4/16 Ivy Amps 79 Contour, +2 105, +4 69 L, +6 Lo L/90 C, +8 118, +10 321, Pmps 400, +3.25 297 Libre

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
4/15/24
Amps 79 on Contour meter with ear prick.

Good morning :coffee::coffee:
:eek:
Another long night on the sofa. Ivy surfed in lower numbers all night long. At +10 (4 am) she dropped to Lo on Libre and I tested her a few times on Contour.
Got 63, 90, then 96 on Contour meter within a 1/2 hour or so.
I also fed a teaspoon of 6% before I began any testing since I didn’t realize she was going to drop quite so low.
(She started in the 40s and I thought I would give her a teaspoon just to see if I could get some food into her two hours before it was time to test feed and shoot.)

She surfed very low until time to prep food and tested her on Contour, got 79.
Fed 9.25% to try to keep her a bit boosted, shot full dose 4.75 units (Day 2)

Very, very tired, barely slept. I’m not sure how long I can keep at this no sleep thing every night so she can be in lower numbers. Seems unsustainable forever…is there hope???:arghh:

Must work today but at home, will monitor. :blackeye:
Have a safe day everyone :cat:

Just for kicks, here’s a visual of overnight
upload_2024-4-16_6-49-52.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-4-16_6-49-52.jpeg
    upload_2024-4-16_6-49-52.jpeg
    21.4 KB · Views: 168
Looks like Shooter and Ivy had a little down low date night last night. lol Glad they are both doing well. Hopefully because they were out so late they will be too tired to move a whole lot today. I know their mama's are tired from staying up worrying about what they were up to. ;)

What is the lowest number the Libre reads before it just says Lo?
 
Looks like Shooter and Ivy had a little down low date night last night. lol Glad they are both doing well. Hopefully because they were out so late they will be too tired to move a whole lot today. I know their mama's are tired from staying up worrying about what they were up to. ;)

What is the lowest number the Libre reads before it just says Lo?
Hi Heather. Sorry you also had a long active no sleep night too :banghead::blackeye:
The Libre goes down to 40 then next reads as Lo, which is normally when I blood test her and see under 100 on the Contour.

Glad Shooter is ok!
Wishing you a safe day ahead. :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Oh my. Sorry Staci for such a rough night!
Great to see Ivy in the lovely dark green! :D
Ivy's certainly working the juice, trying her best to get regulated, but it's just so hard on you.
I'm afraid it gets harder as Ivy starts showing more dark greens, particularly late in the PM cycle.
I wish there were easier way for you! Perhaps Ivy gets more used to the hand-held test? Then at least, you don't have to be waken by the alarm all the time when she is doing well?
Gosh, this is tough!
Hope you have time to rest today to compensate for the lack of sleep last night.
Sending you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh my. Sorry Staci for such a rough night!
Great to see Ivy in the lovely dark green! :D
Ivy's certainly working the juice, trying her best to get regulated, but it's just so hard on you.
I'm afraid it gets harder as Ivy starts showing more dark greens, particularly late in the PM cycle.
I wish there were easier way for you! Perhaps Ivy gets more used to the hand-held test? Then at least, you don't have to be waken by the alarm all the time when she is doing well?
Gosh, this is tough!
Hope you have time to rest today to compensate for the lack of sleep last night.
Sending you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
HI Kit, I know her numbers are lovely. However.....oy at what cost. I actually had to have my husband hold her still this morning at AMPS because she was NOT gonna let me test her after all the pokes we did overnight. She was FURIOUS. Sigh :blackeye:

I truly wish she were an easier cat to handle. It's amazing I get as many tests in and give shots 2x a day. She's the definition of fractious. (and then when she's calm she with me wants to knead on me, but on HER terms).

This is definitely tough! :banghead:
Hope you have a great day and thanks for your support, it's truly appreciated :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good meowning Staci and Ivy!
What a night you two had :coffee::coffee::coffee::coffee::coffee:
Sending a crate of CATpuccinos.
It's beautiful to see her green pre-shot this AM but also hoping she settles does and purrrrhaps gets bored of these nightly beach visits. We all know how it feels to be sleep deprived.
Please take care of yourself as well as Ivy needs you. You're both doing a wonderful job.
Happy tuesday
upload_2024-4-16_10-37-55.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-4-16_10-37-55.png
    upload_2024-4-16_10-37-55.png
    67.9 KB · Views: 249
Good meowning Staci and Ivy!
What a night you two had :coffee::coffee::coffee::coffee::coffee:
Sending a crate of CATpuccinos.
It's beautiful to see her green pre-shot this AM but also hoping she settles does and purrrrhaps gets bored of these nightly beach visits. We all know how it feels to be sleep deprived.
Please take care of yourself as well as Ivy needs you. You're both doing a wonderful job.
Happy tuesday
View attachment 69877
Thank you, Karolina, I appreciate your sweet wishes! These nights are killer. She was not happy with me all night long poking her. It was rough :blackeye:
Wishing you, Nestle and Peanut a wonderful day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
hey Staci, you don't know how awful I feel for you when you are up all night :bighug::bighug:. Everyday I check to see how she did during the night cycle and then say to myself God Damit :banghead:
Her numbers are good today but I get what you mean ,what's she going to do during the night.
I'll try sending good vibes for both of you during the night cycle ♥
Sending you lots of hugs and strength :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Proud of you and Ivy, Stac.

While those lower numbers can be scary, Ivy is staying safe. In fact, she's staying very safe. Try to let those libre numbers roll off of you because they off when she's on the lower end of her bg.

Hopeful she starts eating better. Did you start new meds or supplements around the time her appetite decreased?

I'm hopeful you are able to get some sleep this evening. I didn't count how many cycles she's been with this new dose. If it's been 6, you should be able to worry a little less.
 
hey Staci, you don't know how awful I feel for you when you are up all night :bighug::bighug:. Everyday I check to see how she did during the night cycle and then say to myself God Damit :banghead:
Her numbers are good today but I get what you mean ,what's she going to do during the night.
I'll try sending good vibes for both of you during the night cycle ♥
Sending you lots of hugs and strength :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you so much for the sweet support, Diane. It’s been a very rough week. We are happy to receive the hugs and strength. We need them both.
Sending you back the same sweet Diane :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Proud of you and Ivy, Stac.

While those lower numbers can be scary, Ivy is staying safe. In fact, she's staying very safe. Try to let those libre numbers roll off of you because they off when she's on the lower end of her bg.

Hopeful she starts eating better. Did you start new meds or supplements around the time her appetite decreased?

I'm hopeful you are able to get some sleep this evening. I didn't count how many cycles she's been with this new dose. If it's been 6, you should be able to worry a little less.
Hi Sybil, nice to see you. Hope you are both well!! Thanks for the support.
It’s been a bit of a rough patch lately. Even more than before as we push Ivy harder. I’m not getting sleep and she’s not a happy girl with much more poking.
Plus she feels not great I think since her hyperthyroid diagnosis in Later March. She’s now on meds for that so probably adjusting to that.
Her appetite has been off since February to some degree. She’s stopped eating from her feeder for snacks, which makes things harder and I could count on her eating from that when I go out (on a rare occasion, like 1x a week).
Sooo, trying to figure out an alternative to dosing for her.

Thanks for checking in! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
My female (nondiabetic) require transdermal mirtazapine sometimes. She's never been food motivated and since removing kibble from the house, she is even less interested. I have to make sure she gets around 200 per day. I hate using it, but I don't have a choice when she goes several days without her daily caloric intake. May give that a try until you find out what is causing the app decrease or the recent disinterest.

I'm happy you were able to get her diagnosed (hyperthyroidism), but I am sorry both of you are struggling right now. If you are both exhausted and pissed (Ivy), maybe be less aggressive for a bit. I do understand seeing those lower numbers can be scary, but she has definitely remained safe. I can say this to you all day, but if you fear she is unsafe, my words wont change that. The libre's alarms, low numbers, and graphs can be so alarming, but it isn't accurate when they are that low, as you know. For me, it would make me absolutely insane to be scared like that constantly unless I could separate the actual numbers and information from the libre data. I do understand you can't remove the libre because you want to survive under the same roof as the Queen. Maybe just try and give you and her a break for a few days. If you aren't rested and taking care of you, I'm afraid you will burn completely out. Can't pour from an empty cup, sista.

Hugs to you both. Breathe. Have a good meal. Soak in the tub with some wine.

Base is on the highest dose he has ever been on too, since the move. He had 3 decreases before the move. While it is discouraging, he needs what he needs. He has lost some weight since the move. He loves his new backyard. He doesn't love his new roommates. One of the many reasons I love cats is their personalities. It can also be very challenging, as you know.

Again, take care of you, please. Even if it is for just a few evenings in a row. I have na idea, take care of you the way you take care of the Queen for the nest few days. I guarantee you that you will feel better.
 
Pmps 400. :mad:
Well I suppose she earned this bounce from the extreme Libre lows she had overnight. While testing her she was safe, it’s just the intensity of testing….

It looks like I may be switching gears a little bit and trying a custom dosing approach. Who knows if this will work but will give it a shot and see what happens.
I think I’m going to dial down her dose a bit to see if we can make things a little less intense for her and me. I can’t keep going without any sleep night after night because she’s going low all night on the Libre and needs to be tested throughout the night.

She’s also getting very pissed off at me with all the testing constantly because of all the Lows so I feel like I need to back that off a little bit. I can’t have her afraid of me touching and handling her so much.

Will try reducing the dose a bit and see where we go.
I started with a drop to 4.5 units tonight and I think I will try that for a few days to try to drain this depot a little bit and then maybe go down to 4.25 units again and see how that works out.

I think I was getting a little bit more sleep on that 4.25 unit dose and things were a bit more manageable for her and me.

I hate giving up lots of greens, but they’re also has to be a balance in some fashion for both of us.
Please wish us luck and will certainly keep you posted how things are going. Hope this idea works. :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
I think your new action plan seems like a sound idea. You can't help her or think straight if you're out of sorts, too. Perhaps you both just need a break to take a step back and then reassess.

I hope this will be a good approach and that you both get to take a breather. Kind of like not being able to see the forest for the trees, so we need to step back and get a broader view. :bighug:
 
I think your new action plan seems like a sound idea. You can't help her or think straight if you're out of sorts, too. Perhaps you both just need a break to take a step back and then reassess.

I hope this will be a good approach and that you both get to take a breather. Kind of like not being able to see the forest for the trees, so we need to step back and get a broader view. :bighug:
Thank you, Janet. Your assessment is spot on. I just hope we can get back on track with a little reset. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
My female (nondiabetic) require transdermal mirtazapine sometimes. She's never been food motivated and since removing kibble from the house, she is even less interested. I have to make sure she gets around 200 per day. I hate using it, but I don't have a choice when she goes several days without her daily caloric intake. May give that a try until you find out what is causing the app decrease or the recent disinterest.

I'm happy you were able to get her diagnosed (hyperthyroidism), but I am sorry both of you are struggling right now. If you are both exhausted and pissed (Ivy), maybe be less aggressive for a bit. I do understand seeing those lower numbers can be scary, but she has definitely remained safe. I can say this to you all day, but if you fear she is unsafe, my words wont change that. The libre's alarms, low numbers, and graphs can be so alarming, but it isn't accurate when they are that low, as you know. For me, it would make me absolutely insane to be scared like that constantly unless I could separate the actual numbers and information from the libre data. I do understand you can't remove the libre because you want to survive under the same roof as the Queen. Maybe just try and give you and her a break for a few days. If you aren't rested and taking care of you, I'm afraid you will burn completely out. Can't pour from an empty cup, sista.

Hugs to you both. Breathe. Have a good meal. Soak in the tub with some wine.

Base is on the highest dose he has ever been on too, since the move. He had 3 decreases before the move. While it is discouraging, he needs what he needs. He has lost some weight since the move. He loves his new backyard. He doesn't love his new roommates. One of the many reasons I love cats is their personalities. It can also be very challenging, as you know.

Again, take care of you, please. Even if it is for just a few evenings in a row. I have na idea, take care of you the way you take care of the Queen for the nest few days. I guarantee you that you will feel better.
Thanks for your great suggestions and caring post, Sybil. I’m so glad Base is doing well. I do think we need to be a bit less aggressive right now so I can get a little rest and she can get less stressed by all the testing. Hopefully that may help.
Thanks for checking in with us :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Pmps 400. :mad:
Well I suppose she earned this bounce from the extreme Libre lows she had overnight. While testing her she was safe, it’s just the intensity of testing….

It looks like I may be switching gears a little bit and trying a custom dosing approach. Who knows if this will work but will give it a shot and see what happens.
I think I’m going to dial down her dose a bit to see if we can make things a little less intense for her and me. I can’t keep going without any sleep night after night because she’s going low all night on the Libre and needs to be tested throughout the night.

She’s also getting very pissed off at me with all the testing constantly because of all the Lows so I feel like I need to back that off a little bit. I can’t have her afraid of me touching and handling her so much.

Will try reducing the dose a bit and see where we go.
I started with a drop to 4.5 units tonight and I think I will try that for a few days to try to drain this depot a little bit and then maybe go down to 4.25 units again and see how that works out.

I think I was getting a little bit more sleep on that 4.25 unit dose and things were a bit more manageable for her and me.

I hate giving up lots of greens, but they’re also has to be a balance in some fashion for both of us.
Please wish us luck and will certainly keep you posted how things are going. Hope this idea works. :bighug::cat::bighug:

I think you might be on to something. Definitely give yourself a break and finally get some sleep. Like Janet said you can't help Ivy if you're struggling yourself. And sleep deprivation does crazy things to your mind. Trust me, I've been there for many reasons in the past :confused:
I hope this new way works for both of you. But most importantly I hope you finally get some sleep tonight. After a few days if this doesn't work you can come back to the drawing board and re-asses. I know you only have Ivy's best interest at heart, otherwise you wouldn't be doing it ❤️

Wishing you a good night with plenty of sleep
:cat::bighug::cat::bighug:
 
That sounds like a great plan for both you and Ivy. I don't do well with lack of sleep for more than a night so I don't know how you have been able to manage it.
Hope you had better sleep last night and you and Ivy both feel better today. As the saying goes, if Momma ain't happy, nobody is. :cat:
 
I think you might be on to something. Definitely give yourself a break and finally get some sleep. Like Janet said you can't help Ivy if you're struggling yourself. And sleep deprivation does crazy things to your mind. Trust me, I've been there for many reasons in the past :confused:
I hope this new way works for both of you. But most importantly I hope you finally get some sleep tonight. After a few days if this doesn't work you can come back to the drawing board and re-asses. I know you only have Ivy's best interest at heart, otherwise you wouldn't be doing it ❤️

Wishing you a good night with plenty of sleep
:cat::bighug::cat::bighug:
Thanks, Karolina. I hope a little reset or something will help. I’m trying to figure out a solution, but no sleep for like a week is devastating. I just can’t function.
Hoping something will help here.
Thanks for the gentle support, it is appreciated more than I can express :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
That sounds like a great plan for both you and Ivy. I don't do well with lack of sleep for more than a night so I don't know how you have been able to manage it.
Hope you had better sleep last night and you and Ivy both feel better today. As the saying goes, if Momma ain't happy, nobody is. :cat:
Thanks, Vicki, we really appreciate your support. It’s been a really rough patch. Hoping this helps a bit get us on track. :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Pmps 400. :mad:
Well I suppose she earned this bounce from the extreme Libre lows she had overnight. While testing her she was safe, it’s just the intensity of testing….

It looks like I may be switching gears a little bit and trying a custom dosing approach. Who knows if this will work but will give it a shot and see what happens.
I think I’m going to dial down her dose a bit to see if we can make things a little less intense for her and me. I can’t keep going without any sleep night after night because she’s going low all night on the Libre and needs to be tested throughout the night.

She’s also getting very pissed off at me with all the testing constantly because of all the Lows so I feel like I need to back that off a little bit. I can’t have her afraid of me touching and handling her so much.

Will try reducing the dose a bit and see where we go.
I started with a drop to 4.5 units tonight and I think I will try that for a few days to try to drain this depot a little bit and then maybe go down to 4.25 units again and see how that works out.

I think I was getting a little bit more sleep on that 4.25 unit dose and things were a bit more manageable for her and me.

I hate giving up lots of greens, but they’re also has to be a balance in some fashion for both of us.
Please wish us luck and will certainly keep you posted how things are going. Hope this idea works. :bighug::cat::bighug:
Hi Staci , sounds like a good plan to me, you both need to get some sleep
Won't know unless you try it.
Wishing you all the luck in the world
@Staci & Ivy
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top