4/16 Xander AMPS 161 +3 89 PMPS 128

Albert & Xander

Member Since 2025
Yesterday's post

Another confusing day. This morning Xander didn't get up to greet me like usual and was laying in bed (still purring though when I touched him). I tried to give a pill pocket ondansetron but he wouldn't eat it, so I pilled him. Despite this, very soon after the meds he ate well at every meal and got slightly above his AM target. At least I know the meds definitely work, just wish I knew why they've been needed especially in the morning. I gave a reduced dose because I was panicked and unsure about his eating.

Super nervous for the ultrasound tomorrow. I don't think i'm going to give gaba, as they are already going to sedate him for the ultrasound and he's tolerated going without gaba before so hopefully all will be fine. I'm scared that if i give gaba, he will be super wobbly like usual and not eat for his shot when we get back. For me, 7am is super early (i'm a night owl) so the lack of sleep is going to dial up my anxiety to 10 🫨
 
Yesterday's post

Another confusing day. This morning Xander didn't get up to greet me like usual and was laying in bed (still purring though when I touched him). I tried to give a pill pocket ondansetron but he wouldn't eat it, so I pilled him. Despite this, very soon after the meds he ate well at every meal and got slightly above his AM target. At least I know the meds definitely work, just wish I knew why they've been needed especially in the morning. I gave a reduced dose because I was panicked and unsure about his eating.

Super nervous for the ultrasound tomorrow. I don't think i'm going to give gaba, as they are already going to sedate him for the ultrasound and he's tolerated going without gaba before so hopefully all will be fine. I'm scared that if i give gaba, he will be super wobbly like usual and not eat for his shot when we get back. For me, 7am is super early (i'm a night owl) so the lack of sleep is going to dial up my anxiety to 10 🫨
Could he be having an issue with the current food? Does he eat a variety of foods or flavors? Does he have preferences with his food?
Could a food he eats have changed it's formulation or recipe and he's protesting?
(just trying to think of other ideas).

Ivy seemed really happy with her new turkey recipe...then after a few weeks, she seemed to not love it anymore.
So I am just giving it every 4th meal so it maybe seems "interesting" to her (who knows if I am right).
So far she seems happier to have turkey occasionally.

Good luck tomorrow! Do you have to be there at 7 am or is that wake up time?
Sending lots of good wishes and vines!! 🫂 🍀🍀🍀🍀🌿🌿🌿🌿
 
Could he be having an issue with the current food? Does he eat a variety of foods or flavors? Does he have preferences with his food?
Could a food he eats have changed it's formulation or recipe and he's protesting?
(just trying to think of other ideas).

Ivy seemed really happy with her new turkey recipe...then after a few weeks, she seemed to not love it anymore.
So I am just giving it every 4th meal so it maybe seems "interesting" to her (who knows if I am right).
So far she seems happier to have turkey occasionally.

Good luck tomorrow! Do you have to be there at 7 am or is that wake up time?
Sending lots of good wishes and vines!! 🫂 🍀🍀🍀🍀🌿🌿🌿🌿

I feed about 2-3 different flavors that I rotate that he eats - chicken/liver, chunky chicken, and beef/chicken. The beef/chicken is the only relatively new addition for him lately and his #1 pick. It might be worth trying to stop the beef/chicken, but he's had beef on and off before with no issue. It seems mostly a morning issues - once the ondansetron kicks in he starts eating well. My theory is still hair irritation and some increased mild constipation but we'll see.

Haha turkey actually used to be Xander's absolute favorite but then he just phased that flavor out of his acceptable list over time. They're so picky.

Thank you! The appointment is at 7, so i'll be up before then. Prepping everything the night before so its a quick process to get him there. We live 4 min away so that's a big plus for his stress levels. I might go out later and get a bottle of Feliway. Not sure if it works on him but worth a try.
 
I feed about 2-3 different flavors that I rotate that he eats - chicken/liver, chunky chicken, and beef/chicken. The beef/chicken is the only relatively new addition for him lately and his #1 pick. It might be worth trying to stop the beef/chicken, but he's had beef on and off before with no issue. It seems mostly a morning issues - once the ondansetron kicks in he starts eating well. My theory is still hair irritation and some increased mild constipation but we'll see.

Haha turkey actually used to be Xander's absolute favorite but then he just phased that flavor out of his acceptable list over time. They're so picky.

Thank you! The appointment is at 7, so i'll be up before then. Prepping everything the night before so its a quick process to get him there. We live 4 min away so that's a big plus for his stress levels. I might go out later and get a bottle of Feliway. Not sure if it works on him but worth a try.
Yes they are so picky. Hopefully it’s just a hair issue!
I spray Feliway on Ivy’s towel inside her crate before it’s time to go to the vet. (For her I don’t think it works, but she’s “special”)

Some people like to try a few drops of Rescue Remedy for Pets on their tongue to calm them.
(I do that as well….but you know Ivy) 👹

I’m sure he will be well behaved tomorrow 💓💓💓
 
Back
Top