4/16 Shadow AMPS=560 ~ PMPS=210

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Member Since 2009
AMPS=465 ~no shot, Dental Day
+9=448
PMPS=512 ~3.0u Lev
+3=492
+7=453
AMPS=560 ~3.0u Lev (2nd cycle)

Yesterday
Good morning! I am hoping that Shadow's shed can hurry up and get filled quickly....I am really waiting and praying that he will get a grip on these awful numbers. Raja was better-than-fine when we got home, but Shadow seemed to be having trouble with eating. He ate, but not very enthusiastically. This morning, I wanted to shoot 15 minutes early, but he was lying in the kitchen and not even attempting to eat. I moved his body over to the food and he then ate with some gusto but it is strange that he is not more enthused about the food. He vomited a tiny bit yesterday before his first snack and was coughing a bit. He seems to cough as if something is in his throat.....(I am thinking of CD's experience and I hope that he wills start acting a little better soon.)
I hate Dentals so much.....
He has been drinking water too....something that I haven't seen in a long time. He just isn't himself....you know that when you can see something that isn't quite right about your kitty....nothing specific, just something that isn't quite "right". He is purring as usual, and isn't hiding or anything. I guess there was a lot of plaque on his teeth...but both kitties do not need Clavamox....that was a nice surprise. I imagine that his gums are pretty sore...maybe that's it.....
these high numbers must make him feel pretty awful in themselves....
Come on Levemir....do your thing!
Hope you all have a very wonderful weekend! Oh, BTW, Monday the 18th is the fll_moon (some websites have it on the 17th)
Here is what the Farmer's Almanac says:
• Full Pink Moon – April This name came from the herb moss pink, or wild ground phlox, which is one of the earliest widespread flowers of the spring. Other names for this month’s celestial body include the Full Sprouting Grass Moon, the Egg Moon, and among coastal tribes the Full Fish Moon, because this was the time that the shad swam upstream to spawn.

Figures. the PINK Full Moon..... ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 4/16 Shadow AMPS=560

Good Morning, Pat & Shadow,
Shadow is probably just recovering from the stress of yesterday. It takes some kitties longer to get themselves back to normal. It sounds like his teeth are OK, and that's a plus! I'm sure your sweet boy will feel better and better as the day progresses. Just let him rest and take it easy. Don't worry about his numbers today. Since AMPS is still so high, it can be a "rest an ear" day. He's home and now all will be well. (Drinking water may be because his gums are sore and the cool water makes them feel better.)

I don't know about the "Pink" moon. I like the "Fish" moon better! This full moon is also the Paschal moon.

Have a fine Caturday with your kitties, Pat, and don't worry. OK?

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/16 Shadow AMPS=560

I am glad that the dentals are done with! I hope Shadow perks up soon. I wonder if he was done after Raja, so he was still a bit groggier when he came home? Sometimes they also have a sore throat from the tube that goes down there. I hope he rests up a bit today and gets the rest of those anesthesia meds out of his system and is feeling 100% soon. You should have a bit of that Jack Daniels puppy stuff today as well, after your ordeal with dental day.
 
Re: 4/16 Shadow AMPS=560

Oh poor Shadow baby! I bet he comes down today after some rest. It has to be so traumatic for them at the Vet. I hope you can also catch some rest today, too. Yes, have some of that Jack Daniels stuff that Linda mentioned! :smile:
 
Re: 4/16 Shadow AMPS=560

Glad his dental is done. Feel better Shadow.

As Ella said...maybe less ear poking for Shadow today and some rest for you my dear.
 
Re: 4/16 Shadow AMPS=560

Poor Shadow Boy!! Yes he was intubated, and that tube maybe gave him a little sore throat--Are you giving them any Buprenex??--He may need a little pain killer-Did vet give you any??
Maybe grind up some chicken or turkey in a blender & feed it to him?? He Is also upset, like they all are--
Hope he feels better later today--Give him Hugs, let him rest--Healing vines to our dear friend Shadow--Come on down from that big number please!!--
Why didnt he need any ab's? Any extractions??
Hope you see improvement today! Big Hugs & Lubs from us!
 
Re: 4/16 Shadow AMPS=560

I'm glad he didn't need extractions. Good for him!
I bet the combination of being sedated and having high numbers is making him feel a little yucky.

The fact that he ate is a good sign to me. Yes, his throat is probably somewhat uncomfortable from the intubation but since he can swallow he will soon get past that dry, rough feeling in his throat. Drinking water is good for that and he may be doing it because he needs it as well as because his numbers are a bit high.

Levemir tends to struggle a bit with high numbers and seems to work better when numbers are lower than 500's. Shadow may take longer to get back to where he was on his normal dose. He might need a temporary boost in dose if the Lev doesn't touch that red all day.

... for those that don't know... because I didn't post it. :-D I didn't want to scare anyone.
Pat was referring to a problem my civvie had after a dental a few months ago. She had her throat injured from the breathing tube by an inexperienced vet tech. It was an accident which resulted in a lot of pain and stress. Cappi couldn't swallow and her breathing was affected as well. After more than a week of intensive home care with sub-q fluids and medications that had to be injected, she started to recover. I was able to syringe feed her and basically 'teach' her it was safe to swallow again. After that she was able to eat on her own and within two weeks she looked and felt almost normal.

It was a scary time and I know now to be a little more insistent and questioning on who will treat my kitty. I decided not to get BigMac a dental at that time, which was probably stupid. The vet did not charge me for Cappi's dental.
 
Re: 4/16 Shadow AMPS=560

Hi Pat - sorry that Shadows numbers are so high. I am glad tough that the dental went well. Mannie went through something similar when he has his last dental. numbers were way high, appetite was way off, he was not himself. It took him a good day or two to feel good again. Shadow will too - it just may be taking him longer to recover from the anesthesia. Hugs and cuddles today.
 
Thank you all for you sweet comments......we appereciate it!

He was hungry this evening and came over to me....constantly for about a half an hour ..pestering me. He was squeaking....but his voice was basically not there/very weak. He has been eating today so that was a great sign to me and it was just that when he opened his mouth, his usual voice was just not there. It seemed to amuse and interest him because he has been walking around speaking for about an hour now. :lol: Raspy voice that as been keeping him occupied! :lol:
Boy, was I ever glad to see that pink!! +7!!!! the yellow PMPS was a very welcomed sight....all seems well now that theya re fed and ready to be shot!

AMPS=560 ~3.0u Lev
+2=505
+3=456
+7=323
PMPS=210 ~3.0u Lev

I am keeping my fingers crossed that this bad string of numbers is in our past now.....hope so much!
 
Ah.... I felt your sigh of relief all the way up here. Much better Shadow! That 210 is almost blue!
What a great recovery from the scary reds.

I laughed when you said he seemed to be amused with his raspy voice. Too funny! I thought only people did that.
Maybe he's pretending to be a tough guy with his gravely voice. ..."eh, you durty rat, you...." :cool: :lol:
 
SO GLAD he came down tonite!!! I know what a harrowing experience the dentals are--
Hope He gets his beautiful voice back tomorrow! Hugs!! :mrgreen:
 
Hi guys, I'm so glad that Shadow has come down, is eating, and is interested in his voice!! What a great kitty he is. Now, all of you get a good night's sleep.

Ella & Rusty
 
Yeah for Shadow....eating and numbers coming down. Now if he could only find his voice.

Pat: hope you are taking care of yourself as well as you take care of your sweet kitties.
 
Oh Pat...I'm so happy to hear he is eating and see his numbers come down. Those dentals can really throw even civvies off for a day or so especially if the tube has made their throats sore. Poor Shadow....hope he is feeling better soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top