4/16 Cain AMPS 335; +3 436; +6 359; +9 325; PMPS 335

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jennifer&Cain(GA)

Member Since 2013
Hello!

Thanks to the awesome people on here I have the right syringes and I believe I have the 1 unit mark figured out. Test just ten minutes ago is 335. I haven't given his first shot yet. I was trying to find the link on where on his body to shoot him. He hasn't eaten yet since 10:30am this morning.

I was going to shift it to noon and midnight central time for testing but he had his face in the food bowl this morning before I woke up and I figured just continue the 1pm & 1am schedule. It works for me right now since I'm unemployed and stay up late anyways.

Ok, so feed him then shoot or shoot then feed? Thank you for all the help!

Edit: I forgot the ? since I had a question. >_< I need more sleep I swear.
 
Re: 4/16 Cain AMPS 335 First shot day! Also questions

I feel like such an idiot. Test was at 1pm. Shot of 1 unit was given at 2pm by the time I found the info I needed. So is that considered +1? Or is the pluses from when you shoot? He's been so high on the numbers I didn't test again before shooting, but now he's been given a shot, I will keep a close eye on him. I need to test him again about +3 from the shot? Is that correct?

He's been so good this morning. Let me poke twice cause I couldn't get enough blood on the first.

Sorry, trying to keep this straight. Just been such a week and I feel like I'm screwing up everything. I watched the video again about how to pull from a pen and followed along (except the example she showed of releasing the plunger while in the pen). And boy the lady was right. The insulin does smell like bandaids. I tried to keep the syringe parallel to the spine and I injected along the stomach on the side right after he ate some food.

Ideally I'd like to shoot around 1:30 central. Is there a way to move it back to that time?

Sorry for all the questions. I have so many tabs open it's becoming harder to keep track of everything.
 
Re: 4/16 Cain AMPS 335 First shot day! Also questions

Whatever the time is that you test prior to your shot is your AMPS (or PMPS). All of the +time is counted from when you shoot. So, a cycle begins at AMPS and goes through +12 (with the +12 being your PMPS although there are times when you actually are counting past +12 if you are stalling). Your shot tonight would be 12 hours from when you actually gave the current injection. If you need to move the shot time, you can move it by 30 min. once a day or 15 min. at each shot time. Moving a shot in 30 min. or less should not effect the dose. (Early shots act like dose increases whereas late shots act like dose reductions.)

So, if you want your shot time to be at 1:30, unless Cain has a marked response to insulin today, you can easily move the shot time back by 30 min. tonight.

When you're first starting out. getting tests every 3 hours for a 12-hour cycle for a few days can be very helpful. The mini-curve will help you to see where Cain's Lantus onset and nadir fall.
 
Re: 4/16 Cain AMPS 335 First shot day! Also questions

Ah okay I think I'm starting to make sense of it. Thank you, Sienne. :D

I'll test him again at +3 and post the results. Should I put it in the first message header?
 
Re: 4/16 Cain AMPS 335 First shot day! Also questions

Hello and welcome! Yes, post your numbers in the header as you go. We try to have one "condo" for every 24hr period. Good luck to you! I hope you get down to good numbers quickly and safely!
 
Re: 4/16 Cain AMPS 335; +3 436; First shot day! Also questio

+3 test was 436.

Got him when he was asleep but he woke up when he felt the poke. Stayed still tho so easy test.

Edit: Woops had shot instead of test.
 
Re: 4/16 Cain AMPS 335; +3 436; First shot day!

Great job, Brownie! I'm glad you found LantusLand. It's a lot to learn. Please ask all the questions that you have as many times as you need to. We understand. We've all been there.
Liz
 
Re: 4/16 Cain AMPS 335; +3 436; First shot day!

It is in your signature. I had a choice of two and I picked Brownie over Jennifer. :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 4/16 Cain AMPS 335; +3 436; First shot day!

Ah. I had just put my cats in versus just my name. I just added my name to my sig. :lol:
 
Re: 4/16 Cain AMPS 335; +3 436; First shot day!

Just stopping in to say "welcome", too! Keep asking questions...the knowledge and support here is amazing. We're one big, very special family here!!
 
Re: 4/16 Cain AMPS 335; +3 436; +6 359; First shot day!

+6 test is 359. I hit the vein while testing. Poor Cain. I'm still such a newbie on this testing thing. His ears are all red on the edges which is easy to see since he's an orange tabby. And he ducked when I tried to poke his ear on this test. I've been alternating ears to help. He definitely flinched when I used the lancelet. I'll try the 30g for the +9. If he'll let me test at this point. :)
 
Re: 4/16 Cain AMPS 335; +3 436; +6 359; First shot day!

The 30 gauge may be easier on the ears but it may also be harder to draw blood. It's a trade off. It will take a couple of weeks for the capillary bed in Cain's ear(s) to build up. Once it does, his ears will bleed more easily.

If you don't get a good drop with the 30 gauge lancet, poke a second time as close as you can to the original poke. That way 2 drops can coalesce.
 
Re: 4/16 Cain AMPS 335; +3 436; +6 359; First shot day!

We use 28 gauge lancets. And apply pressure for 15 to 20 seconds after the test to prevent stabbing. You can also use neosporin ointment with pain relief. That will help the blood bead up a little bit too. Are you giving him a treat after testing? And lots of petting? That will help relax you both. Great job! It's very stressful but it gets a whole lot better with practice.
Liz
 
Re: 4/16 Cain AMPS 335; +3 436; +6 359; +9 325; First shot d

+9 test is 325.

Yup several treats of freeze dried chicken. He actually came over for the treat at least. All walmart had was a 26g, 30g, and 33g. He didn't seem to flinch on the 30g but I have to be careful not to poke through his ear. I put neosporin on his ear before and after I hold it to make sure it stops bleeding. I found with his fur, while short, absorbs blood too well. So the neosporin helps a ton.
 
Re: 4/16 Cain AMPS 335; +3 436; +6 359; +9 325; First shot d

Welcome Jennifer and Cain! Just wanted to stop by and say hi. The FDMB is an amazing place with so many helpful people. I'm too new to give advice, but I remember how difficult it all seemed the first few weeks. I actually used the 26g lancets for a while - it worked out better for me to poke Sweetie just with a bigger lance, than 3 times with the smaller one to get 1 drop of blood. And I use the lance device rather than freehand because my sugarcat moves around too much when I'm testing.

As long as you squeeze the ear for a bit at the testing site to stop the bleeding, the ear seems to heal up quite quickly.
 
Re: 4/16 Cain AMPS 335; +3 436; +6 359; +9 325; First shot d

Hi Jennifer!

Congrats on your first shot today. Hopefully Cain will start to feel better soon.

Let us know how we can help!
 
I think I need to buy a lancing device. He fights the PMPS test every night cause he's hungry and I'm standing up to get him in the chair, so therefore it's food time. I think I hit the vein again except this time on the other ear. It certainly gave a lot of blood fast. It took too many attempts to get enough blood for the meter this last test. He's flinching on the 30g now. Ears are probably so tender. I'll put more neosporin on his ears later. Poor cat.

PMPS is 335. I'm feeding him now and then I'll give him his next shot. How much food does he need to eat before I give him a shot? And is stomach better for shooting or somewhere else?

Edit: Ok gave him his shot when he came back to eat more food. He got in a half can of fancy feast before he came back looking for more. Also, I've noticed tonight he's very wobbly. He's not walking on his hocks but he wobbles a bit. I think his hind legs are starting to give him more issues.

Also thank you all again for the welcomes and help I keep getting. Makes me feel better when I think I'm screwing everything up. :)
 
OK I'm heading off to bed. So tired. I don't think I can test him again tonight, er this morning. (It's not the next morning for me until I wake up or the sun rises. :D) I'll give his ears some time to heal tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top