4/15, CL+2.25,51;+3,43; +4,42;+5,71+6.25,67;+10.5-170

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/15, CLEO, : PMPS,71;+.75-77; +1.5-55 NEWBIE

How are you doing Jane? Any update?
 
Re: 4/15, CLEO, : PMPS,71;+.75-77; +1.5-55; +2.25, 51 NEWBIE

+ 2.25 - 51,she is eating some MC now. Really gave me a hard time catching her. Bedroom doors are now all shut
 
Re: 4/15, CLEO, : PMPS,71;+.75-77; +1.5-55; +2.25, 51 NEWBIE

Nice surf and good plan re. the doors!!

(I'm very glad I have a kitty who comes when I ask if she wants food!!)
 
Re: 4/15, CLEO, : PMPS,71;+.75-77; +1.5-55; +2.25, 51 NEWBIE

Nice surf so far. Good idea on the doors - I have to do the same sometimes when mine knows it's time to get in the carrier. Otherwise I can't get him out from under the bed.
 
Re: 4/15, CLEO, : PMPS,71;+.75-77; +1.5-55; +2.25, 51 NEWBIE

She has never came when called or for food. Yet,I am tripping over my two other guys, while trying to catch her. They are running along with me! She has always been like that, fearful. We used to call her our scaredy cat. Who knows how her early years were, my daughter took her in as a stray, and passed her onto us. It is doubtful she will change, we have had her 12 years. We love her just the way she is, and appreciate any affection she chooses to give us.................................but, I wish I didn't have to chase her down. And did I mention how skinny, paper fine, her ears are? My boy's ears are more than double her thickness!!
 
Re: 4/15, CLEO, : PMPS,71;+.75-77; +1.5-55; +2.25, 51 NEWBIE

She is a very pretty kitty! I wish the avatar pictures were bigger so we could see the kitties a little better.
 
Re: 4/15, CLEO, : PMPS,71;+.75-77; +1.5-55; +2.25, 51 NEWBIE

Hi Jane, nice job tonight with the stall and the shoot! You are braver than I was. Looks like Cleo had a nice surf at the end of the cycle for you and then decided to get the PM party started early. I hope things go well tonight and Cleo cooperates for you. Treats, treats, treats!!!

I'm glad I was able to alert someone for you and thanks to those who stepped in to help. You are doing a fine job! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/15, CLEO, :PMPS,71;+.75-77; +1.5-55; +2.25,51;+3,43 NE

Thanks everyone for their help!!!!

We are going to make it through this night, and maybe get a reduction?? that would make it worthwhile. I have the coffee pot filled, ready to turn on, when needed. She came out to eat for this last test, so no chasing involved. Yippee!
 
Re: 4/15, CLEO, :PMPS,71;+.75-77; +1.5-55; +2.25,51;+3,43 NE

That 43 got you a reduction...
Time to give something like HC to get back up now.... don't need to go any lower....
 
Re: 4/15, CLEO, :PMPS,71;+.75-77; +1.5-55; +2.25,51;+3,43 NE

Reduction earned!!

You're fine to give a teaspoon or two of HC. From this point forward, especially if you need to get some sleep, Cleo has nothing to prove. It would probably be best if you didn't overdo the HC. If you're getting tired you can always give her an extra helping. For now, it's good if you can learn how to steer the curve with food. It's the same process of testing and feeding or, "lather, rinse, repeat."

Just so you have them, here are the written instructions on how to manage low numbers.
 
Re: 4/15, CLEO, :PMPS,71;+.75-77; +1.5-55; +2.25,51;+3,43 NE

Whoo hoo for us all!! Thank you guys. How much should I reduce it? 1/4 of a unit?

I am going to see if I can take some extra time @ lunch tomorrow to come home and test.
 
Re: 4/15, CLEO, :PMPS,71;+.75-77; +1.5-55; +2.25,51;+3,43 NE

Yes, the reduction is 0.25u so Cleo's new dose would be 0.75u.

Before disrupting your day tomorrow, let's see whether Cleo bounces.

And, BTW, I don't think you get to call yourself a newbie after tonight!
 
Re: 4/15, CLEO, :PMPS,71;+.75-77; +1.5-55; +2.25,51;+3,43 NE

Thumbs up! You did a scary shot for the first time and did a nice surf and got a reduction. It will be good to see how Cleo surfs with the HC.
 
Re: 4/15, CLEO, :PMPS,71;+.75-77; +1.5-55; +2.25,51;+3,43; +

How about a little more HC -- you can even add a drop or two of honey or Karo to the HC.

BTW, what %carb is what you're feeding?
 
Re: 4/15, CLEO, :PMPS,71;+.75-77; +1.5-55; +2.25,51;+3,43; +

That's fine. it's 18%. I'd just like to get Cleo's numbers bumped up a little bit so she's not surfing in the 40s. I'd rather see her closer to the 60s so you have some breathing space.
 
Re: 4/15, CLEO, :PMPS,71;+.75-77; +1.5-55; +2.25,51;+3,43; +

She is eating more right now. I will test around mdnight? 40 minutes?
 
Re: 4/15, CLEO,71;+.75-77; +1.5-55; +2.25,51;+3,43; +4,42;+5

+5, BG71

I am so proud of my little girl. She tolerated her sticks so well tonight. She picked at a little more LC after her test.

Do you think I am out of the woods for tonight?
 
Re: 4/15, CLEO,71;+.75-77; +1.5-55; +2.25,51;+3,43; +4,42;+5

Sorry, nope!

If the HC wears off, numbers can drop back down. How about leaving some HC food out. Can you get up if you set an alarm for an hour?
 
Re: 4/15, CLEO,71;+.75-77; +1.5-55; +2.25,51;+3,43; +4,42;+5

Congrats to you and Cleo! Your first low preshot AND a reducie to boot! :mrgreen: Very well done! I guess that's what they call the "right of passage!" :lol: Welcome to the club and here's hoping Mr. P is on the way to recovery. I hope Cleo surfs smoothly for the rest of the night for you an that you have a bounce-free morning.

What wonderful news tonight!
 
Re: 4/15, CLEO,71;+.75-77; +1.5-55; +2.25,51;+3,43; +4,42;+5

I can stay up for another hour ;) She will eat more HC food right now. Should I offer it?
 
Re: 4/15, CLEO,71;+.75-77; +1.5-55; +2.25,51;+3,43; +4,42;+5

Hi Jane

Sienne is going to head for bed and I'm going to hang out with you and Cleo until she's rising without food.

If you need to sleep for an hour, that's fine, but as Sienne said, when the HC wears off, numbers can come back down even later in the cycle. We'd like to see at least one rising number with no food or karo influence. Two is better but it's late and I know you have to work.

Please let me know if you will be back in an hour with her number, ok?
 
Re: 4/15, CLEO,71;+.75-77; +1.5-55; +2.25,51;+3,43; +4,42;+5

Yes, I will test again at 1:15, 45 minutes. Should I offer more HC food right now?
 
Re: 4/15, CLEO,71;+.75-77; +1.5-55; +2.25,51;+3,43; +4,42;+5

I would give her a tsp or so of LC. Once the numbers are up, the LC helps them surf.
 
Re: 4/15, CL+.75-77;+1.5-55; +2.25,51;+3,43; +4,42;+5,71+6.2

+6.25 -BG 67

She ate about 2 more tsp LCFF after test. Momma is very tired now. OK for me to head to bed?
 
Re: 4/15, CL+.75-77;+1.5-55; +2.25,51;+3,43; +4,42;+5,71+6.2

She's wobbling a little bit and I'd really like to see her a little higher without food. Can you grab another hour of sleep and retest in one hour please?

Eta: my concern is she might turn around on you as the HC wears off. She's clearing a bounce and sometimes they can get pretty tenacious about low numbers.
 
Re: 4/15, CL+.75-77;+1.5-55; +2.25,51;+3,43; +4,42;+5,71+6.2

She just drank some water,used the LB, jumped up and had a few more nibbles of her LCFF, and walked past me and went back to her bed. I honestly have to do the same for myself, minus the LCFF. She has been eating LC most of the night, should that help her numbers stay stable?
 
Re: 4/15, CL+.75-77;+1.5-55; +2.25,51;+3,43; +4,42;+5,71+6.2

I must lie down, not feeling too well. I will set alarm for 1 hour.
 
Re: 4/15, CL+.75-77;+1.5-55; +2.25,51;+3,43; +4,42;+5,71+6.2

Yes, it will help. It's your decision. You know her best and I'm here to help and support you. She's getting to mid cycle and we would hope she will continue to go up but if her depot is really full, she might stay low.

What would you think about just testing 30 mins from the last test to see if she is trending down or up? Like I said, it is your decision. :-D
 
I am so sorry, I felt so dizzy /sick. I think it was a combo of nerves, and also not eating. Didn't even realize until I was in bed, that I had skipped dinner. Not a normal occurance for me, but you just get so caught up in it, everything else is forgotten.

I know my family might be getting a little tired of hearing about Cleo, this board, and Diabetes in general. I have to be careful how I go on and on. It really does become your only focus at first. I hope I become less intense, as I (we) all get used to our new way of life.

Thank everyone for all their help/guidance last night.
 
Good job! Now you know how it goes so it won't be so stressful the next time. Well, it will still be stressful for a bit, but since you've been through it once, you know what to expect, including taking care of YOURSELF and eating your dinner!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top