4/16 Morris AMPS 205; +11 79; PMPS 81; +1 181; +2.5 149

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gwen and Morris

Member Since 2009
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=12074

PMPS 405
+3 344
+6 320
+9 281
AMPS 205

He is still coming down - will be interesting to see where he goes today! I will report back in awhile with +2 results before I head off to help out in my daughter's class for a bit this morning.

WCR: All P's working just fine!

WBR: YAY! I have today off work!
 
Re: 4/16 Morris AMPS 205 and last night pokefest results!

Whooo hooo for the day off!!

It looks like there may be some NDW going on and that Morris is on his way down.
 
Re: 4/16 Morris AMPS 205; +2.5 140 & pokefest results!

OOPS! Was a little late getting home. Decided to treat myself to breakfast out after I dropped the kids off at school! LOL! Managed to pop home to check on Mr Morris though before heading to dd's school to help out for an hour or so!
 
Re: 4/16 Morris AMPS 205; +2.5 140 & pokefest results!

When you get home.. test like a mad woman.. every hour at least until he starts bouncing..
 
Re: 4/16 Morris AMPS 205; +2.5 140; +5 40!!!!

Refresh my memory.....does he get a dosecrease back down to 2.50u for hitting 40, or does he need to go below 40 for a dosecrease? I will test him again shortly.
 
Re: 4/16 Morris AMPS 205; +2.5 140; +5 40!!!!

If Morris is within one year of diagnosis, any BG less than 50 is a reduction. The revision to the Tilly protocol though, indicates you can have him really earn the decrease by having 3 below 50 numbers. A drop below 40 earns a decrease no matter what. This is close enough that you may want to decrease. The question then is whether it's a full 0.25 or a shave.

I'm at tbp and have to run. I didn't have a chance to open Morris' SS. Think about your options and what makes the most sense with respect to how well Morris holds a dose reduction. BBL.
 
Re: 4/16 Morris AMPS 205; +2.5 140; +5 40!!!!

Yeah.. when I read you had to go out to your daughters school.. you should have heard the words that came out of my mouth.. I really wanted you to catch "on the way down".. so you'd know for sure how low he was getting.. ah well.. test every 15 mins.. the good news??? is that he'll bounce and you'll get the rest of the weekend off for testing other then the normal once in a while deals :).
 
Re: 4/16 Morris AMPS 205; +2.5 140; +5 40; +5.5 47

He is rounding the corner & is on his way back up now! He has almost finnished all of the food I had put out for him this morning, so I think I will give him a little more LC Fancy Feast for an afternoon snack. I will stay home & get a +6 reading, then I need to go out again for an hour or so.
 
Re: 4/16 Morris AMPS 205; +2.5 140; +5 40

Sienne and Gabby said:
If Morris is within one year of diagnosis, any BG less than 50 is a reduction. The revision to the Tilly protocol though, indicates you can have him really earn the decrease by having 3 below 50 numbers. A drop below 40 earns a decrease no matter what. This is close enough that you may want to decrease. The question then is whether it's a full 0.25 or a shave.

I'm at tbp and have to run. I didn't have a chance to open Morris' SS. Think about your options and what makes the most sense with respect to how well Morris holds a dose reduction. BBL.
I am thinking (or, at least, hoping!) we are very close to a good dose for Morris right now. I am really feeling divided between keeping him at this dose for awhile longer (since I am home this weekend to do lots of monitoring) or to take him down to a fat 2.50u. Would appreciate any input/feedback/suggestions!
 
Re: 4/16 Morris AMPS 205; +2.5 140; +5 40; +5.5 47; +6 52; +8 43

look at Morris go!

Hmm, yes the 40 earns a reduction. With Morris, I would wait until the rebound starts to clear, and keep shooting the 2.75 for a cycle or two (or three) depending on where his numbers are going.

D talked to you about shooting early, didn't she? When he's bouncing would be a good time to try that too. Only if he's zooming up by +11, though, which he might not be yet.

You fed this +8, right? Low carb should do.
 
Re: 4/16 Morris AMPS 205; +2.5 140; +5 40; +5.5 47; +6 52; +8 43

Wow, you picked the perfect day for a poke-a-thon!
Fantastic data collecting.
 
Re: 4/16 Morris AMPS 205; +5 40; +5.5 47; +6 52; +8 43; +11 79

Libby and Lucy said:
Hmm, yes the 40 earns a reduction. With Morris, I would wait until the rebound starts to clear, and keep shooting the 2.75 for a cycle or two (or three) depending on where his numbers are going.
Well, that might be awhile at this rate! It looks like he hasn't even started towards RBC!

Libby and Lucy said:
D talked to you about shooting early, didn't she? When he's bouncing would be a good time to try that too. Only if he's zooming up by +11, though, which he might not be yet.
Not that I recall. What is shooting early?

Libby and Lucy said:
You fed this +8, right? Low carb should do.
Yes. I opened up another can of LC Fancy Feast for him after his +6 test as he did not have much food left. At +8, he still had some of that left in his dish.
 
Re: 4/16 Morris AMPS 205; +11 79 dose question

Hi Gwen!
Nice day for Morris! :mrgreen:
Are you at 11.5 now? Can you grab another test?
 
Re: 4/16 Morris AMPS 205; +11 79 dose question

No, I wouldn't think so, not the full 2.75u as usual. Morris earned his reduction today and he is not high by +11... he is still green. Take the reduction.

No shooting early either, since, again Morris is not high. I am trying to get up to speed here, but those are my quickie thoughts.

Stall a bit if you can. Test again.
 
Re: 4/16 Morris AMPS 205; +11 79; PMPS 81 dose question

CD and BigMac said:
No, I wouldn't think so, not the full 2.75u as usual. Morris earned his reduction today and he is not high by +11... he is still green. Take the reduction.
So, take him down to a fat 2.50u?
 
Re: 4/16 Morris AMPS 205; +11 79; PMPS 81 dose question

where's he at now? have another number?

i agree with carolyn. take the reduction and no shooting early tonight...
 
Re: 4/16 Morris AMPS 205; +11 79; PMPS 81 dose question

Jill & Alex said:
i agree with carolyn. take the reduction and no shooting early tonight...
I still don't understand this shooting early business
 
Re: 4/16 Morris AMPS 205; +11 79; PMPS 81 dose question

I think Libby expected a rebound by now, but it hasn't happened yet. Usually if there is a rebound from some low numbers that earned a reduction a kitty can keep the old dose for another cycle to deal with the highs of a bounce. So far that is not the case here and that is why I'd say reduce.

Shoot early only if the bounce had started early and was high, otherwise no.
 
Re: 4/16 Morris AMPS 205; +11 79; PMPS 81 dose question

Gwen and Morris said:
I still don't understand this shooting early business

If you had tested at +11 and he was in the 300's, you would know that he was well on his way to RBC. Then it would be ok to shoot at +11 or +11.5. That might help keep his rebounds from getting so high or lasting so long. But you would only want to do that at the beginning of rebound, and only if he was high. His bounce hasn't started yet, so you don't want to shoot early anyway.
 
Re: 4/16 Morris AMPS 205; +11 79; PMPS 81 dose question

if you'll be able to monitor closely, go ahead and shoot now. if it were me, i'd probably shoot a slightly fat 2.5u.

shooting early is an effective technique which can be used at the very beginning of a bounce or when the numbers are only going to go higher. the down side is it messes with your schedule because the next shot is then due 12 hours from that shot. you also have to monitor the cycle carefully because shooting early is as much as an increased dose.
 
Re: 4/16 Morris AMPS 205; +11 79; PMPS 81; +1 181

Yes, I forgot to mention with my last post that I planned on getting at +1.....for starters! Looks like he is on his way up to RBC now. Will test again in an hour or so to see how he is doing.
 
Re: 4/16 Morris AMPS 205; +11 79; PMPS 81; +1 181

Jill & Alex said:
boing! you may get some sleep tonight afterall...
Well, he is only just surfing right now.....I thought he would have been higher than this by now! I am completely exhausted though! The kids kept me hopping on what was supposed to be a nice relaxing day to myself! Never had a chance for a bit of a nap or anything today. I think I will go to bed now & do my best to get up & check on him at +6 to see where he is at then. If, however, I wake on my own before then, I will get up to check on him earlier.
 
for sure get a +6, or a +4 would be even better. Leave food out if you're going to take a nap. This is great, perfect day for collecting data and look how well Morris is doing. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top