4/16 Mooch AMPS 318 PMPS 183

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Mary

Member Since 2012
The dry food last night gave Mooch a higher reading this morning. Of the foods I left out last night he ate a bit of the Diamond beef food with the kibble mixed in but it looked like that was mainly to get the hidden kibbles. He wasn't interested in thd fresh beef except to drink the bright liquid the cooked beef was in. My cats rnjoyed yhd beef leftovers this morning which disappeared in about 30 seconds. I've made some broth with a bit more of the fresh beef and added that to thd canned food with a few kibbles on top so we'll see his that goes today. I've got a couple more brands of beef cat food to try out.

Also gradually getting the mats out of Mooch's fur. It's not bad enough to need shaving and he is grooming himself but he has a lot of small mats along his back/sides. Luckily Mooch is a love bug and will tolerate brushing out the mats as long as I do it a bit at a time.

Mooch sends smooches to everyone!
 
Re: 4/16 Mooch AMPS 318

hi lisa! welcome home! you must be so glad to be back in your own bed!

the dry food carbs might very well stay in mooch's system for another day - i think 24 hrs isn't uncommon.

as you're working on getting him eating better on the canned food - you might try poultry. i give mine some beef, but i'm always aware of Dr. Lisa's advice on http://www.catinfo.org that the bulk of a cat's diet should be what they would eat in nature - which is a mouse, birds and snakes. she encourages basing the diet on poultry because of that. like i said, i do give mine some beef, but am just thinking you'd hate to have him decide he wants steak every day! although i think any canned is better than the dry.

not trying to criticize, i hope it doesn't sound like that - just wanting to give you more info if you didn't know. you might also see some wonky numbers for another day or so from the increased dose on the pm of the 14th.
 
Re: 4/16 Mooch AMPS 318

Hi Lisa,

Glad to see you back!
I'm going to have to follow you now and see how you get him off dry. It might be harder to switch from dry to wet than to get them OTJ!
The 4 I have that are giving me a hard time are not budging!
Thanks for the advice, Julie, about the beef. I knew not to feed them too much fish or organ meet (ie liver) but didn't realize beef was included. Funny, you know for humans it's the same. Fish recommended 2x's per week especially for thyroid issues and organ food is a big no no all around I think for fat/cholesterol factor.
 
Re: 4/16 Mooch AMPS 318

Thanks Julie. At the moment I'm just trying to find any low carb food Mooch will eat enough of to keep him going without needing dry. He did initially like the Wysong food but changed his mind after a week. The best canned foods I've used in the past to get CRF cats eating wet are Hill's AD and Fancy Feast Elegant Medleys but they are both higher carb than the EVO food. I'll probably give those a go if the broth & mixing kibble in doesn't get him eating wet.

LOVES!!!!: All kibble
Likes: Broth
Meh (eats a bit but not much): Beefy cat foods, raw beef, kibble dust on wet food, catnip on wet food
Bleh (won't even touch it): Poultry canned food, fishy canned food, cooked beef

Still to try: fresh chicken - raw & cooked, baby food, a few other canned foods, AD, FF medleys
 
Mooch ate very little of the wet food today so I'm going to give him some more of thd EVO Dry and then leave him with a different wet food + broth overnight.
 
Wellness chicken and WN turkey are low carb (4%) and are relate very low in phosphorus. They are higher than the prescription diets but aren't bad. I give them to my CKD cat.

Welcome back!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top