm hoping that's the way it will go with Max, too. Of course, I know Max has a lot of other issues he's dealing with that makes it harder for you.

Just know that we're all rooting for you and Max!
Shelly
 
Re: 4/16 Max AMPS 233+3.5=257+5.5=257PMPS330

I don't think Max is feeling well He slept on my bed all afternoon and didn't eat. I just put out his dinner and thankfully he is eating. Is he still bouncing? Should I increase to 2 units?

Well, he ate a little. I had to put Stella & Chewy's on top. He ate about 1/8 a can of fancy feast. If his appetite doesn't pick up I think I will give him some ondansetron to see if he is nauseous.
 
Re: 4/16Max AMPS 237+5.5=257PMPS330 dose increase or bounce

I hope Max starts to feel better soon.

Looking at his SS, Max seems to like to bounce for 5 cycles and then come down on the 6th. I'd give him tonight and tomorrow at the current dose and take him up tomorrow night if you don't see anything before then.

Different syringes have different widths of barrels, so what is one dose on Monojects, will not necessarily be the same on Terumos. I remember someone, I think it was Rhiannon, who made the switch and found she had to modify her dose. There have been some people who've noticed a little more even numbers once they go to calipers.
 
Thanks, Wendy. That is what I am hoping for with calipers, more even dosing and therefore more even numbers. I decided I need to see if that is the problem or not. I don't feel like I am exact with these quarter and fat doses although I do my best. Of course it might just be that Max is not regulating. I know that. I also know from dealing with food and meds that it is best to make one change at a time. So I will continue with the Monojects but try the calipers when I get them.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top