4/15 Shooter AMPS 144, PMPS 225, +8 28

Heather & Shooter

Member Since 2009
Happy Monday! Don't forget to get your taxes in today! Self employment tax is ridiculous! 15.3%! :arghh:

Shooter is doing well but it sure seems like he struggles with 5 units not being enough. Is it possible he will drop too low too often at 5.5 but stay in blues and yellows with 5 which makes 5.25 best but might drop too low once in awhile but still be "ok" to stay at that dose?

4/14 Shooter AMPS 205, PMPS 128 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
 
Happy Monday! Don't forget to get your taxes in today! Self employment tax is ridiculous! 15.3%! :arghh:

Shooter is doing well but it sure seems like he struggles with 5 units not being enough. Is it possible he will drop too low too often at 5.5 but stay in blues and yellows with 5 which makes 5.25 best but might drop too low once in awhile but still be "ok" to stay at that dose?

4/14 Shooter AMPS 205, PMPS 128 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
Yikes, so hard to figure out what is the right dose. He seems to be teetering between the two.:cool:
These higher doses certainly make me very nervous. Not sure how you feel about it, Heather.
We just increased this morning to 4.75 units and it’s the highest we’ve ever been. Puts me completely on edge.:nailbiting:

Hope Shooter has a safe surf today :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Shooter is doing well but it sure seems like he struggles with 5 units not being enough. Is it possible he will drop too low too often at 5.5 but stay in blues and yellows with 5 which makes 5.25 best but might drop too low once in awhile but still be "ok" to stay at that dose?
I didn't go back to read why you reduced from 5.25 too 5U, but for a long term diabetic, the reduction point is 40 and not 50 (with a human meter). Although, it's possible he dropped lower and is bouncing from there. Hopefully he will clear the bounce today and show you what he can do on this dose.
 
Yikes, so hard to figure out what is the right dose. He seems to be teetering between the two.:cool:
These higher doses certainly make me very nervous. Not sure how you feel about it, Heather.
We just increased this morning to 4.75 units and it’s the highest we’ve ever been. Puts me completely on edge.:nailbiting:

Hope Shooter has a safe surf today :bighug::bighug::bighug:


I hate that he has to be on so much more insulin but it doesn't make me nervous when the increases are in .25's it's the .5 jump that scares me.
 
I didn't go back to read why you reduced from 5.25 too 5U, but for a long term diabetic, the reduction point is 40 and not 50 (with a human meter). Although, it's possible he dropped lower and is bouncing from there. Hopefully he will clear the bounce today and show you what he can do on this dose.

He hit exactly 40 in the middle of the night a few days ago. Thinking maybe I should have just held the dose anyway.
 
Hi Heather,
Looks like Shooter hit the hardcore lime a few days ago and went to the hardcore bounce.
This is the 5th cycle since so he may clear it sometime today ;)
Hope Shooter gets to going with this! :bighug:

Yes, like a never ending bounce! Or he just needs to go back to 5.25 again.
 
Acro cats can be more complicated. Often they have working pancreases, so when they earn a reduction, they keep it. I never went with the under 40 rule. I tried doing the three between 40 and 49 rule, and promptly got told that was a bad idea after the second drop well below 50. :eek: It can be ECID, but below 50 worked for Neko. Much like regular diabetic cats, but even more so with acros is ECID.

I would recommend a nice comfy pair of patience pants. This is only cycle 5 after that 40. Give him a bit more time in case he's bouncing. It can take up to six cycles to clear a bounce. I wouldn't rush back to a dose that got him to 40 so recently.
 
Acro cats can be more complicated. Often they have working pancreases, so when they earn a reduction, they keep it. I never went with the under 40 rule. I tried doing the three between 40 and 49 rule, and promptly got told that was a bad idea after the second drop well below 50. :eek: It can be ECID, but below 50 worked for Neko. Much like regular diabetic cats, but even more so with acros is ECID.

I would recommend a nice comfy pair of patience pants. This is only cycle 5 after that 40. Give him a bit more time in case he's bouncing. It can take up to six cycles to clear a bounce. I wouldn't rush back to a dose that got him to 40 so recently.

Ok thank you Wendy! I will go put on my CPP on now. ;)
 
Holy crap! @Wendy&Neko apparently Shooter heard you because my True Metrix read him at 28! Because it’s so late in the cycle I’m not sure what to do! I gave him some mc food then thought to check him with the relion and it said 48 which is much less scary. I’m not sure which one to believe.
 
He's still below 50, you can give high carb. Below 40, I added a drop of syrup (karo in the US) to HC. You don't want that low for any length of time. It's not particularly late in the cycle for Levemir, more like typical nadir time. Neko's nadir was usually later even.

Reduction earned! You can come up now Shooter.

I can't stay up, but tagging @Bandit's Mom in case you need help.
 
Holy crap! @Wendy&Neko apparently Shooter heard you because my True Metrix read him @ 28! Because it’s so late in the cycle I’m not sure what to do! I gave him some mc food then thought to check him with the relion and it said 48 which is much less scary. I’m not sure which one to believe.
He's still below 50, you can give high carb. Below 40, I added a drop of syrup (karo in the US) to HC. You don't want that low for any length of time. It's not particularly late in the cycle for Levemir, more like typical nadir time. Neko's nadir was usually later even.

Reduction earned! You can come up now Shooter.

I can't stay up, but tagging @Bandit's Mom in case you need help.

I just checked him again and he’s at 50 on the True Metrix. Phew! can’t say that wasn’t a little scary! Lol
 
I just checked him again and he’s at 50 on the True Metrix. Phew! can’t say that wasn’t a little scary! Lol
I had a meter (Alere) that would read much lower than Accucheck at the lower end of the normal range, but I used it because its strips were half the price. It would give readings in the 20s and 30s and when I cross-checked the same blood drop with the Accuchek, I would get anywhere from 20 to 30 points higher - like you did today.

Congrats on the reduction! :-)
 
Last edited:
It's shot time and he's still at 55. I can stall for another hour MAX then have to leave for work for 4 hours.

Just re-read TR and it sounds like because he's been flat and above 50 I can go ahead and shoot his reduced dose, so here we go... lol
Sorry I didn't see this on time. It's good you shot. Stalling could cause numbers to drop further. This way you have an hour more after the shot to test and feed :-)
 
Back
Top