4/16 Kushi PMPS~98 +1~92 +2~75 +11~119

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joe & Kushi

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's Condo
Shaving a bit off her .5u this a.m.. Amn I looking at another dose decrease. I am now concerned about testing her too much. Kushi has now bitten me twice and snarled when I get ready to test. She has never done that before. I know this is not hurting her as she never flinches when I stick nor does it seem that her ears are sore. Comments please.
 
Re: 4/16 Kushi AMPS~79 QUESTION

I'd be careful about decreasing the dose too rapidly. Wait until Kushi earns the reduction.

I'd make sure to give Kushi treats -- maybe before a test as well as after. There have been a few cats who get cranky about testing because they think they're done with insulin.
 
Re: 4/16 Kushi AMPS~79 QUESTION

Sienne and Gabby said:
I'd be careful about decreasing the dose too rapidly. Wait until Kushi earns the reduction.

I'd make sure to give Kushi treats -- maybe before a test as well as after. There have been a few cats who get cranky about testing because they think they're done with insulin.

I already shaved the dose slightly.

I always give her treats after, so will start giving them before. :smile: I told her this morning NOT to "bite the hand that feeds her"! :lol:
 
Re: 4/16 Kushi AMPS~79 +~66 +2.25~47

wow, she is getting below 50 every day, isn't she? what great numbers for her, even if it does keep you busy!

are you putting the neosporin ointment with pain relief on her ears?

punkin has been cranky with me about testing lately - he doesn't ever bite but he wants down. he's also been twitching his ears every single time i get ready to poke him.
 
Re: 4/16 Kushi AMPS~79 +~66 +2.25~47

julie1220 said:
wow, she is getting below 50 every day, isn't she? what great numbers for her, even if it does keep you busy!

are you putting the neosporin ointment with pain relief on her ears?

She is certainly keeping me busy. Which brings up the point....we will be headed to church tomorrow, about 10 mins after AMPS. Will probably be gone until about 1pm. Not sure how to handle this since she seems to go "low" frequently. Any advice?

Yes, I am using the neosporin.
 
Re: 4/16 Kushi AMPS~79 +~66 +2.25~47

Sienne and Gabby said:
It looks like Kushi wants a new dose. How does 0.25u sound?

Sounds fine to me, Sienne; just not sure if I can nail it consistently though. :-D Should I start that @ PMPS or wait till tomorrow's AMPS. I have to figure out how to handle being gone tomorrow after shot @ 8 a.m. ????
 
Re: 4/16 Kushi AMPS~79 +~66 +2.75~47 +3.5~62 +4~80 +10~89

Since Kushi has earned another dose decrease (.25u), can I assume we can start that tonight?
 
Re: 4/16 Kushi PMPS~98

Kushi threw up(3x) ten minutes after eating. This is the first time she has thrown up since putting her on wet food.
 
Re: 4/16 Kushi PMPS~98

I wonder if she's not feeling good for some reason. Hmmmmm... As far as you leaving tomorrow for church, if it were me, I would leave some HC food out for her. I am certainly no expert as I have only been dealing with this for about 2 1/2 months now but that is what I would do. I hope some other more experienced will give you their advice. Good luck and I hope Kushi is ok.
 
Re: 4/16 Kushi PMPS~98

marleesan71 said:
I wonder if she's not feeling good for some reason. Hmmmmm... As far as you leaving tomorrow for church, if it were me, I would leave some HC food out for her. I am certainly no expert as I have only been dealing with this for about 2 1/2 months now but that is what I would do. I hope some other more experienced will give you their advice. Good luck and I hope Kushi is ok.

Thanks, she seems o.k. now.

Tomorrow's church dilemma, solved. We will go to late service and that will give me time to test, shoot and monitor. If anything looks "iffy" I will leave a small amount of HC out. It is amazing how quickly the HC brings the BG level up.
 
Re: 4/16 Kushi PMPS~98 +1~92

Sounds like a plan for tomorrow. I'm glad you dropped the dose tonight. It will give the shed a chance to drain and hopefully, give you a little breathing room tomorrow.

Generally, you'll know by the numbers if a diabetic kitty is sick. Infections will raise BG numbers.
 
Re: 4/16 Kushi PMPS~98 +1~92

Sienne and Gabby said:
Sounds like a plan for tomorrow. I'm glad you dropped the dose tonight. It will give the shed a chance to drain and hopefully, give you a little breathing room tomorrow.

Generally, you'll know by the numbers if a diabetic kitty is sick. Infections will raise BG numbers.

Ah yes, breathing room; that's what I need. ;-) Leave a little food for tonight and check her in the morning. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top