4/16 Biscuits amps 518 +8 524 pmps high increased to 7 u +3.5 /598

As you become more proficient with the poking it does seem to improve everything all around - it took us a while too. Just keep at it...keep Biscuits safe and keep on truckin'. We'll be there for ya :) Come on Biscuits...let's get some lower numbers on ya?? :bighug:
 
I’m glad things are better. Good job grabbing just enough tests to help us out while preserving his ears.

It looks like he’s ready for another dose increase tonight to 7u. Given any thoughts to the high dose testing?
 
Yes I have ,then where do we go from there?I've been reading up on treatments . I recently lost my kitty Bert, after a roller coaster ride of recurrent bladder stones and the big cystourethrotomy surgery then he had a tail pull injury and lost his tail and had the bowel bladder problems that go along with the nerve injury , developed hyperthyroidism which was uncontrolled for about 2 years. He had the radioactive iodine injection which took about 7 months to get to normal t4 levels then he had other problems and I lost him in January. I don't know what the next step would be with Biscuits .
 
The first step is to figure out why Biscuits needs a larger dose of insulin. That means a blood draw, and asking the vet to send the blood to Michigan State University to test for both acromegaly and IAA or insulin auto antibodies. Once you know what you are dealing with, then you think about treatment options. In the mean time, we search for that dose that will move him. My Neko had both conditions and lived five years with them. One in four diabetic cats has acromegaly. The autobodies are less common. Not all cats with one or both of these conditions needs large doses.

Acromegaly is a benign pituitary tumour that causes the output of excess growth hormone. I did get Neko’s tumour treated with radiation, or sterotatactic radiation therapy. I had it done at Colorado State University. Sarah had Pig treated at Washington State University. Costs at CSU have gone up considerably since I was there. Other kitties here who have had SRT and whose peeps still post sometimes are Bronx and Leo. A second newer option is hypophysectomy, there are a few stories of it on the acro/IAA forum, namely Sophie, Titan and Schmee. The surgeries were done either in New York or London, England. WSU has done a few in the past. There are a couple of medical options, cabergoline being the most common here due to the cost. Amethyst and Olive are two whose peeps post often. We have had three acros go into remission on cabergoline, most have some reduced doses and side effects, though studies have been inconslusive. Between you and me, those studies tested less cats than we have here. Pasireotide is a drug with better research results but it costs an arm and a leg. Finally, some people just treat with the insulin you need. The goal is to get the cat under renal threshold as much as possible, a goal whether or not treatment is done.

IAA is simpler, the antibodies tend to be self limiting around after a year. But can make dosing challenging. Loudogg is an example of an small dose IAA positive kitty here.

Keep asking questions. I am stopping my novel now.
 
Last edited:
I've had many kitties and loved them all but there's something special about my Bert. He was so little and sweet and needed so much care. I still can't look at pictures of him. Our kitties sure leave their pawprints on our hearts.
Such great support from everyone!
 
Back
Top