4/16 Mom Mom AMPS 70,+1 110,+4 214,+6 336,+8 518, +10 485

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mom-Mom

Member Since 2014
Mom-mom sure is bouncing today. Hopefully after tonight when she gets her shot she will straighten out. What do you think? Should I stay with 0.25?
 
Re: 4/16 Mom Mom AMPS 70,+1 110,+4 214,+6 336,+8 518, +10 48

Has anyone explained the drop method for dosing yet?

Basically, you practice measuring out even sized drops from 0.5 units (use an old syringe and a colored liquid, like coffee or tea). It can help to slowly turn the plunger as ou squeeze out drops. When you can reliably create the same number of drops in 0.5 units, you figure out how many would be 0.25 units and then reduce the dose by 1 drop.

You might do that for the next time you shoot, as ideally, you want to give the same dose every 12 hours. Does that make sense?
 
Re: 4/16 Mom Mom AMPS 70,+1 110,+4 214,+6 336,+8 518, +10 48

Great job opening up a new "condo," Laura! :-D That's exactly what you need to do each day.

I don't advise on dosing - I don't have the experience necessary. I'm sure our experienced users will be along soon to help you out.

In the meantime, hang in there. I know it's hard to see those high numbers!
Shelly
 
Re: 4/16 Mom Mom AMPS 70,+1 110,+4 214,+6 336,+8 518, +10 48

I agree that more testing was needed last night when you saw that big drop at +2. I know it's hard to test at night, but setting alarms to get up and test and then go directly back to sleep if you can, is how I try to do it.

I think you could try to give a S0.25 tomorrow morning. That means shoot through the bounce (if you wish to) tonight and give the regular dose of 0.25, and then try to shoot just a teeny bit less tomorrow morning. And try to remember what the teeny bit less looks like, so you can be consistant for each cycle. I used to use colored water (cranbury juice, I think) and made a sample syringe and then would compare my dose to the sample syringe each time to try to be as consistant as possible.
 
Re: 4/16 Mom Mom AMPS 70,+1 110,+4 214,+6 336,+8 518, +10 48

I also agree on keeping the 0.25u tonight and then giving one drop less than 0.25u tomorrow morning. I would draw up the 0.25u, then with the syringe needle pointed up towards the ceiling, "screw" the plunger to work out one small drop. That would be her new dose and you would stick with it until you catch a number less than 50.

She is bouncing. She no doubt got lower last night. Consider that if she was 434 at pmps last night, then 244 two hours later, she dropped 100 points per hour. She may have been 44 by +4 - we don't know. We can't assume the per hour rate is going to stay the same, but that's a very fast drop. In any cat, 100 points per hour is enough to set off a bounce by itself. We like their drops to be as gentle as possible, less than 50 points per hour would be better. a well-regulated cat starting the day at 70 might not move more than 20 points in the entire cycle.

If you were going to be home this morning you could probably have shot - but i'd have reduced less than 0.25u, given that it's likely she was less than 50 during the night.

In any case, she is showing signs that her pancreas is sputtering back to life. that's why she is needing less and less insulin. So this is all good, even if it is a little hair-raising to be going through it.

Here are a couple of spreadsheets that I'd like to suggest you look at.

Jersey - look at her numbers beginning April 3rd with the pmps. Shelly shot a 93 that evening, and Jersey's numbers flattened out in the 70's. That was really the beginning of her moving off of insulin.

Davidson Look at his numbers beginning February 9th. Shawna shot a 92 in the morning and he stayed above 70 all day. Then as she continued to shoot (for another 2+ months) Davidson's body gradually began producing more of his own insulin, she gradually reduced the dose, and now he's on day 1 of his OTJ trial.

The reason I'm suggesting you look at these very different two spreadsheets is because cats do things their own way. It's obvious that Mom Mom is healing and she likely is going towards being off of insulin, and our job is to help her get there safely. You're headed into a kind of intensive phase where you're going to need to do a lot of testing to keep her safe. The reward, though, is that everything here says that she may be off of insulin before long.

You're going to need to learn to shoot green numbers. She's giving you the opportunity to help her heal - you are very lucky, because not every cat does this! When she gives you lower preshot numbers you're going to want to gradually lower the number the number you feel safe shooting until you're shooting all the preshots over 50ish. You shot a 129 on april 8th. She went down to 56 but stayed safe. You did a great job of testing her that day, by the way!

Each time you shoot a number lower than you have before, get a minimum of a +1 and a +2. If you're nervous, get a +0.5 (a half hour after her shot.) Look at the change from the preshot number to the +1 and +2 - you want to make sure she's not diving - those numbers will tell you where she is going and how fast she is going.

What you can see when looking at these other spreadsheets is that by shooting lower numbers, the cat's blood sugar will become a flat line all day. when that happens, mom-mom's body will get used to being in normal green numbers and will stop bouncing from them. and when she stops bouncing, you're likely going to have a solid green kitty. hopefully!

How does all of this sound to you? any questions or thoughts you want help with?
 
Re: 4/16 Mom Mom AMPS 70,+1 110,+4 214,+6 336,+8 518, +10 48

OMG This is all so overwhelming but, nevertheless it sounds like I am (kinda) on the right track maybe? I know I have to PM test. I will set me alarm to go off 2 or 4 times tonight. Hopefully, I will see some good results. In a way Im glad I didn't see a real low reading last night or I would have been freakin out all night for sure. Obviously, I can't handle this very well, it's only because I'm scared to death to loose this cat. I gave up everything about any kind of social life when she got sick. I'm here till she gets thru this, hopefully not REAL long. Thank You so much ladies, I don't know what I would have done without the advice from "My girls". LOL
 
Re: 4/16 Mom Mom AMPS 70,+1 110,+4 214,+6 336,+8 518, +10 48

I don't know how or even why but, I messed up. When it was time for mom-moms shot I had company unannounced stop by. After she left @ 9:15pm I went to bed. Then I realized I never gave mom her shot. I just gave it to her now. She is at a 579. How is that going to affect the schedule for tommorrow. I do have my alarm set to test 2 other times tonight??
 
Re: 4/16 Mom Mom AMPS 70,+1 110,+4 214,+6 336,+8 518, +10 48

your next shot is due 12 hrs from the shot tonight. i don't know what it will do - i guess you will find out! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top