Re: 4/16 Mom Mom AMPS 70,+1 110,+4 214,+6 336,+8 518, +10 48
I also agree on keeping the 0.25u tonight and then giving one drop less than 0.25u tomorrow morning. I would draw up the 0.25u, then with the syringe needle pointed up towards the ceiling, "screw" the plunger to work out one small drop. That would be her new dose and you would stick with it until you catch a number less than 50.
She is bouncing. She no doubt got lower last night. Consider that if she was 434 at pmps last night, then 244 two hours later, she dropped 100 points per hour. She may have been 44 by +4 - we don't know. We can't assume the per hour rate is going to stay the same, but that's a very fast drop. In any cat, 100 points per hour is enough to set off a bounce by itself. We like their drops to be as gentle as possible, less than 50 points per hour would be better. a well-regulated cat starting the day at 70 might not move more than 20 points in the entire cycle.
If you were going to be home this morning you could probably have shot - but i'd have reduced less than 0.25u, given that it's likely she was less than 50 during the night.
In any case, she is showing signs that her pancreas is sputtering back to life. that's why she is needing less and less insulin. So this is all good, even if it is a little hair-raising to be going through it.
Here are a couple of spreadsheets that I'd like to suggest you look at.
Jersey - look at her numbers beginning April 3rd with the pmps. Shelly shot a 93 that evening, and Jersey's numbers flattened out in the 70's. That was really the beginning of her moving off of insulin.
Davidson Look at his numbers beginning February 9th. Shawna shot a 92 in the morning and he stayed above 70 all day. Then as she continued to shoot (for another 2+ months) Davidson's body gradually began producing more of his own insulin, she gradually reduced the dose, and now he's on day 1 of his OTJ trial.
The reason I'm suggesting you look at these very different two spreadsheets is because cats do things their own way. It's obvious that Mom Mom is healing and she likely is going towards being off of insulin, and our job is to help her get there safely. You're headed into a kind of intensive phase where you're going to need to do a lot of testing to keep her safe. The reward, though, is that everything here says that she may be off of insulin before long.
You're going to need to learn to shoot green numbers. She's giving you the opportunity to help her heal - you are very lucky, because not every cat does this! When she gives you lower preshot numbers you're going to want to gradually lower the number the number you feel safe shooting until you're shooting all the preshots over 50ish. You shot a 129 on april 8th. She went down to 56 but stayed safe. You did a great job of testing her that day, by the way!
Each time you shoot a number lower than you have before, get a minimum of a +1 and a +2. If you're nervous, get a +0.5 (a half hour after her shot.) Look at the change from the preshot number to the +1 and +2 - you want to make sure she's not diving - those numbers will tell you where she is going and how fast she is going.
What you can see when looking at these other spreadsheets is that by shooting lower numbers, the cat's blood sugar will become a flat line all day. when that happens, mom-mom's body will get used to being in normal green numbers and will stop bouncing from them. and when she stops bouncing, you're likely going to have a solid green kitty. hopefully!
How does all of this sound to you? any questions or thoughts you want help with?