4/15 Pumbaa -- AMPS/293, +2/328, +4/341, +7.5/437, PMPS/342

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
I am very happy to wake up to a yellow number, and hope for some blues today, too!

This morning's shot finishes his 4th cycle at 1.0U DIB, so I'm going to run a 2-hour curve throughout the day. Thankfully, I am able to distract him with sardines (packed in water, no salt).

Wish me luck with Mr. Wiggle Butt. *LOL*
 
Re: 4/15 Pumbaa -- AMPS 293 --

Pumbaa said:
I am very happy to wake up to a yellow number, and hope for some blues today, too!

This morning's shot finishes his 4th cycle at 1.0U DIB, so I'm going to run a 2-hour curve throughout the day. Thankfully, I am able to distract him with sardines (packed in water, no salt).

Wish me luck with Mr. Wiggle Butt. *LOL*
Well, it's looking like you are getting a small bit of improvement with each shot, yes? Maybe with a couple more at 1u and more sardines, we may yet get to some blues or at least some lower yellows for sure!

Best of luck on the curve; it will be exciting to see what numbers Pumbaa has today.
 
Re: 4/15 Pumbaa -- AMPS 293 --

Thank you, Gayle!

Just tested Pumbaa's urine...keytones are at 15. Two days ago they were zero. From what I understand, it's not unusual to see some ketones in the urine, especially since I don't know the last time Pumbaa peed before I tested. I am going to make sure he drinks plenty of water today, to flush out his kidneys.
 
Re: 4/15 Pumbaa -- AMPS/293 -- +2/328 -- +4/341 --

I swear I didn't give a fur shot this morning, but from what I've read, his BG numbers should be going down below his pre-shot numbers right now.

Color me confused! I was truly hoping for all yellows and some blues today. I think I am going to wait to +7 to test him again instead of every 2 hours. Don't want to keep subjecting him to the testing if I screwed up with his shot this morning.
 
Re: 4/15 Pumbaa -- AMPS/293 -- +2/328 -- +4/341 -- +7.5/437

Pumbaa still has 4 hours to go before his next shot and his numbers are climbing like crazy.

Every time I give him a shot, I pet him, especially in that area, in order to feel for dampness in case of the proverbial fur shot. I didn't feel any dampness this morning, and have no explanation for the climbing numbers, especially when his AMPS number was so much better than yesterday's numbers.

Is there any explanation for this other than a fur shot? I feel like a failure! :(
 
Re: 4/15 Pumbaa -- AMPS/293 -- +2/328 -- +4/341 -- +7.5/437

Noooooooooooooooooo don't feel like a failure!!!! This is all part of the dance that we're on. Some days you feel like you're tripping over your feet, some days you are unsure of the steps, some days you're on a different beat then they are, and some days you magically dance together. You are NOT a failure.

I'm not sure as the reason of the increasing numbers though...but that doesn't mean that you've done anything wrong in any way. This is not a sprint, but a marathon --- when I was told that, it was honestly, the best piece of advice I've ever heard. Because it sooooo hard not to feel discouraged - trust me....I know - we all know here. So vent away, scream, yell, but never think of yourself as a failure...promise? :) pretty please?
 
Re: 4/15 Pumbaa -- AMPS/293 -- +2/328 -- +4/341 -- +7.5/437

Thank you, Lil. You just made me cry with your kind words. (((HUGS)))

I just came back from digging out my Wahl buzzers and shaving Pumbaa's flank so I never, ever, ever give him a fur shot again. He's been so very good about the ear pricks and me sticking him with the insulin syringes...I owe it to him to make these torments count. I can't believe that Mr. Wiggle Butt actually stayed in my arms while I buzzed the fur off his side. What a little trooper he has been...well, ever since he bit me at the vet's office two weeks ago. *LOL* But that wasn't his fault since he was very scared and agitated!

Yes, it's a marathon but I haven't received my order of "patience pants" yet, so I'm still in sprinting mode. ;) I just soooooo wanted the little guy to have good numbers today, to show a progressive improvement since we started the insulin. I'm not going to be able to relax until he regularly gets some blue numbers and I know his little body isn't suffering any organ damage.
 
Re: 4/15 Pumbaa -- AMPS/293 -- +2/328 -- +4/341 -- +7.5/437

Lets see where he is by hi pmps...if he starts dropping the closer he gets to hisnext shot time you have an inverse curve which usually but not always means the dose is too high. So you may want to try reducing the dose tomorrow and see if he gives you lower numbers. That is another one of those odd steps to this dance is sometimes less is more. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Musette and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/15 Pumbaa -- AMPS/293 -- +2/328 -- +4/341 -- +7.5/437

Mel, thank you! I test him again in 1/2 hour, and we'll go from there. I didn't know about an inverse curve, and I'm not holding my breath about it, but it sure would be nice to have to reduce his dosage, wouldn't it?

At least now I know that I have no chance of giving him a fur shot since he has no fur on his flank! I should have just buzzed him the very first day.
 
Re: 4/15 Pumbaa -- AMPS/293 -- +2/328 -- +4/341 -- +7.5/437

OK now I want you to listen to me.... you are not a failure and you are NOT tormenting Pumbaa. if you were not treating him with insulin, and giving him such good care, he would just get sicker and die!
YOU are doing a terrific job of caring for him, and you should know that how you are feeling, we have all been there!

To know the road ahead, ask the man coming back.

Please don't be upset; it's not a fast fix, but you are making sure it's a good fix.
Sure, the numbers may look bad but don't forget that you have no idea how long he's had these high numbers!
These numbers may feel like home to him, but you are forcing his body to numbers that just feel 'wrong'.
Give him some time to adjust, and watch for a happier and healthier Pumbaa to show up before the better numbers.

About the fur shot, you would be able to smell the insulin as well so that's another sign of a fur shot.
Now that he's shaved, you could still have a problem if you gave him a skin shot LOL.

Also, like Mel said, the inverse curve can mean a few things, and one is the cat has a late nadir. My Oliver had a very late nadir so his curves have always looked like mountains, and not valleys.

Don't be so hard on yourself. Spend some special time with Pumbaa and I bet it will make both of you feel better.
 
Re: 4/15 Pumbaa -- AMPS/293, +2/328, +4/341, +7.5/437, PMPS/

His PMPS is down to 342, so would that signify an inverse curve as MommaOfMuse suggested, and should I reduce his next dosage to .5 or .75?

BTW, he didn't get into any carbs today since I take away the drooler's food if she doesn't eat it, and there aren't any carbs around the house for him to get into. He ate his normal EVO turkey and chicken formula for breakfast, got his normal sardines in water as a bribe for testing, had some steak around noon (yes, I splurged for dinner yesterday...figured I had already broken the budget so what was the cost of a steak instead of plain old chicken for mom), and I've been trying to get him to drink more water today.
 
Re: 4/15 Pumbaa -- AMPS/293, +2/328, +4/341, +7.5/437, PMPS/

Thank you, Gayle! I'm very hard on myself, and just don't want to make mistakes that can cause Pumbaa to not get better as quickly as he could if I didn't make mistakes.

What is funny is that the little guy who bit me at the vet's office two weeks ago is taking all of this in stride! He doesn't complain when I make him pee in the litter box without the privacy lid on and then shove a spoon under his butt to collect the urine. He loves sitting on my lap and eating sardines while I test him. I've been playing "flashlight" with both of my boys every day so that they burn off excess energy and we don't have any more cat fights. And all 3 of my animals have been getting extra loving and attention, both for their therapy as well as for mine. :)

I hope those "patience pants" arrive quickly! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top