4/16 AMPS 371 PMPS 197 +4 193 Dose Increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.
At least he's getting some blues. It's easier to tell if he needs a dose increase if you have more mid-cycle tests.
I think he could have seen a touch of green on the 13th.
If you decide to do the increase, I would do it on a day when you can get those mid-cycle tests both day and night.
Just my thoughts.
 
Dyana said:
At least he's getting some blues. It's easier to tell if he needs a dose increase if you have more mid-cycle tests.
I think he could have seen a touch of green on the 13th.
If you decide to do the increase, I would do it on a day when you can get those mid-cycle tests both day and night.
Just my thoughts.

Well, with the weekend coming up, by the time the depot is built up, my human will be able to get some more mid cycle tests. So that is what he will do. He will bump it up, and then this weekend, when the depot is in place, he will be able to tell more.
 
The insulin depot is in place. The depot only is effected by a dose change and takes a few cycles to stabilize. The issue is that you need to have mid-cycle data in order to know if it's safe to increase the dose.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
The insulin depot is in place. The depot only is effected by a dose change and takes a few cycles to stabilize. The issue is that you need to have mid-cycle data in order to know if it's safe to increase the dose.

Now I am confused. Are you saying that it's not safe to increase the dose? My human made me endure ear sticks at the two, three, four, five, six, and seven hour mark on the 4.25 unit dose. These readings came on different days but we didn't see any low readings.

Is it still not safe to bump it up a quarter unit?

Then the depot will have built itself up by the weekend and we can see what that does, and he will be around to give me lots of ear sticks. Which I hate, but which I will endure.
 
Sometimes when you do a dose adjustment the numbers will be affected in the next cycle or two (after the increase), that's why I said to do the increase when you are going to be around to do some mid-cycle tests (the next two cycles, or longer, if possible).

I have to log off now, I'm at work, and past my allowable internet time, sorry.
 
bagheerathediabeticcat said:
Then the depot will have built itself up by the weekend and we can see what that does, and he will be around to give me lots of ear sticks. Which I hate, but which I will endure.

Basically, what you're asking is that you want to start the increase a couple of days early so by the weekend, the depot is topped off, right? I wish it were that simple because I've often thought the same thing.... Mikey, on the other hand, has different ideas about what's "logical" when it comes to dose increases and will always plummet like a stone in the first cycle after a dose increase (and I do tiny increases, too!) and then ride high for a couple of cycles before he starts to stabilize on the new dose.

So, what I think Dyana (and Sienne?) are trying to say is that since we don't know if Bagheera might drop fast the first cycle or two on a dose increase, it's safer to do a dose increase on a day you'll be able to monitor him and how it affects him.
 
Actually, what I'm saying is that I haven't any idea when Bagheera's onset or nadir fall or the kind of duration this kitty is getting from Lantus. Onset, nadir, and duration have nothing to do with the insulin depot. The only instance when it takes an extended period of time for the depot to be "in place" is the first week when starting Lantus. Beyond that, the depot may take a few days/cycles to adjust and stabilize with a dose change. Given that it's 8+ cycles at this dose, the depot is not a factor.

While 4 tests a day is the minimum, I'd refer you to the Tight Regulation Protocol sticky. It's helpful to get a mini-curve in order to more completely understand your cat's response to Lantus. There are days when the only tests are AMPS and PMPS. The day when there was a +5 of 103 doesn't necessarily mean that was the lowest point in the cycle. From the data, I can't tell if there are flat cycles or bounces.
 
Thanks for clarifying, Sienne!

So, basically, he should hold off on the dose increase till he gets more data over a weekend, right?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top