4/15 punkin amps 218 +3/165 +6/277 PMPS 231 +3/221

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
happy punkin! he's doing a little more preening, i've noticed. he was busy washing his paws this morning and had his toes all spread out - there's major white hair tufts springing from between his toes and it looked so funny being held up in the air. i'll be happy when the bath includes his back!

we're going to my niece's college graduation in virginia the weekend of May 8th and last night i got a vet tech arranged to come and give him his shots. i'm wondering if i should also try to find someone to test him some during the day, or just have her give him some higher carb food? have any of you had to get coverage like this before? the tech can't come during the day because she works.

yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=41197
 
Re: 4/15 punkin amps 218

I haven't been in this situation so I will let an expert chime in. Just wanted to say Good morning to you and Punkin!
 
Re: 4/15 punkin amps 218

Awww, I love the long hair tufts in between their little toes. Glad to hear he is washing his lil' paws. Happy Friday guys! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/15 punkin amps 218

I just looked through Punkin's SS. His numbers are looking really good!!!! way to go Punkin dancing_cat
 
Re: 4/15 punkin amps 218

No advice but I would think it would probably be good to have someone check him or else have her shoot reduced doses while you're gone.

KTSS: Kittenhood of the Traveling Soup and Spa. When someone...kitty or bean...is sick, the KTSS krewe takes soup and spa treatments to the sick one. Tobey does the spa massages :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/15 punkin amps 218

Hi Julie,
I believe that when Sienne has to be away for a few days she has someone come in to give the shots, but not to test. She reduces Gabby's dose while she is away. The dose that is given is probably noted in Gabby's SS. Perhaps you should put a question in your subject line--something like "dose when away?" to get eyes on your problem.

Nice about Punkin's feet cleaning!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/15 punkin amps 218 +3/165 +6/277 huh?

what would this be? 218-165-277? do you sometimes have a bounce start on the 4th cycle of an increase?
 
Re: 4/15 punkin amps 218 +3/165 +6/277 huh?

Sometimes, there's just a bounce, because. :)

I had a sitter over New Year's, and under the terms of my agreement with them, I wasn't allowed to have anyone else in the house while I was gone (because it is under their care and control... if you have people in your house and then it gets burglarized, their bonding/insurance company can refuse to pay the claim because the house wasn't solely under their control). I still had my sister stop by a few times... she used a different meter/strips and made sure she left everything just as she'd found it! We shot a lower dose during that period to make sure Willie was safe.

Hope you guys are having a good day!!
 
Re: 4/15 punkin amps 218 +3/165 +6/277 huh?

Punk!!! wrong way!!

images
 
Re: 4/15 punkin amps 218 +3/165 +6/277 huh?

Those numbers are just crazy talk! Are they calling that a bounce, Julie? This is like playing a game where the rules are changed all the time and no one tells you.
 
Re: 4/15 punkin amps 218 +3/165 +6/277 huh?

Hmmm....did you retest? Whenever you get a wacky test that doesn't make sense, you should retest. If the retest confirms the number, I would suspect contraband....any chance he got into something? Is he feeling ok? Illness can boost numbers.

It's always preferable if you can have someone to get spot checks along with PS tests while you are away. It is a good idea to reduce the dose whether someone can test or not...often kitty won't eat as well when you are away, and it usually isn't possible to monitor closely enough to catch any possible lows. Safety first!
 
Re: 4/15 punkin amps 218 +3/165 +6/277 huh?

Hi Julie: You know Gracie does this to me sometimes, too. She did it today. I have found if I immediately recheck with the same meter, the number is lower so I have two of my OTs that always read pretty close to each other so I recheck with the second one. It's a mystery. I do get weary of the craziness in this dance...I just want STABILITY...preferably in blue or green. :lol:
 
Re: 4/15 punkin amps 218 +3/165 +6/277 huh?

i didn't retest - and i immediately succumbed to the sleep molecules that punkin and anya were generating, keeled over on the sofa and slept for the next 3 hours. I missed the +9 check. my allergies (and the meds) wipe me out sometimes.

he's been after me for the past hour to feed him and we have to wait for another 30 minutes. you'd think he was starving. he just came and put his paw on my chest in case there were any possibility he could get the message through by touching me and crying in my face.

what's the definition of regulated/unregulated? i'll go look at the stickies and see if something says.

no chance of contraband. the old kitty kibbles are in the garage so there's nothing for him to get into.
 
Re: 4/15 punkin amps 218 +3/165 +6/277 huh?

Mannie has done this to me at times too. odd numbers for no reason, even with retesting. it could have been a bad strip too...

Alot of bean give reduced doses when they are away for trips, etc. Fir their peace of mind, and to keep kitty safe. Sienne is a good source,
 
Re: 4/15 punkin amps 218 +3/165 +6/277 PMPS 231

a pretty normal pmps compared to the amps - maybe it was a bad strip or something . . .

thanks for the help!
 
Re: 4/15 punkin amps 218 +3/165 +6/277 PMPS 231

Kitties will be kitties....they loooove to keep us beans guessing. Have a great night, guys!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top