Holly and Pablo
Member
(No condo since 4/2.)
WCR: obnoxious this morning, waking me up at 5:30 on the FIRST day this semester that I didn't have clinical or work to go to. :roll: And now he's piled in my lap, cutting of circulation to the lower half of my legs. Naturally, he'd like to go back to sleep now that I'm wide awake.
So, exciting news: I made my first batch of Dr. Lisa-style raw food last Saturday night, and Pablo didn't even bat an eye at the change! He still squawks for food like normal and inhales it in two minutes. But, and this may purely be coincidence or that lovely brain tumor just messin' up my numbers, he has been in the yellows since the very night I started the raw food. What the heck? Shouldn't his blood sugar decrease with raw?
I've been frustrated with his numbers because he nearly hypo'd on 6.25units (his current dose) two weeks ago, and now I can barely get a blue number on the same dose! Should I say it's the tumor and NOT the food causing the issue? I hesitate to increase because he can be so all over the place! Maybe I'll increase by a drop tonight.
As for me, I'm a bad mom because I forgot TWICE this week to get night-cycle checks. :shock: Between fundraising for Pablo's SRT at CSU on Monday night (which hasn't been going all that great) and the semester coming to a close, I've been distracted. And clearly since I've posted here twice in a month, I've been preoccupied!
One last interesting thing: We have a new vet working with us at the hospital where I work. He graduates from vet school in two weeks, and I absolutely love him to death. I would marry him today if he asked...but I digress...we have had lengthy discussions about treating diabetes and using Lantus. He actually came to me for advice about it last week! One of my favorite client's cats was diagnosed with diabetes last week after a history of MONTHLY steroid injections for several years (my vet/boss sees no problem with this treatment for mouth ulcers) and chronic PD/PU. We did an in-house blood glucose, but at my insistence, also a fructosamine. My vet literally saw the in-house BG of 499 and told me to get insulin for the cat. I was like, WAIT! I am not comfortable with just starting insulin based on ONE BG! Turns out this cat's fructosamine was horrible, but that's not the point! Anyway, this year, I've insisted that every client with a diabetic animal (we see mostly dogs...mine is the only diabetic cat) home test. We've stopped in-hospital glucose curves because I made such a stink about how inaccurate they are! :thumbup I schedule a time with every client to set up their glucometer and teach them how to test and all that jazz. It's awesome. So the new vet totally thought my idea of switching the newly-diagnosed diabetic cat to low-carb food BEFORE starting insulin was a good idea and having her test to check his BG at the same time. And he followed my suggestion of starting the new cat on 0.5 units of Lantus BID and holding the dose for one week. He sat down and discussed my thoughts on treating and actually LISTENED to me.
All I have to say is...one vet at a time!!! Now onto my boss who still thinks dosing insulin based on one BG and the cat's weight, dry Purina DM, no hometesting, and fructosamines a few times a year are all good ideas. :roll:
WCR: obnoxious this morning, waking me up at 5:30 on the FIRST day this semester that I didn't have clinical or work to go to. :roll: And now he's piled in my lap, cutting of circulation to the lower half of my legs. Naturally, he'd like to go back to sleep now that I'm wide awake.
So, exciting news: I made my first batch of Dr. Lisa-style raw food last Saturday night, and Pablo didn't even bat an eye at the change! He still squawks for food like normal and inhales it in two minutes. But, and this may purely be coincidence or that lovely brain tumor just messin' up my numbers, he has been in the yellows since the very night I started the raw food. What the heck? Shouldn't his blood sugar decrease with raw?
I've been frustrated with his numbers because he nearly hypo'd on 6.25units (his current dose) two weeks ago, and now I can barely get a blue number on the same dose! Should I say it's the tumor and NOT the food causing the issue? I hesitate to increase because he can be so all over the place! Maybe I'll increase by a drop tonight.
As for me, I'm a bad mom because I forgot TWICE this week to get night-cycle checks. :shock: Between fundraising for Pablo's SRT at CSU on Monday night (which hasn't been going all that great) and the semester coming to a close, I've been distracted. And clearly since I've posted here twice in a month, I've been preoccupied!
One last interesting thing: We have a new vet working with us at the hospital where I work. He graduates from vet school in two weeks, and I absolutely love him to death. I would marry him today if he asked...but I digress...we have had lengthy discussions about treating diabetes and using Lantus. He actually came to me for advice about it last week! One of my favorite client's cats was diagnosed with diabetes last week after a history of MONTHLY steroid injections for several years (my vet/boss sees no problem with this treatment for mouth ulcers) and chronic PD/PU. We did an in-house blood glucose, but at my insistence, also a fructosamine. My vet literally saw the in-house BG of 499 and told me to get insulin for the cat. I was like, WAIT! I am not comfortable with just starting insulin based on ONE BG! Turns out this cat's fructosamine was horrible, but that's not the point! Anyway, this year, I've insisted that every client with a diabetic animal (we see mostly dogs...mine is the only diabetic cat) home test. We've stopped in-hospital glucose curves because I made such a stink about how inaccurate they are! :thumbup I schedule a time with every client to set up their glucometer and teach them how to test and all that jazz. It's awesome. So the new vet totally thought my idea of switching the newly-diagnosed diabetic cat to low-carb food BEFORE starting insulin was a good idea and having her test to check his BG at the same time. And he followed my suggestion of starting the new cat on 0.5 units of Lantus BID and holding the dose for one week. He sat down and discussed my thoughts on treating and actually LISTENED to me.
All I have to say is...one vet at a time!!! Now onto my boss who still thinks dosing insulin based on one BG and the cat's weight, dry Purina DM, no hometesting, and fructosamines a few times a year are all good ideas. :roll: