4/16 Ella +12 308 AMPS 419, PMPS 427 +2=439

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
Ella is still not feeling well. See last night's condo. I will have to take her to the vet after school. I haven't taken am bg yet but she's not eating on her own and eating very little with support so I'm not too sure that I can give her insulin today if I'm not going to be home, Taking bg a little after 6 and then going to try and feed her. I'm worried that she won't help herself during the day.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68736
 
Re: 4/16 Ella not feeling well

Don't worry Tamara, Ella could be have a dental pain that's why she drooled & refused food.
See what the vet say first. Hope Ella get well soon!
 
Re: 4/16 Ella not feeling well AMPS 308

refusing to eat on own, going to syringe her now
 
Re: 4/16 Ella not feeling well AMPS 308

She really hasn't eaten that much...not sure what to do?! If she doesn't eat on her own should I dose her? She tried to get into the dry nuggets so I'm not too sure if it's dental, although I noticed redness on her gums.
 
Re: 4/16 Ella not feeling well AMPS 308

I'm not sure what to tell you.
Maybe today would be a day for a BCS dose.
What time do you think you will be getting her to the vet?
 
Re: 4/16 Ella not feeling well AMPS 308

And when did you last check her for ketones? They can come on fast. I would test her again at the first opportunity.
 
Re: 4/16 Ella not feeling well AMPS 308

i have no idea...i have to go to work.. i was thinking of just dropping her off and boarding her for the day but that will be stressful too.
why would she want dry if her mouth was hurting her? what would be a bcs?
 
Re: 4/16 Ella not feeling well AMPS 308

A BCS would be like 1.00 or 0.75 units, but since she's going to be at the vet all day, would they test her, and syringe feed her while she's there? If that's the case, then maybe you can give her the full dose. Do you trust your vet?
 
Re: 4/16 Ella not feeling well AMPS 308

at this point i don't even know if i can drop her off at openingi've never doen that. she's nearly eaten 2/8 but needs another 3 to go. I think i can trsut my vet. gosh this is stressful! i don't know what to do.
 
Re: 4/16 Ella not feeling well AMPS 308

The fact that she hasn't been eating on her own, and you've had to syringe feed her, worries me.
I think (but I don't know) if you showed up at their door at opening, that they would take her. At least you would know that she is in a good place and would be taken care of. I don't know how they do the exam and all without you there, but I guess the techs help out with that, and they would call you.
 
Re: 4/16 Ella not feeling well AMPS 308

I got her to eat the 2/8 and greg has given me the car and I won't be leaving until 8. The vet only opens then so I may wait to call. We are half an hour late for her insulin. Should I just give her a bcs at this point?
 
Re: 4/16 Ella not feeling well AMPS 308

We usually don't recommending stalling and shooting a BCS dose together. The stalling acts like a reduced dose all by itself. Did you syringe feed her the last food or did she eat it on her own?
 
Re: 4/16 Ella not feeling well AMPS 308

she only ate one breakfast 2/8 and i just took her bg and she jumped to 419!!!
i had to syringe it to her.

what should i shoot her? I'm going to drop her off i think.
 
Re: 4/16 Ella not feeling well AMPS 308

I would shoot the full regular dose, since she's so high, and most likely will go even higher at the vet.
I would bring some of her own food and instruct them that this is what she eats. I would bring something for her to lay with that smells like home. And instruct them to test her BGs at +6 and +8, or so.
 
Re: 4/16 Ella not feeling well AMPS 308

ok so i shot her the regular dose. now she is purring ohmygod_smile

if i can get her to eat the rest of her breakfast by the time i leave do you think i can save her the stress of going to the vet until the evening?
 
Re: 4/16 Ella not feeling well AMPS 308

Can you change your Subject Line in your first post to say +12 308, AMPS 419 not feeling well, or something like that?

I would feel more comfortable if she was at the vet, as I am concerned about her not eating on her own. How long has this been going on that you have been syringe feeding her?
Can you tell if she's dehydrated, by pulling up her scruff and seeing if it bounces right back into place, and checking to see if her gums are tacky to the touch?
 
Re: 4/16 Ella not feeling well AMPS 409

I just started syringing her yesterday. The weird thing is that she seems hungry but is just not interested in eating her food by herself anymore. She tried to get in to Nesto's nuggets. She doesn't seem dehydrated. Her scruff is returning into place. I also add wate into her food so she's getting water. She had stinky drool coming out of her mouth yesterday.
 
Re: 4/16 Ella not feeling well +12 308 AMPS 419

Does she seem nauseated, like sniffs the food with some interest, and then licks her lips and walks away?
Her breath does not smell like nail polish remover or fruity, right? When was the last ketone test, you did?
 
Re: 4/16 Ella not feeling well +12 308 AMPS 419

yes sniffs and walks away..neg ketones
 
Re: 4/16 Ella not feeling well +12 308 AMPS 419

It's up to you about whether to take her to the vet or not, for the day. Why don't you call them and see what they say?
Is she showing any of the same symptoms as when she had pancreatits, before? If she is, that can be very painful.
 
Re: 4/16 Ella not feeling well +12 308 AMPS 419

Given her history of pancreatitis, I think this may be a possibility. Can you see if your vet can get a spec fPL test run? (It's the test for pancreatitis.) Drooling may be a sign of nausea. I'd suggest talking to your vet about prescribing ondansatron or Cerenia.

Here's a link to some additional info on pancreatitis.
 
Re: 4/16 Ella not feeling well +12 308 AMPS 419

Sending tons of healing vines, and positive thoughts for Ella, and I'm also wishing for her to make a full and speedy recovery. I hope that it's nothing serious. *HUGS*
 
Re: 4/16 Ella not feeling well +12 308 AMPS 419

Hi Tamara,
I hope that your vet can tell you what might be going on with Ella. Pancreatitis can apparently flare from time to time and it would be good if you catch it early. Eating is very important, because she needs those calories. We are going through this with Rusty right now, and I know how stressful it can be. Try to keep her eating and hydrated. Her higher numbers may be because of an inflammation in her pancreas.

Sending lot of healing vines to Ella,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/16 Ella not feeling well +12 308 AMPS 419

Hi guys .. no advice from me, but sending lots and lots of get well thought's ella's way .. so sorry you are having such a rough time with this .. hugs to you both!!
 
Re: 4/16 Ella not feeling well +12 308 AMPS 419

let us know when you have an update. i agree that doing the pancreatitis test seems worthwhile.
 
Re: 4/16 Ella not feeling well +12 308 AMPS 419

Sending Ella healing vines. I hope you can get the Spec fPL test done at the vet. Please keep us posted.
 
Re: 4/16 Ella not feeling well +12 308 AMPS 419

I just wanted to add my well wishes and hopes for a good dx from the vet.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 4/16 Ella not feeling well +12 308 AMPS 419

Thank you for the well wishes everyone:)

Ella is back home after an incredibly uneventful day. She was boarded and watched all day. She was bright with no signs of drool or foul odour. She refused to eat her soft food there and so the Dr. fed her a tbsp of dry to see if she would accept that and she did:(
The vet didn't do a pancreatits test as she didn't show symptoms. She didn't have a fever or show pain in her abdominal area and she accepted food and was bright and somewhat playful throughout the day. I wasn't surprised that the Dr. was conservative with the testing as I've taken her in with a fever and abdominal pain before with negative results. Ella's behaviour didn't give her reason to believe it was pancreatitis. She noticed some gingivits that was not there before and she could have an oral virus "kaleesi"(sp?) but if that is so, it will clear up in time. She also mentioned that she might have gotten into something she wasn't supposed tothat caused her to drool but that's highly unlikely as we don't use toxins and don't have plants in low places.
She's back home and feeling kind of agitated with flicky tail but she is hanging out in the sunshine. She's still not asking me for food which is unlike her especially since she hasn't had much today. My question is: what happens if she's decides to protest her wet food? She was trying to get into Nestor's nuggets this morning and was quite insulted when I gave her the wet. I have to feed her if I'm giving her the insulin!

I shot at 7:30am this morning and am wondering what time I can shoot tonight. The last time she was tested was at +8 at 365 so she's quite high.

Hoping she gets better from whatever is making her feel wonky. Thanks for being here with me:)
 
Re: 4/16 Ella +12 308 AMPS 419 (back from vet)

Oh and to add to the possible explanations of the recent events: she could have a mild URI that is causing her to not want to eat with the same vigour. She does rub her nose quite a bit and sneezes from time to time but it's clear. It's really hard to tell what's going on...isn't it? I will continue to monitor her.

ok...she just sneezed 3 times! poor lil girl:(
 
Re: 4/16 Ella +12 308 AMPS 419 (back from vet)

OH, poor little girl, so sorry Ella had such a hard day.

You asked when to shoot… I'm not that experienced, but I do know we should always stay within the 15min. of last shot. (that is if we can't do it exactly on time). So 7:30 would be good, unless you have to work back or forward to another time, and then it would be in 15min. increments.

Hope Ella feels better soon!
 
Re: 4/16 Ella +12 308 AMPS 419 (back from vet)

Thanks for your message Daphne!

I actually shot her at 7:20am this morning. I think I can shoot her back half an hour once in a cycle as her bg is high. I'm planning on shooting at around 6:50...if she eats!
 
Re: 4/16 Ella +12 308 AMPS 419 (back from vet)

She ate her wet again yay!!!! She's all sneezy tho:( She wasn't that way when I took her to the vet so perhaps the stress triggered something:(
 
Re: 4/16 Ella +12 308 AMPS 419, PMPS 427

Hi Tamara,

Your vet probably said calici virus which is a type of URI. Kitties with calici virus can get ulcers in their mouth which could explain the drooling. Did you vet suggest adding lysine to her food? It usually helps reduce the symptoms - just open a capsule and put the contents in her food. If it is calici virus, it is contagious although any other feline members of your house may already have it by now but adding lysine to their food would be a good idea. Some have calici without showing many symptoms. I volunteered/worked at a shelter for several years and saw a wide range of symptoms. My Buster (GA) had calici so bad when he was in the shelter than he was mouth breathing and the vet wasn't sure he would last overnight. But he was a tough old guy and after fluids and some syringe feeding he pulled through. The vet said it was the worst case she had ever seen. Usually calici virus is much milder.
 
Re: 4/16 Ella +12 308 AMPS 419, PMPS 427

Question:) Ella is behind on her caloric intake today and I'm wondering if it's necessary to play catch up? I don't want to overload her system and she seems pretty good right now:)
 
Re: 4/16 Ella +12 308 AMPS 419, PMPS 427

I'm glad she's feeling better and eating her wet food. I hope the sneezes go away soon.
I would encourage her to eat in small increments, since she is behind in getting her usual amount of food.
 
Thanks Wendy and Dyana!

I haven't heard her sneeze this morning so that's a good start:)
I have L-lysine here that I use for my one of other cats and it seems to be somewhat effective. WIll keep monitoring:)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top