MindyC
Member Since 2019
Hi All,
So Max appears to be responding well to the switch to Lantus (expected, since he went into remission on it before). We're on cycle #11 tonight. Overall, his numbers are trending down, other than that one funny bounce.
I'm trying to stick to the 1U dose as well as I can so the numbers can be compared...but with his preshots going lower, it's making me nervous. We're also adjusting shot times this week to get them back to where they need to be--due to one wonky preshot number and a total brain fart on my part, we ended up on a 2-hours later than normal cycle time over the weekend. Shot times are being walked back by 15 minutes every dose (which is making dinner and soccer practice extra fun!
). I thought about skipping a shot to reset the time, but I don't want to mess up his progress.
Anyway...when Max was on insulin 9 years ago, he was on a steady 2U dose for a couple of weeks. When he moved to remission we went from 2U to the OTJ trial drop dosing in a week. It was a crazy slip-slide down the dose scale from what I remember. Of course I don't have his spreadsheet from back then for reference. I don't expect remission again (tho it sure would be nice!), but at what point do I need to consider an actual dose reduction? I can run a curve on Friday, but I work M-Th, and I can't come home to check him. He's still so new on Lantus I don't have a lot of data to know what his cycle could or should look like. I don't *think* he's had a nadir under 100 yet, but he might have today. I'm either gone or sleeping at that time right now, so I don't actually know. When we get him back on schedule I can get a +5 or +6 most nights before I go to bed.
I'd appreciate any insight you all can provide. I've had him longer than I've had my husband, he's my first baby, and while he's old and slowing down, I want to make sure I am not the cause of him feeling cruddy. My husband will be helpful when we get to a point where his numbers are somewhat predictable and on a stable dose, but until then, I'm the only one in this house processing all the numbers and insulin info.
So Max appears to be responding well to the switch to Lantus (expected, since he went into remission on it before). We're on cycle #11 tonight. Overall, his numbers are trending down, other than that one funny bounce.
I'm trying to stick to the 1U dose as well as I can so the numbers can be compared...but with his preshots going lower, it's making me nervous. We're also adjusting shot times this week to get them back to where they need to be--due to one wonky preshot number and a total brain fart on my part, we ended up on a 2-hours later than normal cycle time over the weekend. Shot times are being walked back by 15 minutes every dose (which is making dinner and soccer practice extra fun!
Anyway...when Max was on insulin 9 years ago, he was on a steady 2U dose for a couple of weeks. When he moved to remission we went from 2U to the OTJ trial drop dosing in a week. It was a crazy slip-slide down the dose scale from what I remember. Of course I don't have his spreadsheet from back then for reference. I don't expect remission again (tho it sure would be nice!), but at what point do I need to consider an actual dose reduction? I can run a curve on Friday, but I work M-Th, and I can't come home to check him. He's still so new on Lantus I don't have a lot of data to know what his cycle could or should look like. I don't *think* he's had a nadir under 100 yet, but he might have today. I'm either gone or sleeping at that time right now, so I don't actually know. When we get him back on schedule I can get a +5 or +6 most nights before I go to bed.
I'd appreciate any insight you all can provide. I've had him longer than I've had my husband, he's my first baby, and while he's old and slowing down, I want to make sure I am not the cause of him feeling cruddy. My husband will be helpful when we get to a point where his numbers are somewhat predictable and on a stable dose, but until then, I'm the only one in this house processing all the numbers and insulin info.