? 4/16/17. Sprocket. AMpS/319, +5/248, PMPS/ 179,+hr/183.+2/255. +4/280.+7.5/217.Cycle question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Darnell & Sprocket (GA)

Member Since 2015
Ate less today. Acted normal n good.
12.29pm 248
606pm pmps 179!
Fed 5 carb. 1.5oz n he ate 1oz of 2 carb.
648pm 178.
711pm 183.
What do I shoot??
3.5 like last few days or 3.25?

Ok shot 3.25u at 7:27pm.

Got liquid cyproheptadine in him at 728pm

He doesn't want food or pill pockets.
What do i do?
 
Last edited:
Looks like you stalled some and then shot. You need to keep offering some food and keeping in mind that the onset for the Lantus is usually around +3 so you have some time for the cypro to kick in and help him to want to eat.
 
I hope he will start to eat for you soon. With a previous history of DKA, it is good that you got some insulin into him as the recipe for a DKA episode is in appetence + systemic stress or infection + not enough insulin. It is always a bit concerning to shoot when they aren't eating but glad you got the cypro into him and hopefully his appy will come back.
 
Some cats are prone to doing what's called a "double dip." Their numbers start to go up after nadir and then drop again around PMPS. There's not a good explanation for why this happens other than if you happened to give a snack later in the cycle, you might see the effects of a pancreas that's producing insulin and dropping the numbers spontaneously.

Also, it may help to remember that there aren't very many cats who have read the feline diabetes rule book. And, even if they did, they wouldn't follow the rules. There are any number of factors that can influence BG numbers. If you expect every cycle to be textbook, you're going to give yourself a splitting headache.

 
Sienne. I already have a headache, tummy ache, nerves making me shake & be cold. I thought we were doing better. How can I keep a steady dose of insulin if he keeps going up n down like oddly?
 
1139pm at 280.
He ate about 1/4 of ff can 3 carb about 30 mins or so ago.
I wish i would understand this lantus n how it works cause this is sooo stressful to us both.
His patience is getting thin with syringing meds, pill pockets (either flavor), fluids and even testing.
I don't blame him. 5 weeks of damn meds. I would be sick of them too.
Especially since we dont know 100% they are working.
I wish the vets would see this. What we go through. I have emailed the specialist before with no response.
 
Darnell, I know it is confusing for you. Hang in there and you'll begin to absorb more of it. Just keep trying and do read the links that people post for you.

Let me try more about the ketones. When the conditions were right (he didn't have enough insulin, eat enough food, and had an infection), his body began to use fat in order to survive. He needs to use glucose instead. Giving him enough insulin is one way to help that happen. So you don't want to lower his insulin dose right now.

Here is a clickable link with ideas for Stimulating Kitty's Appetite. Hopefully something there will help encourage your sweet Sprocket to eat!

Sounds like you might have a bug - I hope you feel better soon.

I don't see any ketone tests in the spreadsheet from yesterday or today. Are you still checking for ketones at least 1-2 times a day? That's so important at this point.
 
I test when i see him pee. He does when i am sleeping or in shower.
I just saw him pee n it was negative. Didnt get any on Sunday. Sat was negative too.
He doesnt want to eat much. I got compounded cyproheptadine but not sure if its as strong.
I am trying to read them all.
Its 3am. He wants to eat but only will a few bites.
He just vomited a little. Some foamy liquid whitish.
217 bg. Lower than midnight again.

His belly is gurgling alot.
Gave 5 kernals of YA zero dry on the food and he ate half the bowl so he ate 1/4 of ff chicken canned.
I hope that helps to settle his tummy n bring bg up enough
 
Last edited:
Darnell, we have all been where you are in the beginning there is so much to learn and absorb and we all felt frustrated. What you need to remember is that the insulin is not a medicine, it is a hormone and does not have a predictable result each time. Getting a cat into regulation is a process; it does not happen immediately. Working with the doses of insulin in a systematic way following the protocol is best. Lantus likes consistence and changing up the doses from day to day interferes with getting the depot stable. Following the protocol for increases and decreases will help get Sprocket regulated faster.

About getting ketone test, have you considered buying a ketone meter? That is what I did as Bubba was throwing ketones too and I could never catch him in the litter box and when I did, he would stop peeing. ( he's very private) The meter I bought is called the Abbott Precision Xtra. It is only around 35 dollars on Amazon. The test strips are expensive though. I found the cheapest place to buy them was at a pharmacy in Cananda (Universal Pharamacy) It is so much more convenient to test with a blood sample, I would use the same sample for ketones and BG's by having both meters with the strips in ready to go. Also, when testing blood for ketones it is a more accurate reading as the ketones show up in the blood first and then eventually spill into the urine. That makes catching the ketones faster than if you test the urine.

Another thing that helped me was to read as many other post each day as you can as you can learn so much by others peoples questions and comments. And asking questions when I was confused. Every one here will help.
 
Ya was gonna get a ketone meter very soon.
I am reading so much.
I am barely sleeping.
I tried to sleep this weekend more.

I wish something would stop being ofd.
Now overnight he vomited again and wont eat now
 
Ya was gonna get a ketone meter very soon.
I am reading so much.
I am barely sleeping.
I tried to sleep this weekend more.

I wish something would stop being ofd.
Now overnight he vomited again and wont eat now
Try to rest as if you get broken down and sick you won't be about to take care of Sprocket. It might be worth a call to the vet to see if they can give you something to help with the vomiting. He could be nausea and maybe needs something for that. Just thought.
 
I have famotidine last night by syringe. He had cerenia 5 days last week. Stopped Friday.
He wants to eat. Had a little now. What do i do with dosage

He needs something else for nausea.
Something daily for awhile.
Or more often

He had a few bites.
We did 3.25u at 6:50am.
I am gonna open some tuna n see if that helps?
I saw clam juice mentioned before, what about that??
 
Last edited:
I saw clam juice mentioned before, what about that??
I don't know anything about clam juice. My go to when Bubba was not eating while he was sick or in pain was Baby Food , Beechnut brand as it has no corn starch in it. Make sure it is all meat, either chicken with broth or turkey with broth. You want to makes sure it is not the dinners with vegetables.

What do i do with dosage
You don't want to be reducing the dosage with a kitty who has recently had ketones and DKA. It is important to get as much insulin into them as possible. Last night you reduced his dosage by .25 unit when he didn't earn a reduction. I understand that you were concerned about him not eating. But remember, the insulin onset is usually not until about 3 hours after you shoot so you have time to get Sprocket eating. Following the guidelines in the protocol is what will help you get him into better numbers faster.
 
I dont know any protocol yet. Dont want to do TR but no one is giving me a choice.

He wont eat any baby food.
He had some tuna juice

I gave less Because i had to give something n discussion was mixed
 
Darnell may I ask why you don't want to do TR? You are testing enough to follow TR and TR is the fastest and best way for you to get Sprocket into better numbers and rid the ketones.

We will help guide you with dosing .
 
My nerves are bad. I have anxiety. I am a mess but better with a plan. I am barely sleeping or leaving house. Missed doc appts.
I am scared. I need people to walk me through & not everyone around when things go bad. I just want to get him through this.
I never got a chance to read everything. There is so much. Havig a hard time understanding all this
 
I am a mess but better with a plan.
Darnell, please take this in the positive, helping spirit in which it's intended:

Bad anxiety can indeed make you feel out of control and powerless. Knowledge and a plan can go a long way in alleviating some of these awful feelings. Please take some time today to read the Lantus sticky on TR (Tight Regulation), reread as often as you need, make notes and ask specific questions about it here. This is an excellent plan for you to follow with Sprocket's dosing.

Once you've read and understood this protocol, start following it yourself. Making decisions on your own is very empowering and will give you the confidence to get you through times when you might not be able to ask someone on here. If you feel you have to ask here for advice on every step you take, you won't learn to trust your own instincts. You're doing a lot to help your boy, more than many of us have to do. Try not to relinquish control to those very uncomfortable anxious feelings. They're lying to you and telling you that you can't but you are and you can! :bighug:

Please feel free to keep asking questions here. It'll be easier to give focused advice, though, if you have better knowledge of the TR protocol. :)
 
Last edited:
I will read it again. Thanks for the words. I am trying hard to stay positive. And calm. Sleep helps alot. A plan does too. I feel we are almost there to balancing. Much better than a few weeks ago.

His new vet called back within 30 mins. New vet 40mins away but calls back fast, and answers questions. Told me dosage for him for the anti-nausea ondansetron of 1mg every 12-24 hours as needed.
Keep famotidine, cyproheptadine, and ursodiol.
Do 100ml fluids 1x daily for now n see how that works since he was down to about 75ml 2xday for last few days.

Stay at 3.25 for today and 2 days then call in with bgs. He had last antibiotic yesterday so if that effected bg then it will show within a few days. If not then up to 3.5u. Watch.

I am trying so hard to keep him alive and want him to grow old and cranky.

He was 302 at 10:45am after eating some. 2.25 total so far for food. 100ml fluids done.

Nap time now. Had only 4-5 hrs of sleep myself.

What are thoughts on the plan from vet?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top