Jack & Mopem'sMom
Member Since 2020
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-12-jack-281-amps-increased-to-10-5u.288710/
I took the weekend off from life because I wasn't feeling well and I just don't have anything good to say. I'm praying that Jack shows some action today or tomorrow on this dose. He generally waits until day 4 or 5 of an increase to do something, so maybe today is the day.
I never got a phone call from the vet, which is really upsetting, since I wanted to DISCUSS things, and found an email in my inbox last night that was apparently came in at 9:30pm Saturday night. I've pasted the main part of the email below; any thoughts/feedback would be greatly appreciated, especially regarding the internal med specialist recommendation- anyone have one they like that they work with or know anything about the clinic she is recommending? Also, cliff notes version of the fructosamine test? Thanks in advance--hope everyone has a good week and all the kitties surf safely!
"[Techs] will call you near the end of the week. Our charges usually would be double MSU's fee to us; industry standard is double to triple the MSU fees. This is to cover staff time in sample prep and packaging, and cover doctor time in researching and discussing results.
I do recommend adding a fructosamine level, also. This probably should be done through Antech due to shipping time. I definitely agree that we need to assess his insulin dose; a cat his size should usually do well with up to 8 units glargine , and he's taking more than that. There is also referral to Eastern PA Vet Referral in Allentown, or the internal medicine specialist of your choice, for further assessment if needed. The references I've found on glargine say that the main concern for the diabetic cat is how he is feeling: is he PU/ PD? are his energy levels good? If he's feeling great that is our goal, even if his numbers are not at textbook normal levels"
I took the weekend off from life because I wasn't feeling well and I just don't have anything good to say. I'm praying that Jack shows some action today or tomorrow on this dose. He generally waits until day 4 or 5 of an increase to do something, so maybe today is the day.
I never got a phone call from the vet, which is really upsetting, since I wanted to DISCUSS things, and found an email in my inbox last night that was apparently came in at 9:30pm Saturday night. I've pasted the main part of the email below; any thoughts/feedback would be greatly appreciated, especially regarding the internal med specialist recommendation- anyone have one they like that they work with or know anything about the clinic she is recommending? Also, cliff notes version of the fructosamine test? Thanks in advance--hope everyone has a good week and all the kitties surf safely!
"[Techs] will call you near the end of the week. Our charges usually would be double MSU's fee to us; industry standard is double to triple the MSU fees. This is to cover staff time in sample prep and packaging, and cover doctor time in researching and discussing results.
I do recommend adding a fructosamine level, also. This probably should be done through Antech due to shipping time. I definitely agree that we need to assess his insulin dose; a cat his size should usually do well with up to 8 units glargine , and he's taking more than that. There is also referral to Eastern PA Vet Referral in Allentown, or the internal medicine specialist of your choice, for further assessment if needed. The references I've found on glargine say that the main concern for the diabetic cat is how he is feeling: is he PU/ PD? are his energy levels good? If he's feeling great that is our goal, even if his numbers are not at textbook normal levels"


about the animals anymore.