4/16 - Xander | AMPS 324, +6 123, +8.25 49 - Decrease or lower my threshold?

Brianna & Xander

Member Since 2024
4/15/25

Yesterday was one of the best BG days we've had since diagnosis! :D I was overjoyed!

Today his appetite's been fantastic. He asked for food an hour before his breakfast but even more notably he asked for food in the middle of the afternoon (which he never does). For an hour or so I couldn't figure out what he wanted, but then I noticed that he'd dropped quite a bit in the last hour so I gave him a snack. He was very happy after that.

The Libre threw us a 49 about 15 minutes ago. Very briefly - by the time I came back upstairs with a LC snack for him he'd already gone back up over 50 and then over 60 (when it hadn't been long enough to see a food bump yet, so this must be all him.) He's floating between 53-60 now. He ate the snack and seems absolutely fine. He's a happy guy today.

This dose seems to be doing wonders for him and this 49 especially seems like a fluke. I'd imagine this is also bounce clearing (He has active AM cycles, bounces overnight. Yesterday was great so he seemed to bounce longer and now is lower later in the cycle... At least that's how I interpreted it.)

I'm curious if any of the people I spoke with about this recently might be willing to share what they might do in my situation.

Do you think it's worthwhile to lower my reduction threshold by a bit? Or maybe even just count this as a one-off and wait to see if it happens again? Or should I just take the reduction tonight? @Wendy&Neko , any thoughts? (First time tagging anyone, sorry if I shouldn't have!)
 
Tough call. Usually we say get an ear prick to confirm but that’s not possible I know. How soon after you caught the 49 was the 76? Did you feed any hc? Doesn’t look like it so possibly not a true 49.
 
Tough call. Usually we say get an ear prick to confirm but that’s not possible I know. How soon after you caught the 49 was the 76? Did you feed any hc? Doesn’t look like it so possibly not a true 49.

Sorry to have been confusing - the 76 was actually earlier (right at the +8 mark), but the 49 was only like 15 minutes later and I wanted to make sure it was seen. Figured it fit better there than in the next column since it was so shortly after +8.

I didn't feed any HC at all, I gave him a few tsp of 2% and that was it. The 49 only even lasted a few minutes. He was back in the 60s 40 minutes later and he's at 81 now.
 
I’ll be interested in what experts say, but given meter variation…49 is so close

I've gotta make the choice sometime in the next 20 minutes or so so I'm not sure if anyone will be available in time.

I'm leaning toward what Tim mentioned and seeing if it happens again. The Libre graph has also taken the 49 off of it (it usually adjusts out things if it doesn't think they made sense/were accurate) and the lowest it shows today is 53.
 
Love reading this post. I am so happy to hear Xander was eating and playing! :D
I have seen Butch drop low on the Libre and come back up without food too.
Wishing you both a calm night and safe surf Xander.
:bighug::cat::bighug:

Thank you, Madeline! It's so nice to finally see good numbers and have him eating and happy! :D

Thank you! Hope I can make the right choice lol :bighug:
 
I really don't wanna push this way later, so I think I'm just gonna go with my gut, which says that especially since the Libre is low on the low end anyway, I really don't think he truly ever went below 50. The Libre alarms are on to wake me up if there's a problem overnight but I fully expect the usual bounce tonight (he's already shot up by like 100 points since PS now) and if there's any activity it'll be tomorrow when I'm up and around anyway.

Paws crossed. :nailbiting: We'll see how it goes. :bookworm:
 
Last edited:
So happy to hear Xander has been feeling well, eating and playing! Love seeing the blues and greens on his SS :D:cool:. You've worked so hard and waited so long for long for a dose that works. I think it's probably the right call to stick with it - good job listening to your gut. Hope he clears the bounce and surfs safely tomorrow.
 
So happy to hear Xander has been feeling well, eating and playing! Love seeing the blues and greens on his SS :D:cool:. You've worked so hard and waited so long for long for a dose that works. I think it's probably the right call to stick with it - good job listening to your gut. Hope he clears the bounce and surfs safely tomorrow.

Thanks, Helen! It has been such a long time coming and I can't even describe how happy I've been seeing these big chunks of blue and green!! :cool::D

Thank you also for the reassurance! I saw a notification and was bracing for "Oh no, what did you do?!" Haha. I really do think that was the way to go. Hopefully I'm not proven wrong.
 
Sorry I couldn't help earlier. Right now you are in the phase of learning what works for Xander. I think I'd also look at what has happened previously. On 4/8, he went below 50 on the Libre, and you took the reduction as a "supposed drop below 50". Looks like that reduction held. The couple other limes were 2/5 and 3/10 and those reductions did not hold. The latter the sensor was failing, so not sure if that data could be trusted.

The other limes, do you remember whether the graph showed the below 50's?

The other wrinkle in here is that you are now using calipers for dosing, so I hope that was the same dose you gave as yesterday.
 
Sorry I couldn't help earlier. Right now you are in the phase of learning what works for Xander. I think I'd also look at what has happened previously. On 4/8, he went below 50 on the Libre, and you took the reduction as a "supposed drop below 50". Looks like that reduction held. The couple other limes were 2/5 and 3/10 and those reductions did not hold. The latter the sensor was failing, so not sure if that data could be trusted.

The other limes, do you remember whether the graph showed the below 50's?

The other wrinkle in here is that you are now using calipers for dosing, so I hope that was the same dose you gave as yesterday.

No worries, Wendy, I understand! :)

I did notice on 4/8 that when I went and looked at the graph later, it had eliminated the 46 and said the lowest he'd been was 53. Today it did the same with the 49, changed it to a 53. Unfortunately the app is dumb and I can't go back and verify in the same way for the 2/5 and 3/10. However, with the 3/10 I fully believe that the sensor failed because of the stretch of lows, not the other way around. Staci's warned me in the past that this can happen (several hours of low readings can make it think it must be failing and shut down).

I also hope so, but for what it's worth it was either at least about the same or (IMO) slightly lower if anything. It's been about where I would have drawn to if I'd had to eyeball the adjustment like usual.
 
No worries, Wendy, I understand! :)

I did notice on 4/8 that when I went and looked at the graph later, it had eliminated the 46 and said the lowest he'd been was 53. Today it did the same with the 49, changed it to a 53. Unfortunately the app is dumb and I can't go back and verify in the same way for the 2/5 and 3/10. However, with the 3/10 I fully believe that the sensor failed because of the stretch of lows, not the other way around. Staci's warned me in the past that this can happen (several hours of low readings can make it think it must be failing and shut down).

I also hope so, but for what it's worth it was either at least about the same or (IMO) slightly lower if anything. It's been about where I would have drawn to if I'd had to eyeball the adjustment like usual.
Hi Brianna, sorry I wasn’t around last night. I passed out after Tuesday nights all nighter and was exhausted :arghh:

it looks like Xander bounced after seeing those lower numbers in your a.m. cycle yesterday. He is seeing nice nadirs on this dose.

I tend to find myself lowering Ivy’s dose when the stretch of Libre limes goes on for hours and hours, especially overnight and becomes unmanageable for me.
If she has one stretch for only a few hours and then bounces back up, I try to be conservative with reductions if possible.
Since I know you aren’t able to confirm with a blood test, you just have to do the best you can in judgment, and I think you’re right with what you did.
Like you said, the graph erased that 49 lime number, so he was in a nice green Stretch for a few hours, but you weren’t in the LO range.

I think the lowest I’ve caught on a handheld meter when Ivy was in a LO stretch was around 60. That was plenty low for me, as I don’t feel the need to let her go lower than that. Especially because she’s so hard to manage and blood test. I don’t really want to push the boundaries of putting her into the 50s or 40s and having to try to get enough blood tests to push that borderline with her.

Obviously, you will watch him closely to see what his trends are on this dose and continue to evaluate.
And of course you can use carbs to help you if he goes too low for your liking.
Hope you had a good night. Safe surfing today :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
What incredible news from you and Xander!!! He's eating again, playing again, and giving you those nice blues and greens. What a guy :rolleyes: So happy for you, Brianna. It's been a long stretch of really difficult days and weeks (and more). Glad you held at the same dose last night - not that I'm qualified to give advice, but I do sometimes wonder if Binx lost his progress because we reduced too quickly.
Can't wait to see the next couple of cycles for Xander. Sending hugs and good vibes for more blues and greens :cool::D
 
Hi Brianna, sorry I wasn’t around last night. I passed out after Tuesday nights all nighter and was exhausted :arghh:

it looks like Xander bounced after seeing those lower numbers in your a.m. cycle yesterday. He is seeing nice nadirs on this dose.

No need to apologize, Staci! You've got your hands full and you're here helping me all the time. I haven't made it to the condos yet today but I hope you've been able to get some rest last night!

He did bounce, but surprisingly not for very long! The next dose seemed to kick in as normal. He didn't break 100, but I'd say it was an amazing PM cycle when normally he bounces all night.

I tend to find myself lowering Ivy’s dose when the stretch of Libre limes goes on for hours and hours, especially overnight and becomes unmanageable for me.
If she has one stretch for only a few hours and then bounces back up, I try to be conservative with reductions if possible.
Since I know you aren’t able to confirm with a blood test, you just have to do the best you can in judgment, and I think you’re right with what you did.
Like you said, the graph erased that 49 lime number, so he was in a nice green Stretch for a few hours, but you weren’t in the LO range.

I think the lowest I’ve caught on a handheld meter when Ivy was in a LO stretch was around 60. That was plenty low for me, as I don’t feel the need to let her go lower than that. Especially because she’s so hard to manage and blood test. I don’t really want to push the boundaries of putting her into the 50s or 40s and having to try to get enough blood tests to push that borderline with her.

I'm glad to hear this because it makes total sense to me. I think we're just in a really unique position that forces us to have to be a little different (like everything else!)

Like you said, he wasn't even in the LO range, he was just barely below 50 and it was likely that even that was much higher than it thought. And then he came back up before his LC food really even had time to work, if 2% would have been much of a bump at all anyway. If it were for a longer period or actually LO I'd probably feel differently and want to be more cautious, but it was just the teeniest, tiniest little bit of <50. I'm feeling like I'll probably go the same route as you and made a judgement call about whether or not it was worth worrying too much about. I'm obviously not super experienced but now that he's getting these nicer cycles I'll be able to get an idea for how he reacts to things and maybe next time I'll know more confidently "That was fine, stay the course" or "Time to reduce."

Obviously, you will watch him closely to see what his trends are on this dose and continue to evaluate.
And of course you can use carbs to help you if he goes too low for your liking.

I'll definitely be keeping an eye on him today and see how he does. I'm still feeding the curve too as much as I can (PS, +1, +2, +3 snacks, but he doesn't always eat them all or right away) and I think that seems to help too.

Hope you had a good night. Safe surfing today :bighug::cat::bighug:

Thank you, Staci! Same to you and Ivy! ❤️ :bighug:
 
What incredible news from you and Xander!!! He's eating again, playing again, and giving you those nice blues and greens. What a guy :rolleyes: So happy for you, Brianna. It's been a long stretch of really difficult days and weeks (and more). Glad you held at the same dose last night - not that I'm qualified to give advice, but I do sometimes wonder if Binx lost his progress because we reduced too quickly.
Can't wait to see the next couple of cycles for Xander. Sending hugs and good vibes for more blues and greens :cool::D

The best news to get to share (aside from remission, of course!)

Thank you so much, Briana! It has been for you too and I so hope you're able to see these same results for Binx soon!

I appreciate another opinion agreeing that I probably made the right move (regardless of experience). I just feel so much better if I have a couple of "You're not crazy"s thrown in there.

I have wondered the same thing about Xander which is why I switched to TR. And now am basically adjusting the threshold a little bit (although that's obviously for an unusual reason that doesn't apply to most).

Sending hugs and good vibes to you and Binx as well! .:bighug:
 
The best news to get to share (aside from remission, of course!)

Thank you so much, Briana! It has been for you too and I so hope you're able to see these same results for Binx soon!

I appreciate another opinion agreeing that I probably made the right move (regardless of experience). I just feel so much better if I have a couple of "You're not crazy"s thrown in there.

I have wondered the same thing about Xander which is why I switched to TR. And now am basically adjusting the threshold a little bit (although that's obviously for an unusual reason that doesn't apply to most).

Sending hugs and good vibes to you and Binx as well! .:bighug:

Totally! And as you're learning more about Xander and his needs, it's great you can update your process to best suit his needs. Looking forward to the next few days/cycles. And thanks for the well wishes too! :bighug:
 
Back
Top