4/15 Daphne AMPS 135, +3 64, +9 118, PMPS 98

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daphne#5 GA

Member Since 2011
Yesterday http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68721#p747839

I took the f off the .50 today at AMPS, but she gave me a high +9 today (I took two test from same blood sample, sometimes I do that. So actually I got a 140 and a 118, I just liked the 118 better so I used that one :lol: ) I wonder about these test strips, sometimes they are so off. So, I know I may have done the wrong thing, but I put the f back on the .50 at PMPS. I was reading last night, are we supposed to keep the reduced dose for 6 cycles? If so, I guess I will have to keep the f off :?:

Randa, I read your question just now from last night, so you asked if I stopped the +9 pm snack and the answer is, yes. Her numbers went crazy during the day just because I gave her 1 tsp. of EVO in the pm. And also, it doesn't have the same effect if I give her a +9 snack during the day though.
 
I use the ReliOn Confirm from Walmart. The numbers seem to test lower then my Bayer meter. Although I have been getting some strange numbers with some strips. Today, I got a 118 and 140 from the same blood sample, with two strips from same bottle. (I do that sometimes to check accuracy and so far, its not so great).

OH, and the +9, the reason I was giving the +9 at night, was to try and kick her pancreas into some action to counter the "dawn effect". It did work, for the AMPS, brought them down, but then it also brought the daytime numbers up. So I discontinued it and now I give a +6 or +7 just to give her something before morning AMPS.
 
Hi Daphne,

You can't check accuracy by using the same blood sample like that. The blood changes from second to second just from being exposed to the air so the first one you get is the accurate one. Anything after that is less accurate according to how long afterwards it is from when it was drawn. You would have to test within the same second for it to really mean anything and even then, the meters are allowed by law to have a 20% difference.

I have a Relion Confirm and a Bayer Contour and tried to figure out how much different they were. It was pretty close. One was higher sometimes and the other higher other times. They are pretty close actually. I use the Bayer because I prefer it since it needs less blood but I tried and tried and couldn't come to a conclusion with them in comparison.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 4/15 Daphne AMPS 135, +3 64, +9 140, PMPS 98

OHHHHHH! Melanie, I feel so stupid now. DH and I have been doing that (using same sample, different strip). I kind of had that idea, in the back of my head, but didn't think it was a problem. Oh well, so I guess I'll check the accuracy with the Bayer. Also, though, its funny, you say, the Bayer needs less blood. My ReliOn seems to need less blood. I guess ECID, also may be EBID (Every Bean is Different) :lol:

Wow, so I got a 140 today at +9 then :o I guess I have to go back and change the SS and the sub. line :sad:

So, now, do I keep the f off the .50 or do I go back and put it on again :?:
 
Daphne is looking good with the way you're feeding her. Once in a while I give Maggie a snack at the +9 if she's been sleeping all day and then is doing the "I'm starving" routine! :lol: She seems ok with it.
 
I've done two samples from the same drop the two times I've switched meters....I hadn't heard that exposure would cause a variance, but I do know that there can always be a variance (I believe it's 20%) in readings, even with the same drop, with the same meter. Yep it's enough to make ya crazy - because FD by itself isn't confusing enough :roll: !


As for her dose...I'm gonna let someone else with strongder knowlege dive into that one...

I hope Daphne is enjoying this fabulous weather!!!
 
Ann just an fyi, about the +9 that I feed at night (or did feed). According to what I have read, the "dawn effect" will start between 2:00AM to 8:00AM, so Daphne's +9 snack was 2:30AM, so I was really just timing it with that. I just feel seeing her midday numbers go crazy was not worth the lower AMPS.
I know that may not make sense, sorry, having one of my bad brain fog days.

Amy, well, I don't know what to do about the "f" on the .50. Maybe I'll just keep it on for a few more cycles. I only took it off one time today.

OH, I forgot, yes Daphne had her deck day again today! She loves it so much. Problem now though, we have ants on the deck, and I used to only allow her on a chair, but I know how much she likes to move around, so I'll just keep an eye on those little ants. I hate bugs! I use mint and cinnamon in the house to keep ants away. I wonder if Daphne would mind if I sprikled her with cinnamon :lol: I know, its probably a carb, it comes from a tree :sad:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top