4/16 AMPS George AMPS~572 PMPS~263 +4~88

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/16 AMPS George AMPS 572

You're instincts are on target. The reduction didn't hold so you want to increase back to the "last good dose" -- 1.5u.
 
Re: 4/16 AMPS George AMPS 572

Sienne's right. Good luck with the new dose! After a bit of time on the new dose, and if his #s don't improve, you may want to do another increase, however PLEASE wait for an expert to advise you on that before doing anything as I'm not an expert. By any means.
 
Re: 4/16 AMPS George AMPS 572

Hi guys .. well I hope that the extra juice is just what george needs to bring these numbers back down .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/16 AMPS George AMPS 572 PMPS 263

Alaina sent me a PM and I told her I'd reply here.

I didn't see your reply until after I had given George's morning dose so I stuck with the 1.25u. Now the PMPS is only 263 so I'm wondering if I shouldn't increase back to 1.5u. What do you think? The ReliOn Meter came through at 189 so I'm thinking that George is actually a little lower than 263...Do you think I should stick with 1.25? Today at about +10 I gave George about 1 oz. of food because he was crying a ton so the PS is probably a little higher than it would have been without the food. Or do you think I should go up to 1.5u and just give him a small amount of food before bed?

First, I wouldn't try to compare meters. That will drive you nuts. Just as an FYI, though, the ReliOn and the AT meters are within 20% of what can be attributable to meter variance plus the 30 point difference between an AT and human meter. (Longwinded way of saying the numbers are pretty much the same.)

If you want to hold the dose for another day, that's fine. It's your call as to when you want to increase. There may be some virtue to getting some readings with the new meter prior to increasing. Regardless of when you increase, I'd suggest you always get at least one test during the PM cycle every night. There's a possibility that his numbers are bouncing around given some of the lower numbers during the PM cycle. Since it looks like you're not home to test during the day, the PM tests are doubly important. Also, it would be very helpful if you could get a curve or mini-curve on a day when you are home. It's hard to identify when George's nadir is or when Lantus onset begins based on the info on your SS. Once you start seeing consistently lower numbers, this information will be important.

The other consideration is that it's possible that your PMPS is a dropping number. I'll be interested to see what the PM cycle looks like. The information from tonight should give you a sense of what to do in the morning. A lot can happen in one cycle!
 
Re: 4/16 AMPS George AMPS 572 PMPS 263

The vet thought maybe we were dealing with a dropping number in the PM as well. She said that the Lantus can last longer than 12 hours for some cats. However, that day, I got a 10 hour reading in the 200's and an 11.5 hour reading in the 400's. I think you may be right about the bouncing overnight. He doesn't seem to do that during the day. I think it takes about 2 hours for the Lantus to start working, about 4-5 for there to be a significant drop, and then it drops slowly until about 10 hours. You're right though, I do need more evening tests. It's just been hard because he's so inconsistent and he's not tolerating the testing as well as he was before. Does the bouncing eventually decrease or must I just compensate?

Also, when will this crazy hunger stop? Before I was attributing it to being in high numbers but now I just think it's all the time... I have been trying to break the meals up a little more, I feel so bad for him when we cook dinner!

Thanks so much for all your help!
 
So the +4 number was an 88. Gave 1.5 oz of food and now I'm off to bed. I think that we're getting more than 12 hours out of some shots, but not all. Also wondering if 1.25 is too much since he seems to be bouncing or if it's just going to take some time to get regulated. Or if he should be getting less in the PM...Maybe just 1u. I know this isn't how Lantus is typically dosed but I don't think my kitty is too typical with all these variables.
 
Alaina


With that much of a drop, I'd be testing to be sure he comes back up. You might sleep/test but I wouldn't go to bed with a dropping number like that.

Cats bounce until they don't. Some stop quickly, others that have been on insulin for several years still bounce. We ignore the bounces so don't dose on the bounce. Let it clear, see where he is, and then determine if he needs a dose change.

As he gets more regulated, his appetite will settle down.

It's very typical for cats to bounce so try not to worry about it. Lantus likes consistency in dosing so if you shoot one dose in the am and one in them, you will get wonky numbers. You need to shoot a dose that you can shoot consistently.
 
I agree with Marje. I don't think George is atypical in the least. You want to shoot the same amount at AM and PM otherwise, the numbers really will be wonky.
 
I will be home all day tomorrow so will get a curve for you to look at. I'm thinking maybe 1u BID may not make the first shot last more than 12 hours... We'll see how it goes today and tomorrow at 1.25.

I'm just concerned that it's dangerous to shoot a number that is still dropping. I'm going to try and get a +4, +10 for the AM cycle and a +1, +2, +4 for the PM cycle today.

Would I be better off waiting to shoot if the PM number is still dropping by a couple hours? Not sure...
 
Aliana, please start a new condo, and click on the (?) and add "Question" in your subject line so that the experts can get to your question as quickly as possible. You may want to copy and paste your last post with the question in it at the beginning of your new (today's)condo.

I think the norm is to stall and wait to see if George comes back up on his own before shooting. However, PLEASE wait before doing anything for an expert to advise you what to do. Ok? I'm not an expert, and personally, haven't ever dealt with stalling, or falling #s myself with Blackie. All I've ever done was shoot low #s, which I am comfortable in doing. I believe you're new here, and my advise is to hear what the experts suggest. Eventually, and over time, you'll get to where you'll be comfortable enough to make decisions on what to do, etc. with George. You'll learn George, and what he's capable of. Just remember that this all boils down to patience, and a ton of it! :lol:
 
I will definitely start a new condo when I get a +10 number after work today. Thanks for the advice. I am learning to have patience... I've been running short ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top