? 4/15 - PHOEBE amps - 239 - food suggestions

eva eva

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-14-phoebe-260-need-food-suggestions.300063/#post-3264753

Phoebe is doing good. She is eating but her sugars are still not where they should be.
With 4 other cats in the house and one of them has allergies -- (working on this also)
it is a bit daunting. Our last meat is one of the major meats that makes up cat food - chicken.
I don't do hardly any fish other than salmon right now. i believe it is one of the fish meats that have low reaction for allergies. They all get it once every 3-4 days. (my belief is he has environmental allergies and is cyclical)
I get Vital essentials raw rabbit. I am going to try the chicken for our trial on chicken. then slowly add chicken and hopefully feeding will get easier. Still looking for food suggestions. I am in USA.
I write carbs on each type of canned food I bring in the house for carbs. I have high carb stuff in the house which I didn't realize the carbs stay the same despite lowering the amount. But now with this information I am cleaning out the house once and for all.
Have a great week, back to calculations for the day. Thanks to all. Increase is tomorrow.
@Bandit's Mom @Diane Tyler's Mom GA @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee
 
Thanks for the update. I will keep it to the 3 day cycle. I have to leave town though, in 4 days
If she is still running well over 200's should I hold off till I get home to increase? No sugars will be taken while I am gone.
I don't want her to get low while I am gone. My sitter will give insulin but not check sugars. I don't feel a libre will stay on her.
Here is a question. Could my Lantus be a bad batch? I have another syringe of Lantus.
also --when I spoke with the pharmacy they stated the generic glargine is biosimilar to the brand name. they feel they are the same, as he has other customers that get the generic. It is about 1/3 the price.
I have been calculating all the kitty food I have in the house.
I have a few types that are over 13 carbs. they will get donated to another shelter. I am going to go broke.
With TR I read they don't have to be fasting for 2 hours to get a sugar. Did I read that right? I am not fasting her other than her own am fasting. She sleeps with me at night and I know she is with me for at least 2 hours before her am check.

I got rid of all the cat food over 12 carbs, for the other cats. I am planning on transitioning over to all Fancy feast with Rabbit for breakfast. Currently I am keeping an eye on Phoebe to not eat their food. While I am gone it will mostly be low carb. the other kitties usually eat all their food at mealtime. She may get a few morsels. she is leary of them.
I have tried the raw chicken and turkey in the past without success. It's pretty gross and the directions state don't leave it down ---let them eat and then throw it away. My cats are nibbling grazers. I feel like I am starting at square one once again.

@Bandit's Mom
@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee @Diane Tyler's Mom GA
 
With TR I read they don't have to be fasting for 2 hours to get a sugar. Did I read that right? I
You need to withhold feeding 2 hours prior to testing the AMP and the PMPS because you don't want the BG to be influenced by food. I will tag a few members about the increase since your sister won't be testing Phoebe while you are away.
I don't give dosing advice
@eva eva
 
Last edited:
Thanks for the update. I will keep it to the 3 day cycle. I have to leave town though, in 4 days
If she is still running well over 200's should I hold off till I get home to increase? No sugars will be taken while I am gone.
I don't want her to get low while I am gone. My sitter will give insulin but not check sugars. I don't feel a libre will stay on her.
Here is a question. Could my Lantus be a bad batch? I have another syringe of Lantus.
also --when I spoke with the pharmacy they stated the generic glargine is biosimilar to the brand name. they feel they are the same, as he has other customers that get the generic. It is about 1/3 the price.
I have been calculating all the kitty food I have in the house.
I have a few types that are over 13 carbs. they will get donated to another shelter. I am going to go broke.
With TR I read they don't have to be fasting for 2 hours to get a sugar. Did I read that right? I am not fasting her other than her own am fasting. She sleeps with me at night and I know she is with me for at least 2 hours before her am check.

I got rid of all the cat food over 12 carbs, for the other cats. I am planning on transitioning over to all Fancy feast with Rabbit for breakfast. Currently I am keeping an eye on Phoebe to not eat their food. While I am gone it will mostly be low carb. the other kitties usually eat all their food at mealtime. She may get a few morsels. she is leary of them.
I have tried the raw chicken and turkey in the past without success. It's pretty gross and the directions state don't leave it down ---let them eat and then throw it away. My cats are nibbling grazers. I feel like I am starting at square one once again.

@Bandit's Mom
@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee @Diane Tyler's Mom GA
@Bandit's Mom
@tiffmaxee
 
Thanks for the update. I will keep it to the 3 day cycle. I have to leave town though, in 4 days
If she is still running well over 200's should I hold off till I get home to increase? No sugars will be taken while I am gone.
I don't want her to get low while I am gone. My sitter will give insulin but not check sugars. I don't feel a libre will stay on her.
Let's see where she is after 6 cycles on 2.25U? When do you leave and when are you back?


Here is a question. Could my Lantus be a bad batch? I have another syringe of Lantus.
also --when I spoke with the pharmacy they stated the generic glargine is biosimilar to the brand name. they feel they are the same, as he has other customers that get the generic. It is about 1/3 the price.
The generic is fine and lots of member use it because it's cheaper. For now it looks like Phoebe just needs to get to a good dose. Are you using pens or a vial?


With TR I read they don't have to be fasting for 2 hours to get a sugar. Did I read that right? I am not fasting her other than her own am fasting. She sleeps with me at night and I know she is with me for at least 2 hours before her am check.
Yes, like Diane said, you don't feed 2 hours before the shot so that the PS is not food influenced. Both with SLGS and TR. However, at the levels Phoebe is at now, it doesn't matter. A lot of people who are used to shooting/handling lower numbers also don't necessarily follow the 2 hour fasting rule. Once Pheobe starts seeing lower numbers, you might want to withhold food in the 2 hour window till you are comfortable handling lower numbers.
 
Let's see where she is after 6 cycles on 2.25U? When do you leave and when are you back?

The generic is fine and lots of member use it because it's cheaper. For now it looks like Phoebe just needs to get to a good dose. Are you using pens or a vial?

Thankyou to all for your help.
I leave Saturday after amps numbers and feeding - and will return on Monday afternoon - before pmps.
Friday night would be the day to increase if I were to increase.

I will make sure she fasts for 2 hours before AMPS and PMPS while I am home. I will note it on my spreadsheet if I can't confirm a fast.

I currently have the Lantus pen. I was getting another pen -- when the pharmacist suggested the generic glargine --- which would be a vial.
 
Back
Top