4/15 Eleanor AMPS 338 +3 318 Dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68717&p=748518#p748518

I'm very upset with Eleanor's numbers. The increase to 1.75 has done nothing. Should I increase to 2u?
I'm wondering if the insulin has gone bad. How do you tell in an unregulated cat? The insulin looks fine.
She threw up at +9, before when she threw up her bg went a bit higher, I thought by +3 she would be coming down.
She is negative for Ketones and acts okay, not as good as yesterday, but then, I'm hovering over her and she's wondering what I'm going to do to her :smile: .
 
First...let me say...I am NOT one of the wise ones- so if you get conflicting input from others-
please take their advice over mine...

but in my opinion...yes- it's time to increase by .25u

time to lower those numbers, Miss Eleanor!

celi & binks
 
Hi Julie,
I'm not so grate with dose advice, but I see it has been 6 cycles, so I think thats the time period we are supposed to give a dose before we change it again, but I would rather someone else give you the answer. Hope they will soon, sorry. I know its so frustrating, you never know what the reasons are for their numbers.
 
I don't see that she's bouncing. I think you have room to increase the dose. I think it's okay to increase to 2.00 units.
 
I agree -- I'd raise the dose.

What I'd suggest you consider is that holding on to a dose for too long can make it harder to get the numbers to come down. Your cat's body interprets the higher numbers as the new "normal." Bounces or other issues not withstanding, I'd encourage you to not hold the dose for more than 7 days if you're sticking with SLGS. I do think the down side of the SLGS approach is that you've got to be willing to tolerate the higher numbers longer. With TR, you evaluate the dose after 3 days/6 cycles.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top