4/16 Cobb PMPS 272

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Back in blue!! Woot!!

I don't think we are going to do the dental this weekend. Too little time for me to get all my questions answered and me to build trust that Cobb would be perfectly fine. I do know that they would keep him in the hospital part of the facility since he would need more monitoring and shots. They said they keep diabetic cats right across from the nurses station. But I don't know what their no shot limit would be, and I think I would prefer to watch him myself. I know his behavior and could tell quickly if something is wrong. I also hold the syringe with the dose and wouldn't want them to over or greatly under dose hi without talking to me. And since we've already had a "miscommunication" regarding whether they will call me or not, I don't have a fuzzy feeling that they would. So...we may wait for a bit...or I may change my mind and do it next week. :roll:
 
Re: 4/16 Cobb AMPS 179 +4 300 +6 244 +9 320(1uR) +10 286

Nice start for Cobb, but then it looks like he went a little crazy!! Now Cobb...No need for all that drama!!

Looks like the R did a good job in bringing him back down though. You're doing really well with using the R with him!

I agree that you'll have a less stressful weekend if you don't have to worry about him being at the vet (or traveling with a kitty that had just had a dental)

Go, enjoy your Easter with your folks and deal with the dental later!

Come on back down to the pretty blues Cobb! Blues look so good on you!!
 
Re: 4/16 Cobb AMPS 179 +4 300 +6 244 +9 320(1uR) +10 286

So here's the vet/dental plan...

I had a very disheartening phone call with the vet this morning. Very dramatic, frustrating, irritating...needless to say I hung up REALLY pissed off. Like...REALLY pissed off. I really can't express my sentiments for that well enough.

So...I called Cobb's original vet in SC. Since we'll be there for Easter, I have an appointment with her first thing Monday morning. I explained the situation, discussed the dental, etc. When I told them some of what this vet said, they laughed and said that would never happen at their clinic. I trust her. My mom still takes her cat to her. And I know how she does her charges since I dealt with her exclusively for years, with Cobb. They do not nickel and some their clients, which is what I felt like this one is trying to do. But it backfired because we aren't going back. New/old vet already has his records and know we're coming in town specifically for this. If Cobb can't leave and come home on Monday, I'll just stay a little extra with my parents, Matt will come back to work, and they'll drive me back to the ATL later next week.
 
Re: 4/16 Cobb AMPS 179 +4 300 +6 244 +9 320(1uR) +10 286

So sorry to hear about the confrontation with the new/old vet, but good to hear you have a better plan in place!

Sounds like your old vet (the one in SC) will be much easier to work with and you'll be happier and a LOT less stressed out this way.

Enjoy your visit with your parents!
 
Hi Suzanne,

Sorry you've been having such a difficult time with the vet. I just got done reading through all of the posts from your condo yesterday. I have one of those vet horror stories where we lost our first diabetic kitty while he was boarded at the vet's office. I definitely know how stressful it is to try to determine what the best course of action is in situations where you have to go out of town, need vet care, etc. Hang in there!

It's really nice to see Cobb's numbers coming down this evening. I hope a visit to at least the blue lagoon is in order!

Have a great night!
Shelly
 
Back to blue please Cobb!

Good luck with the new vetty plan. It's so much easier to have someone you trust do the work. The only wrinkle (minor) I see is that vets normally like to see kitty a week after dentals to see how any extractions are healing.
 
I think your new plan sounds like a winner. When you get home, I'd start looking for a new local vet if I were you. There must be plenty to choose from in a big city like Atlanta. I hope you have a wonderful Easter with your parents, and that Cobb does well on the trip and at the vet.
 
Hi there :cool:

I saw Cobbs IAA dx. . .
I also see you are using more R - both in dose and frequency - good job. Have you put together an R scale of any sort to help guide you?
I think you could be a bit more aggressive with the R if you are comfortable doing so.
With BK , although I used massive amounts of R, when the break came I simply stopped - no worries about depot action with R.

Glad to hear he will be getting his teeth addressed. Bummer that the new vet didn't work out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top