4/16/13 Rags SS

Status
Not open for further replies.

yo hon

Member Since 2013
Hi, hope all mommies and babies are doing well today !!

Just took Rags BG at 1:00 p.m. 401, which is high at this time of day. I really need to start b.i.d. inj. But I have to work tomorrow and will not be home until 1:30 p.m. to check his BG. If I start it tonite, I'll set alarm to check it through the night. I'm just afraid to leave him tomorrow to go to work right after his shot. It will be his first day with two inj. If I have to take off, I will.

Any suggestions ?

YoHon & Rags
 
Hi guys .. not sure if I've been to Rag's condo before or not so welcome from us! No dosing advice from me, but hopefully when you go to two shots a day you'll see some nicer numbers .. have a great day guys!
 
PeterDevonMocha, thank you for the wonderful words. I pray you are right !!! My boy needs a break !!!!


Yo Hon & Rags
 
Jill & Alex, just read your posts from last night. I thought maybe you all sign off early because no one got back to me. I signed off at 9:30 p.m. Sorry, thought you had to work and get to bed early.

No, putting Rags in any room would not work. He would scratch the door down to get out. And my other kids would scratch the door to get in. Can't win !!!!

I tested him at 1:00, he was NOT very happy with me and "tried" to get away. Not liking his number of 401 for this time of day.
I really want to start him finite with his second shot, cause he NEEDS it.

Thank you for the syringes.

YoHo &Rags
 
Deb, you are so funny. But also sooo kind !!!! Thank you for all the goodies you are sending, you know how much they are appreciated.
Gave my Doodle Bug, Whiskers his first dose of the miralax, will give him another at dinner. I really hope it works for him. That will be one thing that won't hurt him anymore.
By the way, I posted you yesterday about the test strips. Did you see it ??? You don't have to send more, they are too expensive and I have plenty.

I'm trying to put the b .i,.d. SS on my computer, and the one that is there IS updated.

YoHon &Rags
 
BJM, thank you for the info. That is something I will have to take time and read and let sink in. Not computer smart either, but I am ,learning, thanks to you and Deb.

YoHon &Rags
 
BJM, thank you for the info. That is something I will have to take time and read and let sink in. Not computer smart either, but I am ,learning, thanks to you and Deb.

YoHon &Rags
 
Too late on the test strips. I had three more boxes of the Prime ones that I had bought for myself. I bought myself a Relion Prime meter as a backup meter in case the Relion Confirm meter was having problems.

Since Wink went OTJ so quickly, I never even got a chance to use the Prime meter. Those strips have an expiration date sometime next year and I'm hoping Wink never needs insulin again. Better to send the test strips to someone that can use them, then have them expire and go to waste.

You can think of this care package from me as getting Wink's leftovers. You don't mind leftovers do you?

You'll be getting a large Priority Mail box from USPS sometime in the next few days, supposedly by Thursday this week. With the chaos in Boston, not sure if the routing for the US mail service has to go another roundabout route or not. May not be until Friday or Saturday that the box arrives. Keep your eyes open for it starting on Thursday though. It took over an hour at the post office even though I had printed out the postage online. I HATE the post office. ohmygod_smile

Needed to get the box off to you so didn't see the new post with your preference for dark vs milk chocolate. Sent one bag of each of Dove chocolates. Hope they don't get too warm and melt. :mrgreen: LIke I said, the beans need a treat as much as the sugar kitties need a treat.

We are finally getting some warm weather here and I'm going out to play in my garden. This is the only day I have free this week.
 
Deb, I LOVE left overs !!!! Thank you very much for everything you do for us !!

I just heard about what happened in Boston, are you close ?? Sorry to hear about all that ! What a sad thing to happen !!!

Enjoy your garden, it is beautiful out. I just came in from taking my girl, Freeway out. She was really enjoying it. I'm gonna take her back out, just had some things to do.

Take care, YoHon & Rags
 
I DO have an important question. When do I shoot Rags, before or after meals and if after neals do I still wait a half an hour ?
With the Novolin N-100 I had to wait 1/2 hour after he was done eating before I could Inject him. I don't know about the Lantus. I've been feeding him then giving him his inj. right after. I AM going to start him on his second inj. of 1 unit tonight, so I really need to know how to do it properly. Also, when do I test him after his shot ? When does Lantus peak?

Please Advise !!

Thank You,

YoHon & Rags
 
yo hon said:
...When do I shoot Rags, before or after meals and if after neals do I still wait a half an hour ?
... Also, when do I test him after his shot ? When does Lantus peak?

You can shoot right when he is eating. It takes Lantus a bit of time to kick in, so it is fine to do this.

You always do the pre-shot test. And for Lantus, you want to get some middle of the cycle (aka period between 2 shots) tests, as Lantus peaks somewhere between +5 to +7 hours after the shot. Whenever you are increasing a dose, you aim for the earlier time to make sure he won't go too low.
 
When do I shoot Rags, before or after meals and if after neals do I still wait a half an hour ?
Test, shoot, feed in about a 10-15 minute time frame. No, you do not need to wait the 1/2 or more between feeding and shooting like you did with the Novolin N.

Forget just about everything you learned about the Novolin N because Lantus works entirely differently. The one thing you do not want to forget that you already learned is how to home test. :shock: :lol: :shock:

Read those STICKY topics in the lantus forum and be sure to click on all the blue underlined words because that takes you to even more information.

When does Lantus peak?
Well, there is no easy answer here. There is an average peak time and then there is the time that your cat peaks. In the lantus forum, there is a topic near the beginning of the topics called STICKY: LANTUS AND LEVIMIR - NEW TO THE GROUP PLEASE READ

Here it is:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139

scroll down for lots of useful information including this about the typical lantus curve:

Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

Having said that, ECID which means every cat is different. Wink nadired/peaked at about 4 hours. You'll have to do some testing to find where Rags nadir is. Oh, by the way, the nadir time does not stay the same time all the time. It can shift by several hours unexpectedly.

Also, when do I test him after his shot ?
From one of those other stickies STICKY: LANTUS AND LEVIMIR : TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL you were advised to read and print out.:

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581
REQUISITES WHEN FOLLOWING A TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL WITH LANTUS OR LEVEMIR:

•Kitty should be monitored closely the first three days when starting Lantus or Levemir.
Blood glucose levels should at least be checked at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9.
More monitoring may be needed.
Since you are only today going to be adding that 2nd shot a day, it's like you have started over and the first three day period has started all over again.
 
BJM, thank you very much for getting back to me about the Lantus. I really think I shouldn't wait any longer to start his second inj. Doc wanted me to transition him off the middle meal. She said not to just take it away from him. But I have to, cause I'm getting nervous and want to get him somewhat reg. I know it will take time, but it's time !!!! I can give him some food, like a 1/4 can of ff later in the night, right ? I don't know about working tomorrow. I'm thinking I should be with him. He'll get his shot at 8:00 a.m., I won't be home til 1:30 p.m. I have to get food for him, he only has enough for tomorrow morning, so I'll be a little longer.

Again, Thank You !

YoHon & Rags
 
Deb & Wink, Thank you for all the info. you posted. That's exactly what I needed to know.
I just went out to nthe kitchen and I forgot dry food on the table because I just fed the other kids while Ragu was outside. I "Think" he got onto it. He is used to eating at 4:30 p.m. and now won't be eating til 8:00 p.m. He isn't going to like that at all !!! I'm gonna give him a can and a half then, he'll be short 1/2 can for the day, but that will be okay, right? That will make 3 cans for the day. then later around 11 0r 11:30 I'll give him the other 1/2 or 1/4.

Thanks again, Deb, I do appreciate ALL you do for us !

YoHon & Rags
 
Why did your vet insist you stop feeding Rags in the middle of the day? That makes no sense to any of us here. What was her reasoning?

Let him eat all day long if he wants to. EXCEPT for 2 hours before the insulin shots. That is the only time of day when the food should be restricted.

If Shot time of 8 am, no food from 6 am to 8 am.
If Shot time of 8 pm, no food from 6 pm to 8 pm.

Even those no food hours are not hard and fast rules as other people have replyed in your previous posts.

Here are two more quotes from the sticky
STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL
in the section
REQUISITES WHEN FOLLOWING A TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL WITH LANTUS OR LEVEMIR
•Feed a high quality low carb canned or raw food diet.
•Feed small meals throughout the day. Some kitties adapt well to free feeding.

These are not hard and fast rules. These are suggestions from experienced caregivers of diabetic cats.
 
Deb, I guess she thought three meals a day was too much, that's what I got out of it. I can feed him small meals a day as long as I don't go over the 3 1/2 cans a day, right ??

I just got done reading the sticky notes. Didn't know where they were, but I finally found them. I had no idea what you were talking about. See i never read any of the info. on the board, it really says alot. It'll take me awhile, but I will read all of it. Soooooo much to learn !!!

Let me know about the food, the 3 1/2 cans a day. When I took him to the new Vet he was still at 13 lbs. didn't lose anymore or gain any. He was16 lbs. when this all started.

I'll be awaiting your answer, then bath time. Then test feed and shot time at 8 p.m.

Thanks again !

YoHon & Ragu
 
Becki,

I've been meaning to ask and keep forgetting. When you were at the vet, did she think that Rags current weight was a good weight for him?

Or did she think he was overweight or underweight now?

Since Rags is still unregulated, he is still not processing all that food very well and will be really hungry for some time. Yes, I think that at least the 3 and a half cans a day (Fancy Feast 3 oz) would be the minimun you would want to feed him.

Wink has been OTJ for about 7 weeks now and still wants to eat 8-9 ounces a day. He is around 10 pounds now, started out at 12 pounds mid January.
 
Deb, quite frankly I don't believe she said anything about his weight other than asking me how much he weighed when he was dx. Then she weighed him and saw that he was 13.8 oz. she said fine. So your guess is as good as mine.

You and I determined that 3 1/2 cans were plenty. So does that mean the 3 1/2 cans have to be spread out through the day ? No more, right ? Sorry to keep bugging about the food, I just want to make sure I'm understanding this.

She kept telling me the same amount of food the same exact time of the day. So that is why I question all this. Please don't get frustrated with me, I'm still learning. You know I'm slow, I can't help it !!!

He is sitting here wondering when he is gpoing to eat, my poor boy !!! Wait til he finds out I have to test him.

I still have to get my SS changed, which I will ! I'll be posting on old SS for now.

YoHon & Rags

P.S. she really scraped his side when she shaved him. I've been putting the neosporin on it, but it doesn't seem to be getting better.
 
It's ok Becki, to keep asking about the food. And other stuff too.

Yes, at least 3 1/2 cans of the Fancy Feast 3 oz cans. Maybe more. If he is hungry. Maybe 4 cans. Maybe 4 1/2 cans. Maybe you want to add some Friskies canned food to his diet, to lower the cost.

Unregulated as he is, he will want more food. And it's ok to give it to him.

Yes, I would still spread the food out during the day. If you fed him all the food at once, he might vomit it back up. So, yes, more than one feeding a day will help to prevent that. Also, spreading the food out during the day helps to keep the BG numbers more level.

Find what works for you. I know the other kitties want to eat his food too. So free feediing, leaving food out all the time, probably would not work. That is the main reason I'm suggesting meal feeding instead. Just an option.

Only remember the don't feed hours are 2 hours before the shot. Which is now, until a bit after 8 pm.
 
Deb, thank you. Got ya, he will be a happy big boy.

I'm gonna go test feed and shoot now. He has been soooo good !

Thank You

YoHon & Rags
 
Just wait until those 3 kinds of freeze dried treats arrive on Thursday. Then he we be ecstatic, dancing all over the place for those treats at testing and shot time!

dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon
 
7:57 p.m. BG 229 and OMG what a fight !!! Got away from me twice, blood all over the floor and me, had to stick him twice and two strips.
He is now eating. Does he get a shot ???
YoHon & Rags
 
He is over 200 right? So yes, a shot.

And at least one more test before you go to bed would be nice. I'd love to see a + 5 or a +6 tonight but that would mean you would have to set your alarm and get up to test.

I won't be up that late. Unless Wink jumps up on the clock/radio again and turns it on in the middle of the night. Or turns off the alarm. Or changes the time on the clock. I may have to start stuffing the clock/radio in the bedside drawer so he can't keep changing things on me. ohmygod_smile
 
I will gladly test him before I go to bed. I'm going to work. i have to go buy him 120 cans of ff. Must rob a bank first, so it may take a while. so if i can't do it before work, I'll have to go after work. i'll leave work an hour early so i can at least be home by one to take his test.

YoHon & Rags
 
hi becki. i can't always get back here early at night. looks like deb has you set up with syringes as well as other goodies!
happy to see you'll be getting a before bed spot check tonight. hope ragu doesn't give you a hard time!
 
Hi Becki,

Would you be willing to try something a little different with Rags shaved areas on his sides?

Don't put anything on them. I'm saying that because, you know sometimes when you put an antiobitic on your own skin, it keeps the area too soft and a scab doesn't form? I'm thinking that you might want to try that with Rags, leave the area alone, no Neosporin and let the areas scab over a bit.

Rags may not be liking the Neosporin on those scrapes and may be licking it off. I suppose it could give him an upset tummy if he licks too much off. Also, his constantly bathing the area with his tongue may keep it red for longer.

Keep an eye on it. You may need to put one of those cones around his head to keep him from scraping the area with his raspy tongue.

Just a thought.
 
Jill & Alex, he'll give me a hard time. He gott away from me twice tonightfor his pre shot. Had blood all over kitchen floor. Don't worry, i'll get it somehow, cause I need to know.
However I won't be able to get it befor 2:00 p.m. tomorrow. i'm gonna take it about 11:00 p.m. cause i'm tired. I have to get up at 5:00 a.m. so I can get done everything before I leave for work. Then after work I have to go get him about 120 cans of ff for the month. Ugh !!! I also have to go to two banks, then home.

I'll post his number before In go to bed. Well, I was going to feed him before bed, now it's too late.

Good night, and thank you very much !

YoHon & Rags
 
Deb, yes I will leave his side alone cause actually it looked better before I put on the neo. today.

Good night !

YoHon & Rags
 
Becki, You can still feed him before bed.

The only test where you do not want to feed him is the pre-shot test.

Before any other test you can still feed him. Got that?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top