4/15 Eddie AMPS 218, PMPS 152, +4/107, +5/77, +6/51, +9/76

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
I hope everyone will forgive the duplicate post! I accidentally posted Eddie's condo in PZI today. Whoops! ohmygod_smile :oops: Too much multi-tasking, I guess.

Yesterday's Condo

Hello LL!

Today:
AMPS = 218
+2 = 219
+6 = 180
PMPS = 152
+2 = 178
+4 = 107
+5 = 77
+6 = 51
+6.5 = 55
+7 = 51
+7.5 = 59
+8 = 51
+8.5 = 64
+9 = 76

Back to below freezing temperatures in MN this morning, although the sun is shining today. The snow that hit the Western US is slated to hit here late tonight into the early morning hours tomorrow morning. And just when it looked like spring had sprung! :roll:

As I was getting ready this morning, I noticed the cats going back and forth between the windows, and looked out and saw and heard what had them all worked up. There were several wild turkeys strutting around gobbling away. Since they are indoor kitties and definitely not allowed to hunt wild turkeys, they had to be satisfied with FF Turkey & Giblets for lunch today.

Eddie's a little lower today, but needs to come down some more. I'm hoping that a dosecrease will keep his cycle flat, but obviously lower. This AM was the 6th cycle at 1.75u, so unless something weird happens, we will plan to dosecrease to 2.0u with the PM cycle tonight.
 
Re: 4/15 Eddie AMPS 218, +6/180

I bet the kitties were having a blast watching those turkeys. I hope Eddie keeps sliding down. Good luck if you increase the dose tonight.
 
Re: 4/15 Eddie AMPS 218, +6/180, PMPS 152

Thanks Carla!

We got a lower than expected pre-shot of 152 tonight, which I'm pleased to see.

I had still intended to proceed with the doserease, but DH who was busy telling me about his day while filling the syringe and doing the shot, apparently didn't register the instruction to shoot 2.0u. :roll: :YMSIGH: So, Eddie's been spared a dosecrease for the time being. Hopefully, he can take advantage of that lower pre-shot and hang a bit lower for the PM cycle tonight.
 
Re: 4/15 Eddie AMPS 218, +6/180, PMPS 152, +2/178

Flat blue is better than flat yellow, but green is what we want. Paws crossed Eddie shows something tonight. If not, your plan for an increase sounds good.

Cool on the wild turkeys! I've only been to MN a couple of times, but I do remember seeing turkeys in the winter there. I'm sure Neko would go after them - she loves her raw turkey. :lol:
 
Re: 4/15 Eddie AMPS 218, +6/180, PMPS 152, +2/178

Since they are indoor kitties and definitely not allowed to hunt wild turkeys, they had to be satisfied with FF Turkey & Giblets for lunch today.

:lol: I like it! :lol:

Eddie, the dosecrease threat has been made. You better get busy if you're going to make the slide into the lagoon this evening.

I'm really hoping he'll come on down for you tonight, Jen.

How much snow are you supposed to get? I've promised my students and my husband that if we get one more drop of snow, I'm quitting my job and moving someplace tropical.

Have a great night!
Shelly
 
Re: 4/15 Eddie AMPS 218, +6/180, PMPS 152, +2/178, +4/107

+4 = 107 :-D :-D :-D

Well, we may not be doing a dosecrease in the AM afterall. We'll see how the rest of the cycle shapes up.

Thanks for the visits Shelly and Wendy!

Wendy&Neko said:
I'm sure Neko would go after them - she loves her raw turkey.

I can definitely envision Neko going after a turkey! ;-)

Shelly, I think we're only supposed to get a couple inches overnight through tomorrow, and it may be mixed with rain, so it shouldn't really accumulate much (anti-jinx). In the more northern areas of the state, they're forecasting up to 6 inches. :roll:
 
Re: 4/15 Eddie AMPS 218, +6/180, PMPS 152, +4/107, +5/77

Mr. Greenie came by for a surprise visit at PM +5! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/15 Eddie AMPS 218, PMPS 152, +4/107, +5/77, +6/51

fantastic - what a nice run of greens tonight. a bit grim for you to sleep, but YIPPEE for Eddie! good thing you're a night owl! :lol:

with getting into the 50's, you definitely want to hold the dose. let's see if his bouncing will settle down.
 
Re: 4/15 Eddie AMPS 218, PMPS 152, +4/107, +5/77, +6/51

Hi Julie!

Ya! Night owl here. :smile:

He sure likes those 51's tonight...three of them - at +6, +7 and +8. Eddie is currently bouncing around flipping toys in the air. :-D

Do you think maybe that long run of yellow cycles was some really prolonged bouncing combined with some extended new dose wonkiness? Or is Eddie just being a cat and who knows why this dose suddenly looks like a good dose?

I'm glad DH messed up tonight and shot the 1.75 rather than the 2 I was planning! :smile:

One more question....I fed normal "midnight" snack at +6 and have held off on feeding since then. I'm not 100% clear when to steer if the cycle is running in the low 50's. I think I've seen some caretakers actively avoiding dips below 50 to avoid a reduction. How is that to be handled? Should I steer to intentionally avoid a dip below 50 or should I be waiting to see if Eddie does go below 50 before steering?
 
Re: 4/15 Eddie AMPS 218, PMPS 152, +4/107, +5/77, +6/51

Wow on the 51's! :shock: Neko once did a string of 3 hours of 53 in the middle of the night - not good for the beans. nailbite_smile

New dose wonkiness usually lasts only a couple of cycles. Some cats just seem to take a while to settle into a new higher dose. Or he could just be a cat. :lol: And it's the full moon. :?

At this point you shouldn't steer to avoid drops below 50. That's a technique for caregivers who have found that their cat doesn't handle deductions well. You don't know yet that Eddie will be like that. What you want to do with food also takes into consideration whether you want to get any sleep tonight. When Neko did her string of 53's, I bailed with HC. When a cat first gets into nice greens in the cycle, a tsp or two of LC will often help get them on the surfboard. Looks like that's what your midnight snack did. :-D
 
Re: 4/15 Eddie AMPS 218, PMPS 152, +4/107, +5/77, +6/51

Thanks Wendy! That's good to know on the food. I steered pretty regularly with ProZinc to head off really steep drops, because it was tough to stop the drop once it was underway with Eddie. Lantus seems a little easier (anti-jinx) thus far to steer. :smile:

Looks like Eddie's headed back up at +8.5 with a 64. I'll probably grab one more test then off to bed! Eddie's sleeping on my lap right now. If I have to stay up, shouldn't he have to stay up too? ;-)

It will be interesting to see what his AMPS is in a few hours! :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top