Big question for PM: How much insulin should I give?
Time is 8:24 pm. I gave him 1.25U insulin, just to be safe. Nervous about the big drop from AMPS (336 - in part likely due to skipping insulin last night) and PMPS of 229. These are numbers I haven't seen in him since starting insulin a month ago. Will continue to monitor closely for at least next few hours. Probably try to get a reading in middle of night as wel.
posted 45 min ago:
AMPS: blood glucose 336; gave scant 2 U (about 1.8-1.9) in AM. Nadir was 218 at +6.75, then BG increased a bit, then was 221 at +8.5.
PMPS is 229, much lower than in AM. Should I give the scant 2 U again?
I've dropped more than 100 points for BG since AMPS.
I did a BG reading at 2021, just a few minutes before he's due for insulin; BG = 267. (He ate between 1927 PMPS and this reading.
I'm a little nervous that even a scant 2U might be too much.
Would appreciate advice. I'm thinking I should drop back to 1.5 U, and maybe go back to 1.25 U.
4.16 AMPS 350 at 630 am. 336 at 745 am. For both, had not eaten for 2 hours.
45 min after 745 am BG reading, I gave him a scant 2 Unit dose of Lantus (about 1.8 or 1.9 U, just shy of the 2 marking on syringe).
Made sure needle was in, and felt fur afterwards to be sure nothing moist, so pretty sure it wasn't a fur shot.
See his SS with today's glucose curve readings.
There's a tab with a scatter plot of all the readings I did today. I did them every 30 min. The main spreadsheet (standard) tab just shows the readings each full hour after AM Insulin.
Background:
Posted a thread 4/15 in evening about PMPS blood glucose being extremely low for Ruarach (https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ps-113-repeated-got-120-closed-thread.276497/)
Skipped Apr 15 evening insulin dose.
Bron replied back and confirmed skipping was appropriate as Ruarach's diabetes diagnosis is new (mid-March) and I don't have a lot of data on him. Bron also suggested dropping Lantus insulin dose today to 2 Units (from 3) and getting more frequent BG readings. I'll do a glucose curve today.
Regarding half-unit insulin syringes: It seems that everything available is 5/16 inch long. My vet had sold me 1/2 inch long syringes with only full unit markings. But I guess people here are using the 5/16 inch long syringes with no problems?
For others who are new to this: I was able to pick up the Relion insulin syringes with half unit markings for around $14 at Walmart pharmacy - call and ask if they have them in stock. 8 mm x 31 G (5/16" length needle x 0.25 mm) 3/10 mL syringe. 100 in a box, or my Walmart would have sold 10 of them for 1/10 the price of the box. UPC code is 6 81131 31178 6. The box does not say they have half unit markings, but when you look at the markings on the syringe itself, there's one set of markings that are one unit each, but right along side them, there is a set of markings halfway between the one unit markings and those are the half-unit markings. I will save the half-unit marked syringes for when I have half-unit doses.
Time is 8:24 pm. I gave him 1.25U insulin, just to be safe. Nervous about the big drop from AMPS (336 - in part likely due to skipping insulin last night) and PMPS of 229. These are numbers I haven't seen in him since starting insulin a month ago. Will continue to monitor closely for at least next few hours. Probably try to get a reading in middle of night as wel.
posted 45 min ago:
AMPS: blood glucose 336; gave scant 2 U (about 1.8-1.9) in AM. Nadir was 218 at +6.75, then BG increased a bit, then was 221 at +8.5.
PMPS is 229, much lower than in AM. Should I give the scant 2 U again?
I've dropped more than 100 points for BG since AMPS.
I did a BG reading at 2021, just a few minutes before he's due for insulin; BG = 267. (He ate between 1927 PMPS and this reading.
I'm a little nervous that even a scant 2U might be too much.
Would appreciate advice. I'm thinking I should drop back to 1.5 U, and maybe go back to 1.25 U.
4.16 AMPS 350 at 630 am. 336 at 745 am. For both, had not eaten for 2 hours.
45 min after 745 am BG reading, I gave him a scant 2 Unit dose of Lantus (about 1.8 or 1.9 U, just shy of the 2 marking on syringe).
Made sure needle was in, and felt fur afterwards to be sure nothing moist, so pretty sure it wasn't a fur shot.
See his SS with today's glucose curve readings.
There's a tab with a scatter plot of all the readings I did today. I did them every 30 min. The main spreadsheet (standard) tab just shows the readings each full hour after AM Insulin.
Background:
Posted a thread 4/15 in evening about PMPS blood glucose being extremely low for Ruarach (https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ps-113-repeated-got-120-closed-thread.276497/)
Skipped Apr 15 evening insulin dose.
Bron replied back and confirmed skipping was appropriate as Ruarach's diabetes diagnosis is new (mid-March) and I don't have a lot of data on him. Bron also suggested dropping Lantus insulin dose today to 2 Units (from 3) and getting more frequent BG readings. I'll do a glucose curve today.
Regarding half-unit insulin syringes: It seems that everything available is 5/16 inch long. My vet had sold me 1/2 inch long syringes with only full unit markings. But I guess people here are using the 5/16 inch long syringes with no problems?
For others who are new to this: I was able to pick up the Relion insulin syringes with half unit markings for around $14 at Walmart pharmacy - call and ask if they have them in stock. 8 mm x 31 G (5/16" length needle x 0.25 mm) 3/10 mL syringe. 100 in a box, or my Walmart would have sold 10 of them for 1/10 the price of the box. UPC code is 6 81131 31178 6. The box does not say they have half unit markings, but when you look at the markings on the syringe itself, there's one set of markings that are one unit each, but right along side them, there is a set of markings halfway between the one unit markings and those are the half-unit markings. I will save the half-unit marked syringes for when I have half-unit doses.
Last edited: