? 4/15 Wrigley AMPS 384 | PMPS 336@vet, 445@home (stressed out) | 3.5=83 | 4.25=72 | 5=69 | 6=69

Status
Not open for further replies.
It can take a few cycles to recover from the skipped shot. I hope he starts coming down for you today. Good luck with the vet visit and yeah for no more antiobiotics!
 
Took Wrigley to the vet right after work. The vet measured him @ 336 GB with AT2 meter. He sent away blood test so we should find out tomorrow what it says. He also tested for ketones which were negative. I am really happy to hear that. It took a long time and we go home 30 min after his shot time. We tested him right when we got home and shot him with .75 units. He was really stressed and we got a 445 on our meter. It was 12.5 hour after his morning shot and he was really stressed so that number is probably inflated.
 
Some cats can literally jump hundreds of points with vet stress. Punkin didn't show any reaction to it, and I would've said he was a skittish kitty, but the vet didn't stress him - or at least it never showed up in his blood sugar.

Glad you got the negative ketones. Wrigley will come back down.
 
He ate 3/4 can of FF when we got home and he is playing with one of his toys for the first time in a couple weeks right now! It's so nice to see him feeling good again.
 
He ate 3/4 can of FF when we got home and he is playing with one of his toys for the first time in a couple weeks right now! It's so nice to see him feeling good again.
:):):):)

My non diabetic once tested over 160 points higher at the vet than at home the next day. Great news on no ketones!
 
Wow, just tested him at +3.5 and he is down to 83. Even if the PMPS is inflated by stress, it is still a huge drop. I will stay up longer and test again in 30-45 min. A few min ago he ate a little bit of lc food.
 
Just tested again. +4.25 and his BG is 72. Still dropping. Looks like I need to stay up to test more and be a zombie at work tomorrow.
 
Try offering a couple tsp more of his regular low carb food to see if you can get him surfing here.
 
He will definitely eat the food. But would it be best to test with no food to see which way it goes? If I give him small amounts of food now, how often would I need to do this and test tonight? I have to be awake to get ready to work in 6 hours from now :(
 
You could wait another half hour and see where he is going first before deciding if he needs more food. Sometimes feeding a little LC will help them surf longer in healing numbers, but I agree that is hard at night. The risk is what happens if he keeps going down. We don't really have enough data on Wrigley yet to say what he will do. Paws crossed he's done dropping tonight. If he's stable or up a bit at the next test you can feed some leave out low carb food and safely go to sleep.
 
Just got another test. +5 and he is @ 69. Should I give him food or test again? how long would I wait to test?

Thanks
 
That's almost the same number as his +4.25 number of 72. He's probably not going to drop much more. Has he had all the food he'd normally get during the night?
 
I was planning on giving him more food before I went to bed about an hour ago. But I didn't so I could see where his numbers were going. Should I give him 1/4 to 1/2 can of FF and go to bed or do you think another test in 30 min?
 
You could probably leave food and go to sleep. I don't feed FF, so I'm not sure of quantities. Err on the side of generous.
 
@ around +5.75 or close to +6 his BG shows another 69. Looks to be holding steady and not going down. These low numbers are scary, but as long as they are over 50, they are good right? I hope he comes up to a safe number to shoot before work tomorrow since nobody is home with him all day.

I am going to feed him some now and go to bed.

Thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top