4/15 Jackson 1 PM preshot 393 +8 292 +11 322

Skye & Jackson

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-13-71-14-83-15-89-16-109-pmps-17-149.276456/

His numbers started to rise as the impact of the depot started to wear off. Tomorrow's scheduled shot time would be 12 hours after tonight's shot. You don't want to shoot again in 7 hours at your usual time. Another option with things this late, though not ideal, is to do his next shot 18 hours later. That'll put you closer to being back on schedule. 2 18 hour cycles are a technique used in unusual circumstances, when ketones are not much of a concern. I did it once for Neko. For anyone reading/lurking, this is only recommended if there is no other solution.

Considering the high bounce - and that he’s taken accidental 2-hour jumps fine before when high - I will back up this morning’s dose a few hours. But I’m wary of going the full 12 because he only got 1.5 units last night. I’m actually more concerned about putting full doses too close together after this first one than I am shooting sooner after a half dose. I don’t want to leave him 18 hours out when I gave him a way reduced dose last night to begin with, which is why I was going to try for usual shot time. He’ll have burned through that pretty quick at his current numbers (in the 400s.) He’s been urine ketone negative ever since he came home, but he did get them - and badly - before he started insulin.
 
Last edited:
What’s a BCS?

I ended up giving him 1.5 units at +5 past his normal shot time. If I’d thought I would be pushing his morning shot back, I would have given his full dose.
 
What’s a BCS?

I ended up giving him 1.5 units at +5 past his normal shot time. If I’d thought I would be pushing his morning shot back, I would have given his full dose.

BCS is Big Chicken Sh*t , lol, its in the glossary. I only learned about it a few weeks ago.

Yeah, it's better to do the whole dose if you stall, bc you have to close the time gap.

Now, I think there's something somewhere that says if they are very high, you can shoot an hour earlier than you planned, but you can only do it once in the course of going back to regular time.

@Bandit's Mom / @tiffmaxee can you advise Skye on this?
 
I do remember that the one hour is what’s written… I studied that whole list of ways to move doses before. But he’s handled two hours before when bouncing. (Not on purpose, that time, but it seemed to make no difference whatsoever.)

I’m honestly anxious about waiting that long to shoot after I gave the BCS (lol). As I said, I actually did that because I was thinking I would shoot closer to normal time today… I was thinking it might just fill out the depot to something closer to normal (though still probably below, after he used it.)
 
I can understand your anxiety, but shooting too early can screw up the cycle too, and frankly it's probably dangerous because you're not sure if he will take it as an increase and tank. He's going to bounce either way.

In my experience, after 2.5 hours, I just stall, that way I can stay on schedule, or, shoot early after the skip, and close the gap from there.

What time is 12 hours from the last dose?

I'm adding @Angela & Cleo here for additional support.
 
I was catching up.
@Skye & Jackson post#1 seems that you decided against the 18hours as described by @Wendy&Neko . Is that correct?
As Wendy said the next shot should be 12 hours from the last one. BCS doesn't change the cycle time. Are you more concerned about the high BG or getting back on schedule?
Jackson is definitely bouncing from that loooonnngg stretch of great numbers.
If it were me, I would shoot the new dose of 2.0 at +11 from the last shot since the BG is in the red AND tonight shoot 12 hours from the AMPS. I wouldn't shoot early twice in a day.
Hope this makes sense. I'm typing from my phone :oops:
 
It makes sense, and I really am quite concerned about his high BG. But my biggest worry is going to have to be that I literally cannot take a week to work him back 5 hours. That would put shot times scheduled for while I’m at work. He has to be on schedule by the end of the weekend.

If you think I cannot give him early enough shots to walk it back that much, am I stuck with the 18 hours, then?

Just wondering, why is it that the BCS doesn’t matter, timing wise? Wouldn’t its depot run out sooner?

I’m also very worried that a decrease to 2 units just will not work. Heck, 2.25 units wasn’t really working, until I inadvertently increased to just below 2.5 for a few cycles (I think).
 
Last edited:
I just did math and figured out that I actually would need about two 16 hour jumps, rather than 18. Which would put my shot time at 3 pm. At which time I will likely be out of the house. Could I do that shot a little early, say at about the 14 hour mark instead? And then 16 after that? I mean, it’s gonna be longer than 12 hours no matter what I do, so he certainly shouldn’t have any dose-too-soon affects. Especially while he’s bouncing.
 
I do, so he certainly shouldn’t have any dose-too-soon affects
Honestly, I don't know the answer. I personally have no experience with other methods of getting back on schedule. Most I've had to do with Cleo is walk back shot time by 4hours and did it 30 minutes a day. Another time, I just skipped the AM dose and shot at the regular time. I just put it in my head that it was a fur shot.
Sorry I can't be of more help. :bighug:
 
I guess if it happens again I’ll just skip. I almost did. Then I thought I could finagle it with the lower dose…

I can’t really see 14 hours being more of a problem than 16. Both will still be over 12. No early shots. I guess I’ll do that. Shot scheduled for 1 PM then…

Edit: I just scheduled it out on the SS and actually my math was off, I need 14 to 15 hour intervals anyway. So no problem scheduling that. I just hate seeing him in reds for two days. Usually even if he’s bouncing high, a normal shot will bring him down to pinks… But my work/shot schedule is just not that flexible, not enough to take the next week to walk him back.
 
Last edited:
I guess if it happens again I’ll just skip. I almost did. Then I thought I could finagle it with the lower dose…

I can’t really see 14 hours being more of a problem than 16. Both will still be over 12. No early shots. I guess I’ll do that. Shot scheduled for 1 PM then…

Edit: I just scheduled it out on the SS and actually my math was off, I need 14 to 15 hour intervals anyway. So no problem scheduling that. I just hate seeing him in reds for two days. Usually even if he’s bouncing high, a normal shot will bring him down to pinks… But my work/shot schedule is just not that flexible, not enough to take the next week to walk him back.

He may not be in reds for 2 entire days, he may have a high cycle or two and get back into the groove.

Yes, sometimes skipping is the better way to handle the low pre-shot, because working back is a pain in the @$$...

Also, when you skip, you can shoot earlier and work your way forward, which imo, is easier.
 
Back
Top