4/16 siujim amps (398), pmps (360) + 6 (342)

Status
Not open for further replies.

sun

Member
the curve is still flat, i was away to work during day time, so i can't any readings.
it's mid night (4/17 at your time) and the pmps +6 is 342

i will also let my vet know to see how things go.

in fact, if you look at her history, ever since, 1.75, her sugar is higher and higher AFTER raising the dose, and the curve is very flat since 2 unit..

thx.
 
Good job getting a spot check last night.. the more you can get in the habit of doing those.. the better you can take care of siujim.

There's two relatively common things that happen that cause high numbers when your treating feline diabetes. One is bouncing, high BG spikes off of low numbers.. which your testing in January shows was probably happening.. and the other is insulin resistance.. and it can be really hard to tell the difference without testing.

Even when you do break through the resistance (the resistance can drastically reduce VERY quickly).. if you aren't testing enough it's really hard to tell if it's still resistance (where you increase the dose) or bouncing (where you keep the dose the same, or lower it, depending on the numbers).

One of the confusing things about diabetes, is that having high BGs over time can actually cause greater insulin resistance. So where you were getting low numbers off a lower dose and bouncing high before, it's not really relevant anymore. I know it's hard to avoid looking back and wondering what is going on, but the numbers/doses that happened in the earlier part of the year are pretty meaningless now and you have to try to forget them. Siujim had a different sort of problem then compared to now.

Hopefully that made some sense. Anyways, keep it up, I know it's really tough for you.. but the more tests the better. I won't ever stop bugging you about this!! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top