4/16 Trixie AMPS 245 +2 204 +9 329 PMPS 404 (cringe!!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=41227

Blech...yellow AMPS two days in a row. She is giving us some nice numbers, but not quite as nice as her pre-dental numbers on the F1.25, Should we consider taking her back up to 1.0 yet, or wait a try a few more days on the 0.75? She probably has about a week to go (maybe a day less) on the antibiotics, and I think we're going to wean her off the pain meds today. I don't want to rush her, but I don't want her to possibly backslide too far, either....

Thanks...and have a wonderful Saturday, LantusLand!

Amy
 
Re: 4/16 Trixie AMPS 245 +2 204 - Dose thoughts?

I'm not clear why you dropped the dose to 0.75u. Maybe for the BCS dose but the dose should have come back up the next cycle. Yes, increase the dose -- the reduction wasn't earned.
 
Re: 4/16 Trixie AMPS 245 +2 204 - Dose thoughts?

During the other evening, Laurie mentioned that 0.75 would be her new dose, and I was under the impression that she meant that as a permanent change as opposed to the one shot deal. Maybe I misunderstood...

We'll increase tonight. Thanks!

Amy
 
Re: 4/16 Trixie AMPS 245 +2 204 - Dose thoughts?

I went back and looked at the discussion. I can see why you were confused. In a situation like the other night, you had a low number and were looking for a rise. The alternatives are to stall or shoot a BCS dose. Whenever you shoot a BCS dose, it's for that cycle only. If you're even unsure or the info is unclear, get the clarification. We don't want Trixie to lose momentum.

How about bringing the dose up to 1.0u?
 
Re: 4/16 Trixie AMPS 245 +2 204 - Dose thoughts?

Amy, isn't Trixie on Clavamox? Simon's bg went up alot on the Clavamox even though there shouldn't have been anything in it that would cause him to rise. This might also be happening with Trixie. He has been off the antibiotics for a couple of days now and his numbers are coming down nicely. Good luck!
 
Re: 4/16 Trixie AMPS 245 +2 204 - Dose thoughts?

Glad Sienne checked in with you. I hope Trixie girl will come down into her beautiful blues/greens and is feeling better after her dental. Do you also have her on some kind of acidophilus so the clavamox doesn't destroy her good bacteria?
 
Re: 4/16 Trixie AMPS 245 +2 204 - Dose thoughts?

Amy, I discussed the situation with Jill off board before giving you the suggestion to hold the reduced dose. I don't think Sienne saw that discussion....sometimes it's hard to keep up with everything, and it was a busy night! ;-) You did not misunderstand...you did fine.

I agree with Sienne, I think you do have room to increase to 1.0u now that she has settled down and we can see how she is responding. Good luck with the increase!
 
Re: 4/16 Trixie AMPS 245 +2 204 +9 329 - Dose thoughts?

I have to do this quick, because I'm in the midst of teaching a class (snuck out for a few!)

Thanks for all the feedback. She's on clindamycin for her antibiotic, if that's anything to factor in. She hit the pinks for the first time in a while today - yuck!

We'll go with 1.0u tonight and see where that takes us...unless anyone thinks that would be a bad idea. She gets her shot at 5:45 EST.

You guys are life savers!!!

Now, back to class, before they notice I'm gone :lol: !

Amy
 
C'mon, 1.0....do your thing!

I swear, it's like the syringe was empty this morning - but I swear, it wasn't! I knew she'd be a bit out of whack after the dental...can't wait till she's back on track.

Amy
 
Come on down Trixie Girl. I'm sure things will even out soon. I hope you all have a great night and see some lower numbers. Take care. :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top