4/15 Cobb PMPS 269(.5uR) +2.5 243 - dental ??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Wooo! We saw some blue again last night and we are back under 250 for this morning's alas! Wooot! flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat Small victories deserve some celebration after the past few days!

I wish these pens had more insulin in them! I LOVE how smooth they are to draw the insulin from!! I haven't had to deal with any bubbles and no error in drawing the dose. They are awesome. I may demand the pens from now on! :lol:

Anyway...thank you all for your traveling tips. If this weekend goes well, I may get a big dog crate for Cobb and put it in the back of the SUV next to the stroller (which takes up a good amount as it is). A bigger crate will give Cobb some more space to move around.

I hope everyone's Tuesday is off to a great start. A cold front moved through so it's in the 50s today, as opposed to the 80 degree weather we saw on Sunday. But it is supposed to warm back up quickly for the weekend.

Have a great day!!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 4/15 Cobb AMPS 225 +2.25 295 +4.5 260

I keep saying we need a blue smiley face - blues are definitely worth celebrating! Hope you get to see more of those dancing_cat
 
Re: 4/15 Cobb AMPS 225 +4.5 260 +9.25 304(1uR) - dental ??

Ok...so I got the estimate for a dental for Cobb. It will range from $494 to $790, depending on how many extractions they have to do, and what kind of extraction. Regular extractions are $45 each, surgical are $98. Given my experience so far, I have a feeling they will all be surgical. Apparently they threw out the extra blood they took from Cobb without calling us to see if we wanted it run, like they said they would, so they will have to draw blood again, which adds about $100.

I'm so frustrated. This stuff just keeps adding up!
 
Re: 4/15 Cobb AMPS 225 +4.5 260 +9.25 304(1uR) - dental ??

The other possibility we're discussing is maybe leaving Cobb for the dental on Friday morning and then boarding him until Monday afternoon while we're out of town. That way if he has trouble with the anesthesia there would be someone to monitor him. They said they would give him his insulin and check his blood sugar throughout the day, so they would know if his insulin needs change - or I could say, give no more than x amount.

I'd love to hear your thoughts...
 
Re: 4/15 Cobb PMPS 269(.5uR) - dental ??

i definitely wouldn't do the dental right before you go out of town and plan to take him with you! maybe i'm confused on whether or not you mean the same weekend. i trusted me more than the vet's office, so i'd probably want to have him home to monitor, but if you trust the vet to really monitor then it probably would be ok to leave him for the weekend after the dental. i'd choose that over picking him up after a dental and taking him along out of town.

anesthesia can slow down the gut motility, so sometimes cats vomit after anesthesia and you have to dole out the food a bit (like a teaspoon) at a time. the other possibility, which we never experienced (and punkin had 7 anesthesias) is that it can drop blood sugar so that the next shot may need to be reduced. in non-high dose cats that's common - i don't know about other high dose cats, but we always gave punkin a regular dose that evening and he was fine with it.

so that might require some monitoring and decision-making in the first shot post-dental.

looking good mr. cobb! thrilled to hear he was in the blues last night!
 
Re: 4/15 Cobb PMPS 269(.5uR) - dental ??

If he has two teeth with the FORLs, would you expect his insulin need to drop some after the dental?
 
Re: 4/15 Cobb PMPS 269(.5uR) - dental ??

I'm looking at punkin's ss - in March 2011, he had 2 teeth pulled (i think both were FORL) and the dose continued to wobble between 7.0 and 7.25.

in May 2012, he had his 2 canines pulled. They didn't have FORL, they had something that i hadn't heard of that caused the area above the tooth to form a lump. His dose didn't essentially change then either. This was done by a board-certified Veterinary Dentist - i hate to tell you i think it cost something like $1,100.

He did get an infection from the first dental - they didn't have an x-ray machine and it was basically like going to a country vet. the story may have been different if he hadn't gotten the infection, because it turned into C. Diff and lasted something like 40 days. poor little guy. Clindamycin cleared it up, but it gave him diarrhea and that took forever to resolve.
 
Re: 4/15 Cobb PMPS 269(.5uR) - dental ??

i should add, though, that this was just our experience. i know Sandy/BK found the dental to be the key to going OTJ and there have been others who had doses drop following dentals.
 
Re: 4/15 Cobb PMPS 269(.5uR) - dental ??

Anesthesia can also lower BG numbers. If they don't have the capability of monitoring 24/7, I would be very reticent to leave my cat after a surgical procedure or any procedure that requires anesthesia. There are way too many horror stories about cats being at a vets office where there isn't continuous monitoring.
 
Re: 4/15 Cobb PMPS 269(.5uR) - dental ??

I will double check, but they are also an after hours emergency clinic so there would be 24/7 monitoring.

We also wouldn't do the dental and then go out of town with Cobb.

These are just thoughts...not sure I want to get all of this done this week anyway. We'll probably stick with our original plan. Just talking things out..
 
Re: 4/15 Cobb PMPS 269(.5uR) - dental ??

I agree with the others about not leaving Cobb at the vet after a dental. It's too easy for some emergency to come in and distract them away from testing, especially an emergency clinic on a long weekend. Neko had two dentals but neither involved extractions. Her dose actually went up after the last one. :sad: Does the estimate include dental X-rays? It's easy for something to be not visible and you want to minimize the number of times Cobb goes under anesthesia due to his last experience. Neko has had 6 anesthesia's and I don't think it affected her BG either. But it's a bit hard to tell because she was doing a lot of rainbow bounces then. :roll:

I agree with your comments on the pens. I found the little guys so much nicer for traveling too. Much less at risk - after coming back from CSU the cartridge I was using went off, but it was August and the temperatures were over 95 for three days of travel each way.
 
i've heard people say that monitoring 24/7 doesn't mean hands-on, either. if you decide to do leave him there, i'd ask about whether or not you could expect to have his BGs definitely checked.
 
Another question to ask is whether he would be in the boarding area or the hospital area. At my 24/7 vet, they used to put Cinco in the boarding area, and the techs just came over to do the meds, injection and testing. He would go hours with no one around overnight. Now they put all diabetic kitties in the hospital section, where there is someone nearby all the time. I'm much happier with that arrangement. Also, ask what their procedure is if the cat's BG is low, and what do they consider low? My vet's office used to think anything under 100 was low. They actually refused to shoot if he was under 150 at pre-shot. Now they will shoot down to around 100, and don't panic unless he goes under 60. I always leave some high carb food, carefully labelled to be used if he goes too low. I guess really what you would want to know is, will they follow your instructions to the letter, or do they have their own protocol? Best to know these things before leaving him. I speak from experience!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top