4/16 Leo's 10-year OTJ Anniversary!

Lisa & Leo

Member Since 2012
Hi LL!

Long time no condo! Just wanted to stop by with updated news on Leo, who was on Lantus A DECADE AGO and we got him OTJ on the tight regulation protocol. He officially went Off The Juice 10 YEARS AGO TODAY!!! Good Boy!

Found his OTJ Party Video and his OTJ Condo!

For all of you with challenging bouncing kitties, keep it up - it IS possible. Leo was a VERY bouncy boy, but he was young (about 2 years old) and we caught the diabetes early. He bounced and bounced and we tested and tested...and I STILL have an alarm on my phone for 1:15 am when we used to do the PM cycle nadir test. Haven't used that alarm in a while, but it's a regular reminder all we went through and what a trouper the little guy was. At that time, I commuted out of state every week to a weekday apartment and he hated the 4 hour drive (barfs, pees, poops, cries), but he was a Commuting Kitty so we could keep with the protocol.

Leo is now 13, still FIV positive but his diabetes is wonderfully food-controlled with a homemade diet. I used the catinfo.org diet until this year, but he's developed struvite crystals in his urine so we're reformulating a new homemade diet ... right now the dietitian has us using oysters, eggs and chicken...Leo LOVES IT but oh my is it stinky!! He remains my lap cat and still chases his brother Mako around the house at all hours.

I'd link Leo's last condo or his OTJ party but the post history doesn't go back that far, lol. But here are pictures of his handsome self, this morning's very nice BG of 75 (I test him about 4 times a year), and Leo and Mako getting "first taste" in a batch of catfood.

Have a wonderful Sunday and share scritches with your babies in celebration of Leo's 10 year OTJ anniversary!

Best,
Lisa & Leo
upload_2023-4-16_6-48-56.jpeg
upload_2023-4-16_6-49-11.jpeg
upload_2023-4-16_6-49-28.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-4-16_6-48-56.jpeg
    upload_2023-4-16_6-48-56.jpeg
    97 KB · Views: 138
  • upload_2023-4-16_6-49-11.jpeg
    upload_2023-4-16_6-49-11.jpeg
    49.4 KB · Views: 140
  • upload_2023-4-16_6-49-28.jpeg
    upload_2023-4-16_6-49-28.jpeg
    100.3 KB · Views: 146
Last edited:
I'm soooooo happy to read how well things are going. Sorry to hear about the struvite :(.
Your kitties are GORGEOUS!
Thank you from the bottom of my bouncy-kitty momma's heart ❤️.
Happy Ten Year Anniversary
 
Happy 10 year anniversary! Looks like Leo was one of those kitties we hear about that bounce all the way to remission! :smuggrin:
Thank you for your document on Traveling with Diabetic Kitties. It's still being shared here :bighug:
 
Hi @Bandit's Mom - yes he bounced and then all the sudden his pancreas "got the message" and I was shocked how it just settled down! I'm glad our travel document is still being helpful - we had the opportunity to test many configurations. Leo still is a terrible traveler - he tries his best but his body does not comply. Thank you and good luck with your handsome girl! <3

Hi @Angela & Cleo - they certainly are a handsome pair, aren't they? And they KNOW IT! Hopefully the struvite thing will work itself out with the new diet but thank you for the kind words!
 
Hi @Amy & Herman - I can't believe it's been 10 years, for sure! Herman has adorable (ahem sorry, HANDSOME) white floof!

@Diane Tyler's Mom - thank you for the lovely GIF and your kind words - I just woke Leo up wishing him a happy anniversary and now of course he wants a SNACK! :D

@Ariana - thanks so much! Leo is lounging and being his regular spoiled self today! Congrats in your home for OTJ as well!
 
Hi Lisa. It's great to hear Leo is doing so well. I remember your commutes to your apartment. You were such a dedicated cat mom. Leo is so lucky to have you. Thanks for stopping by and giving us something to celebrate. :):):):cat::cat::cat::D:D:D
 
Hi Lisa, it's great to see you and get a handsome Leo update. Leo was one of Neko's favourite rainbow companions.

I still use Leo as an example of stress induced numbers. For anyone interested, take a look at end of March/early April 2013 and see what happened to his numbers just before and during his OTJ trial when he had to get in that dreaded car.

Interesting on the oysters in the diet, first I've heard of that. Spoiled kitty! :)
 
@Mikanmama - I'm glad Leo's story can be an inspiration - I am truly indebted to FDMB and the great folks here for the companionship and advice and also the fun times we could have while dealing with the crazy numbers. Good luck!

@carfurby (GA) - it is great to hear from you after all this time! Those commutes were definitely crazy times, and I look back and sometime can't believe what we actually did to get Leo off insulin. A commuting kitty! He also saved me a ton of money because I had to move to an apartment closer to my work, which ended up being much cheaper, so funny how things come out. I look at old pictures of him in the car and tell him what a GOOD BOY he was putting up with all that!

@Wendy&Neko - it is great to hear from you! Ah, those late nights and long days with our bouncing rainbow kitties - brings back a bit of stress but also the wonderful companionship of FDMB. Oh my gosh I will remember how stressed I WAS anticipating how Leo would do in the car during his OTJ trial - crazy you remember that! I NEVER had to worry about him going low during a commute, lol. As for the oysters, I don't know if that will be his final diet (it is expensive and stinky compared to a chicken/liver/egg recipe) but it's what the dietitian suggested and we're always up for exploring new things. Oh he loves it! Thanks for stopping by to say hi!
 
Back
Top