Lisa & Leo
Member Since 2012
Hi LL!
Long time no condo! Just wanted to stop by with updated news on Leo, who was on Lantus A DECADE AGO and we got him OTJ on the tight regulation protocol. He officially went Off The Juice 10 YEARS AGO TODAY!!! Good Boy!
Found his OTJ Party Video and his OTJ Condo!
For all of you with challenging bouncing kitties, keep it up - it IS possible. Leo was a VERY bouncy boy, but he was young (about 2 years old) and we caught the diabetes early. He bounced and bounced and we tested and tested...and I STILL have an alarm on my phone for 1:15 am when we used to do the PM cycle nadir test. Haven't used that alarm in a while, but it's a regular reminder all we went through and what a trouper the little guy was. At that time, I commuted out of state every week to a weekday apartment and he hated the 4 hour drive (barfs, pees, poops, cries), but he was a Commuting Kitty so we could keep with the protocol.
Leo is now 13, still FIV positive but his diabetes is wonderfully food-controlled with a homemade diet. I used the catinfo.org diet until this year, but he's developed struvite crystals in his urine so we're reformulating a new homemade diet ... right now the dietitian has us using oysters, eggs and chicken...Leo LOVES IT but oh my is it stinky!! He remains my lap cat and still chases his brother Mako around the house at all hours.
I'd link Leo's last condo or his OTJ party but the post history doesn't go back that far, lol. But here are pictures of his handsome self, this morning's very nice BG of 75 (I test him about 4 times a year), and Leo and Mako getting "first taste" in a batch of catfood.
Have a wonderful Sunday and share scritches with your babies in celebration of Leo's 10 year OTJ anniversary!
Best,
Lisa & Leo
Long time no condo! Just wanted to stop by with updated news on Leo, who was on Lantus A DECADE AGO and we got him OTJ on the tight regulation protocol. He officially went Off The Juice 10 YEARS AGO TODAY!!! Good Boy!
Found his OTJ Party Video and his OTJ Condo!
For all of you with challenging bouncing kitties, keep it up - it IS possible. Leo was a VERY bouncy boy, but he was young (about 2 years old) and we caught the diabetes early. He bounced and bounced and we tested and tested...and I STILL have an alarm on my phone for 1:15 am when we used to do the PM cycle nadir test. Haven't used that alarm in a while, but it's a regular reminder all we went through and what a trouper the little guy was. At that time, I commuted out of state every week to a weekday apartment and he hated the 4 hour drive (barfs, pees, poops, cries), but he was a Commuting Kitty so we could keep with the protocol.
Leo is now 13, still FIV positive but his diabetes is wonderfully food-controlled with a homemade diet. I used the catinfo.org diet until this year, but he's developed struvite crystals in his urine so we're reformulating a new homemade diet ... right now the dietitian has us using oysters, eggs and chicken...Leo LOVES IT but oh my is it stinky!! He remains my lap cat and still chases his brother Mako around the house at all hours.
I'd link Leo's last condo or his OTJ party but the post history doesn't go back that far, lol. But here are pictures of his handsome self, this morning's very nice BG of 75 (I test him about 4 times a year), and Leo and Mako getting "first taste" in a batch of catfood.
Have a wonderful Sunday and share scritches with your babies in celebration of Leo's 10 year OTJ anniversary!
Best,
Lisa & Leo
Attachments
Last edited:


