4/15 Tommy pmps 288! +1 279, +2 257, +3 287, +7.5 414

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lauren&Tommy (GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterdays condo
Arrrrrrrrrrrrrgggggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhh!! :-x +10 447, +11 457. This is why i couldn't get too excited. I have a question please, I would understand there being a bounce if these numbers from yesterday were a result of just upping his dose but these blues were after 5 cycles of the same dose. The numbers i'm seeing now can't be a bounce right? What does this mean? I wanted to believe soooo much that we had turned a a corner towards some brighter days but this is not the case. I am going to have to find a way to get a dental done on him so we can start chipping away at other reasons why he is still soooooo high most of the time. What am i doing wrong?
 
Re: 4/15 Tommy amps 353! trusting the numbers?

A bounce isn't the result of a dosecrease. (New dose wonkiness may result, though.) This actually does look like a bounce. Tommy isn't all that used to being in blue numbers. He also got to blue pretty quickly - he was at 406 at pre-shot dropping to 126 by +7. His liver panicked. Let's hope this clears sooner, rather than later.
 
Re: 4/15 Tommy amps 353! trusting the numbers?

I've learned to hate the bounce. I feel for you. Hang in and let's hope that it clears quickly.
 
Re: 4/15 Tommy amps 353! trusting the numbers?

Learn something new everyday, I apologize, i thought that a bounce only occurred after an initial upping of a dose.
If nothing has changed in his diet, behavior, feeding pattern, urine, poo etc.. what makes his body decide to suddenly go from reds and pinks to blues and back to red again. Why did he go to blues in the first place..How did that happen, or are these just questions that aren't meant to be answered? Explain to me how i can get through to him that his liver needs to stop panicking and just behave. :lol: Complicated creature cat's are!!! :shock:
 
Re: 4/15 Tommy amps 353! trusting the numbers?

Bev, i'm right there with you... :lol: The bounce is NOT my friend.
Thanks for making me laugh!
 
Re: 4/15 Tommy amps 353! trusting the numbers?

you're doing everything right, squirrel! patience while Tommy's body learns his part. Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 4/15 Tommy amps 353! trusting the numbers?

Squirrel, some cats take up to 6 cycles (some take even longer too!) to respond to a dose increase. It isn't unusual to see a response on the 5th cycle. *Hopefully* he has reached his breakthrough dose, and after the bounce clears, you will see more of the lower numbers, but it's too soon to tell. He could do what he did on 4/4, have one blue cycle and then back up to higher numbers. We just have to wait and see what happens. We alllll wish we could see into the future...it would make this whole dance so much easier!

Some cats bounce for a short time and then flatten out, some bounce for a long time and flatten out, some are still bouncing for months or even years and we don't know if/when they will stop bouncing. There's really no way to know if/when a cat will stop bouncing. I don't know anybody who likes the bounces...including me!
 
Re: 4/15 Tommy amps 353! trusting the numbers? +1 419, +2 39

There are a few visuals that may help you understand what often happens when you increase a dose.

You know that the shed is like your spare gas tank; it equals your dose. If you are driving from A to Z, you want to have enough gas to get home, yes? So, when you increase your dose, you need to top up that spare tank because your distance from A to Z is a bit farther. On your first few shots, you are not getting that increase you need because some of it has to go to your shed first, and when it's filled up, the whole shot goes to Tommy.

For the bouncing, think of a tennis ball. Take that ball and throw it hard against the ground. What follows is a mighty big bounce back up high, but if you watch the ball for longer, what you see is that each following bounce becomes less and less until the ball is finally rolling along the ground. It takes some time, but quite often, as the cat gets used to the lower numbers, the bouncing may become less extreme and less frequent. There are some cats who just seem to bounce and their situation can often be handled or manipulated with their feedings.

It is great to see that Tommy can get down to the blues, but I think he's been up in the nosebleed section for so long that those lousy numbers feel like the right numbers. He's just not used to the real right numbers, and needs to adjust. When first adjusting, those nice blues may feel like you would on a polar bear swim on New Years day! You see those crazy people who run into freezing waters and then come running out? I think that must be how those blues first feel. And just like people who move from a tropical climate to a much cooler one, there is a bit of adjusting involved.

Finally, if you are dealing with some insulin resistance, you can think of a tug-of-war. When you increase the dose, you are adding another man on your end of the rope and may see a bit of a move on your side, but then the other team grabs another extra man and yanks back at you. Eventually, you will reach a point where your dose is strong enough and you can aim to stay in a good BG zone. It's a bit of a balancing act with resistance but once you reach Tommy's dose and learn how he reacts to increases, you'll be able to adjust his dose as he needs.
 
Re: 4/15 Tommy amps 353! +1 419, +2 393, +5 326

sending our hopes that Tommy, like Binks did eventually, learns not to bounce!
 
Re: 4/15 Tommy +2 393, +5 326,+7.5 348,+10 346, pmps 288!

Almost a 60 point drop from +10 to pmps. Still went ahead and gave the same dose. Is this drop something i should keep an eye on tonight. Maybe, just maybe he's down from his bounce. I'll go ahead and check the +1 and go from there. Wanted to get some others thoughts on this.
Tommy's not come down this much i don't believe before a pmps. I'm happy to see it though. Happy Dreams LL..
Julie, it's just one drama after another with our furbabies isn't it! :smile:
 
Re: 4/15 Tommy +7.5 348,+10 346, pmps 288!Bounce over maybe?

I would keep an eye on him. Nice to see Tommy is finally adjusting to the program. I would get a +1 and see if he has a food spike.
 
Re: 4/15 Tommy pmps 288!Bounce over maybe? +1 279

I will, thanks. I can only hope he's adjusting. I got the +1. sorry I forgot to post it right away. Should i continue with getting +2, +3?
 
Re: 4/15 Tommy pmps 288!Bounce over maybe? +1 279

Hi Squirrel,
Yes, I would get a +2 and see which way he's heading at that point. If he is heading down, then I would keep testing.

I'm going to grab a nap...when I get up to test in an hour, I will peek in and see how you're doing. If you get nervous or you need help right away, and no one is on LL, post on Health and use the 911 if it's urgent, ok? I'm not saying that you will need to do that, just mentioning it in case!

Lovely numbers tonight! :-D
 
Re: 4/15 Tommy pmps 288! +1 279, +2 257, +3 287

Hi Laurie, up just a bit from the +2 but that could be a fluctuation with the meter i know. Still in the yellow! I like the yellow :cool:
Think it's safe to doze off for the evening or should i set an alarm for a +5 or +7?
Thank you for checking in on us. That means a lot.
 
Re: 4/15 Tommy pmps 288! +1 279, +2 257, +3 287

It would not hurt to set an alarm and get another test...+5 or +7 is fine. I will be getting a test around both of those times, and I'll peek in then.

I remember all too well how nervewracking the lower numbers were in the beginning. You're doing great! Yellow is nice, it sure beats pink and red! :-D
 
I slept right through the +5 test. Turns out i didn't miss much. +7.5 a bit disappointing. I don't know what's going on with him. I jinxed it by talking about enjoying the yellow so much i guess. I took it twice but the numbers were pretty close to each other. Back to the drawing board :roll:
I hope Mr. Tinkles and you had some good sleep at least.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top